Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-30-08, 08:10 AM   #1
dxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 490
Default How do I Vista to a striped drive?

I have here a Dell Vostro 1710 laptop with two 160GB harddrives in it, and I'd like to reinstall the OS and have the drives running in RAID Striped. Problem is, the Vostro doesn't have a RAID option in the BIOS, so I guess I'll have to use Windows' own disk striping system.

I want to install Vista x64 Ultimate SP1 on the system, but the problem is, at the disk setup part of the installer, while I get the option to create, delete, and extend partitions, there seems to be no way to create a single 320GB striped partition from the two drives. Is there any way to install Vista on a striped partition?

Thanks.
dxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-08, 08:27 AM   #2
saturnotaku
Apple user. Deal with it.
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: The 'burbs, IL USA
Posts: 12,502
Default Re: How do I Vista to a striped drive?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dxx View Post
Is there any way to install Vista on a striped partition?
Not if the host controller can't be configured for RAID in the BIOS.
saturnotaku is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-08, 09:17 AM   #3
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: How do I Vista to a striped drive?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dxx View Post
I have here a Dell Vostro 1710 laptop with two 160GB harddrives in it, and I'd like to reinstall the OS and have the drives running in RAID Striped. Problem is, the Vostro doesn't have a RAID option in the BIOS, so I guess I'll have to use Windows' own disk striping system.

I want to install Vista x64 Ultimate SP1 on the system, but the problem is, at the disk setup part of the installer, while I get the option to create, delete, and extend partitions, there seems to be no way to create a single 320GB striped partition from the two drives. Is there any way to install Vista on a striped partition?

Thanks.
i think sat is right. im pretty sure your motherboard needs to support RAID before you can do what youre trying to do.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-08, 11:02 AM   #4
dxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 490
Default Re: How do I Vista to a striped drive?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
i think sat is right. im pretty sure your motherboard needs to support RAID before you can do what youre trying to do.
Thing is, if you look in the Disk Management part of Computer Management, there's options for creating striped volumes at a software level, so I guess it is possible to have RAID controlled purely by Windows.

I'll try some more experiments under VM Ware after work and see if I can figure something out.
dxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-08, 11:03 AM   #5
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: How do I Vista to a striped drive?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dxx View Post
Thing is, if you look in the Disk Management part of Computer Management, there's options for creating striped volumes at a software level, so I guess it is possible to have RAID controlled purely by Windows.

I'll try some more experiments under VM Ware after work and see if I can figure something out.
hmm, i will consult the google.

EDIT: found this http://www.techimo.com/articles/index.pl?photo=149

i also found two forum threads. one says that Vista should support it, the other says that you cannot install vista to a dynamic disk so it wont support it. so i dont really know tbh
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-08, 06:32 PM   #6
dxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 490
Default Re: How do I Vista to a striped drive?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
hmm, i will consult the google.

EDIT: found this http://www.techimo.com/articles/index.pl?photo=149

i also found two forum threads. one says that Vista should support it, the other says that you cannot install vista to a dynamic disk so it wont support it. so i dont really know tbh
Nice bit of work. I do especially like the benchmarks there, so thanks for that.


I've now tried a sandbox setup under VMware in which I had three harddrives, one 16GB virtual drive for the temp installation of Vista, plus two 8GB drives to be made into a single 16GB striped volume. It didn't work - Vista wouldn't recognise the dynamic striped disks to let me install to them. I've got a few more tricks planned, so I might be able to get somewhere. At the moment though, it's not looking promising.
dxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-08, 06:56 PM   #7
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: How do I Vista to a striped drive?

idk why they would eliminate it in Vista considering how the software RAID in XP was shown to be very close to the same level as a hardware implemented RAID setup.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-08, 07:09 PM   #8
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: How do I Vista to a striped drive?

The only thing I can think of that you might be able to do is put Windows into a 20GB partition onto the first drive. After you install convert both drives to dynamic disks and then create a new partition that stripes on each drive. It would give you about 280GB minus overhead. (140GB partiton on each drive, with about 20GB unused.)

I *think* you can do that, but it's been so long since I've played with windows raid I'm not sure if that works or not.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 12-30-08, 07:12 PM   #9
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: How do I Vista to a striped drive?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
idk why they would eliminate it in Vista considering how the software RAID in XP was shown to be very close to the same level as a hardware implemented RAID setup.
According to an article I from MS you can only use Enterprise and Ultimate with dynamic disks.

Quote:

NoteOnly Windows Vista Enterprise and Windows Vista Ultimate editions support dynamic disks.

Dynamic disks can contain a large number of dynamic volumes (approximately 2000) that function like the primary partitions used on basic disks. In some versions of Windows, you can combine separate dynamic hard disks into a single dynamic volume (called spanning), split data among several hard disks (called striping) for increased performance, or duplicate data among several hard disks (called mirroring) for increased reliability.

Windows Vista Ultimate and Windows Vista Enterprise editions support spanning and striping dynamic disks, but not mirroring. (Windows Server 2008 supports mirroring.) For more information for advanced users, go to the Windows Vista Springboard Resource Guide website.
http://windowshelp.microsoft.com/Win...621ce1033.mspx
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-09, 07:29 AM   #10
dxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 490
Default Re: How do I Vista to a striped drive?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121 View Post
The only thing I can think of that you might be able to do is put Windows into a 20GB partition onto the first drive. After you install convert both drives to dynamic disks and then create a new partition that stripes on each drive. It would give you about 280GB minus overhead. (140GB partiton on each drive, with about 20GB unused.)

I *think* you can do that, but it's been so long since I've played with windows raid I'm not sure if that works or not.
Yup, looks like the only way at this point. It's not a massive issue, I suppose. Sure, it does mean losing some disk space, but I could do with having a WinXP installation on this system as well as a Vista installation, so two OS partitions + one large app & data partition should be fine.

So, I guess I'll be spending my new year's day geeking out doing this and watching TV. Should be fun I'll let you all know how it goes.
dxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
IBM drive sometimes making noises. Fluke General Hardware 5 10-15-02 07:13 AM
New Western Digital drive performance Nemesis General Hardware 6 08-15-02 07:29 AM
cdrw drive died cricket General Hardware 2 08-13-02 09:23 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.