Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-29-08, 10:09 PM   #13
Hordsak
Registered User
 
Hordsak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 57
Default Re: Low 280 3DMark score on i7?

I ran it again, and I got P10681. Here are my online results.

http://service.futuremark.com/result...&resultType=19

I just realized in global settings, I had vsync forced on. After comparing the other guys score, you can see my cpu numbers are alot higher, but my video card numbers are alot lower. I'll run again and post back.

EDIT: Ok, after disabling Vsync, I get 13600 in Vantage.

http://service.futuremark.com/result...&resultType=19
Hordsak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-08, 10:16 PM   #14
Eliminator
The Man With Brisk
 
Eliminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Low 280 3DMark score on i7?

yea your gfx score is too low but the cpu is good.... perhaps AA is on?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHZ
Asus P5B Deluxe
4GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 EL
BFG GTX 280 OC2 1GB @ 729/1512/2538
Dell 2405FPW 24"
3DMark: Vantage - P15397 | 06 - 18734
Eliminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-08, 10:40 PM   #15
Hordsak
Registered User
 
Hordsak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 57
Default Re: Low 280 3DMark score on i7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eliminator View Post
yea your gfx score is too low but the cpu is good.... perhaps AA is on?
Yeah, I can't believe I left vsync forced on. I have the exact same video card as you. I wonder if I should try overclocking it some more, for free performance =)
Hordsak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-08, 10:53 PM   #16
Eliminator
The Man With Brisk
 
Eliminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Low 280 3DMark score on i7?

good to hear you fixed it... yea go for it... theres still some room left to push it... personally i leave it at stock OC2 settings for 24/7 use
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHZ
Asus P5B Deluxe
4GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 EL
BFG GTX 280 OC2 1GB @ 729/1512/2538
Dell 2405FPW 24"
3DMark: Vantage - P15397 | 06 - 18734
Eliminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-08, 09:56 AM   #17
ryan29121
mmmkay
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United States, WI
Posts: 297
Default Re: Low 280 3DMark score on i7?

Glad everything is working alright.
__________________
| Cooler Master Cosmos | Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R (F13C BIOS)|
|Core 2 Quad Q6600 GO @ 3.40GHz w/ Zalman CNPS9700 NT | EVGA 8800GT 512MB @ 700, 1025 w/ AC Accelero S1 |
|OCZ GameXStream 700W | 8GB G.SKILL DDR2 800 @ 1066, 4-4-4-12| Seagate 7200.10 320GB & 7200.11 1TB |
| Creative X-FI Platinum Fatal1ty Pro PCI-E | x2 Samsung 245BW 24" |
| Windows 7 Ultimate x64 |
| Logitech G15 | Logitech G5 Ver.2 |Logitech z5500 5.1 |
||3dMark 06: 15003||
||Games I'm Playing: Modern Warfare 2, Left 4 dead 2, Dragon age, Borderlands||
ryan29121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-08, 11:04 AM   #18
Scaramonga
Registered User
 
Scaramonga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 170
Default Re: Low 280 3DMark score on i7?

I got that 'EVGA Precision' with my card, haven't installed it yet. Would it be best to use that for clocking, or good old Rivatuner?
__________________
System Specs: CM Stacker STC-T01 | Asus Rampage II Extreme x58 (BIOS 1406) | INTEL Core i7 920 Quad @ 4.1Ghz | Corsair 6GB DDR3 1600MHz Dominator Triple RAM | Corsair 750W TX PSU | Geforce GTX 580 | H20 W/C System | XSPC Drive Bay Res | XSPC Delta V3 i7 CPU Cooled | Swiftech MCR320-QP | Swiftech MCP655 | 1 x OCZ Vertex Turbo 60Gb SSD & 3 x Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500Gb RAID 0 | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro | HP LP2475w 24" - Calibrated with Eye-One Display 2 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Scaramonga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-08, 11:15 AM   #19
Eliminator
The Man With Brisk
 
Eliminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Low 280 3DMark score on i7?

grab the latest precision from evga 1.40... its basically a cut down version of rivatuner but its pretty nice
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHZ
Asus P5B Deluxe
4GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 EL
BFG GTX 280 OC2 1GB @ 729/1512/2538
Dell 2405FPW 24"
3DMark: Vantage - P15397 | 06 - 18734
Eliminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-08, 12:06 PM   #20
Scaramonga
Registered User
 
Scaramonga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 170
Default Re: Low 280 3DMark score on i7?

OK.

Running EVGA Precision using the 'on screen' display during a 3DMark06 run gives interesting viewing.

Temps hit no higher than 33c, so this is good. The card seems to be 'downclocking', which is not good.

A couple of times I saw the Core clock drop from 602 > 400 and the Memory clock from 1107 > 700.

I had disabled PhysX in Nvidia Control Panel on that run, and gained a few points also - 15203 is what I'm at now.

Interesting, but also, disturbing.
__________________
System Specs: CM Stacker STC-T01 | Asus Rampage II Extreme x58 (BIOS 1406) | INTEL Core i7 920 Quad @ 4.1Ghz | Corsair 6GB DDR3 1600MHz Dominator Triple RAM | Corsair 750W TX PSU | Geforce GTX 580 | H20 W/C System | XSPC Drive Bay Res | XSPC Delta V3 i7 CPU Cooled | Swiftech MCR320-QP | Swiftech MCP655 | 1 x OCZ Vertex Turbo 60Gb SSD & 3 x Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 500Gb RAID 0 | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro | HP LP2475w 24" - Calibrated with Eye-One Display 2 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Scaramonga is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-30-08, 12:39 PM   #21
Eliminator
The Man With Brisk
 
Eliminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: Low 280 3DMark score on i7?

downclocking is normal... with the latest drivers and gtx 280/260 the card will downclock if the load is low... the test is very cpu limited which is why this is happening so i wouldnt even bother with 3dmark06
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHZ
Asus P5B Deluxe
4GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 EL
BFG GTX 280 OC2 1GB @ 729/1512/2538
Dell 2405FPW 24"
3DMark: Vantage - P15397 | 06 - 18734
Eliminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-08, 03:14 PM   #22
conantheogar2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 34
Default Re: Low 280 3DMark score on i7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scaramonga View Post
Ok, just built my new i7 system, specs in Sig, and ran 3DMark 06 for first time on my GTX280.

Score = 14444 <------WTF???

The card is not clocked yet, and neither is the system, but I feel thats way too low? My other system, specs in Sig also, gets 13183 on an 8800GTS.

Somethings wrong?

Card is watercooled and running on Vista x64 with 180.48 driver set.

Any ideas peeps?


Dude Core i7 is not a Gaming CPU!

Games are not even Optimized for quad core properly not to mention i7.

infact i7 Performs worse in Crysis than a Core 2 E8400

http://www.overclockersclub.com/revi..._core_i7/9.htm

that score is about Right.

Just Over clock and you get better score.
conantheogar2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-08, 04:42 PM   #23
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: Low 280 3DMark score on i7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hordsak View Post
I also just built an i7 system, and 3dmark06 seems to be low. I'm running a 920 @ 3.90 with a 280GTX and I got around 15k. I have vantage, and I got around P8809 or something like that.

Vantage is too low. Something is not right there.
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-08, 08:43 PM   #24
Hordsak
Registered User
 
Hordsak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 57
Default Re: Low 280 3DMark score on i7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hordsak View Post
I ran it again, and I got P10681. Here are my online results.

http://service.futuremark.com/result...&resultType=19

I just realized in global settings, I had vsync forced on. After comparing the other guys score, you can see my cpu numbers are alot higher, but my video card numbers are alot lower. I'll run again and post back.

EDIT: Ok, after disabling Vsync, I get 13600 in Vantage.

http://service.futuremark.com/result...&resultType=19
This is from my previous post =) After fixing it, I got 13600, not bad.
Hordsak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800 GT and Ubuntu - Plymouth low resolution legluondunet NVIDIA Linux 3 06-24-12 03:22 PM
What's your score at 3DMark2001? Wolfie Benchmarking And Overclocking 212 12-23-05 08:01 AM
poor 3Dmark score wysiwyg Benchmarking And Overclocking 4 09-27-02 04:25 AM
3DMark, Fastest Webmasters and Me. intercede007 Benchmarking And Overclocking 4 08-17-02 10:49 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.