Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-10-08, 07:15 PM   #49
iron99
GPL Is Still King
 
iron99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 181
Default Re: GTX 260/280 Clock Throttling While in 3D Apps. An Explanation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EciDemon View Post
It won't downclock since you force performance 3d mode to always be active. You have to create different clock profiles and link those with the hardware monitor so it changes up on hardware acceleration on or off
Yup that worked . Thanks for the tip.

Riva Tuner is a very good tool.
__________________
AMD Phenom 1090T @ 3.8 On H2O\ Asus M4A89TD Pro/USB3.0\CORSAIR XMS3 8GB\RealSSD C300 128GB SataIII (OS)2xWD 600 GB(1 Apps. and Games/1 My Docs)WD 1.5TB for backup\ 480 GTX @825/2000/1.113V on H2O\Dell 2405\350Watt 5.1 Sound\1000watt single rail PSU\Logitech MX518 and G15 / ECCI Trackstar 6000 / Frex H-Shifter+\Windows 7 Professional 64-bit\My Favorite games - FallOut 3 with PFEE Mod
iron99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-08, 03:07 PM   #50
Coupe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: GTX 260/280 Clock Throttling While in 3D Apps. An Explanation.

XD
Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-08, 03:08 PM   #51
Coupe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: GTX 260/280 Clock Throttling While in 3D Apps. An Explanation.

It is a good idea and I know that power savings is important given world climate conditions.

Image of desktop with game running and Riva graph

I have an AMD X2 6000+, 4 GB of RAM and a GTX 260 core 216 (y couldn't you guys just call it a GTX 265 lol )

I did think it was throttling down because of load. I mean WAR and WOW are made to run on such a large spectrum of PCs that maybe it doesn't use current GPUs like it should.

Using FRAPS, it is weird though that I run like 50 FPS 1680 x 1050 with all settings turned down and on Far Cry 2 with 1680 x 1050, AA x 2 and high settings I run 60 FPS. On COD WoW I run like 80 FPS. These games are much more graphic intensive.

I reverted to 178.24 and the game runs much better, but still bogs down quite often. Perhaps you need to slap around blizzard and mythic and get better optimizations.

Has anyone found a sweet driver version that runs these MMOs the best?

I run the game with shader optimization on or off. I use texture cache size max or default. All other settings are fastest frame rates, but I leave spell effects on all users on or just put self if the action gets too intense.

Last edited by Coupe; 12-19-08 at 03:42 PM. Reason: Game settings
Coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-08, 03:42 AM   #52
noko
noko
 
noko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando Florida
Posts: 735
Default Re: GTX 260/280 Clock Throttling While in 3D Apps. An Explanation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EciDemon View Post
With rivatuner you can make profiles and link those to events, like hardware acceleration change. Thus you can have an auto oc profile activate when a game starts and switch to a powersave profile when not gaming.

This workaround work good. I saved profile for this but not sure how to use the OC profile linked to program I want to use it with. Anyways I hope Nvidia allows ability to force 3d speeds on windowed programs by use of profile option key in the future. Without this workaround from Blooduk I would have had to either revert to older driver, stick my 8800 GTX back in or went ATI .
__________________
Gigabit DSL, Q6600 @ 3.4ghz, Mushkin 4gb DDR 800 OCZ 2x2gb , PowerColor HD 5870. 24" Acer LCD, 1TB hd with Vista 64 Home Premium.

Foxconn 780G, Athlon64 X2 5600 @ 3ghz, Mushkin 4gb DDR 800 OCZ 2x2gb , eVga 260 GTX. 17" MagAcer LCD, 120gb Vista 32
noko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-08, 11:15 AM   #53
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: GTX 260/280 Clock Throttling While in 3D Apps. An Explanation.

After looking at this more carefully. This works perfect. Don't know guys what the heck is problem?
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-08, 11:49 AM   #54
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: GTX 260/280 Clock Throttling While in 3D Apps. An Explanation.

At this point I wish nVidia would give us access to a manual 2d/3d switch you could tick in the CP. On = 3d, Off = 2d or power saving.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-08, 07:23 PM   #55
noko
noko
 
noko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando Florida
Posts: 735
Default Re: GTX 260/280 Clock Throttling While in 3D Apps. An Explanation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hell_of_doom227 View Post
After looking at this more carefully. This works perfect. Don't know guys what the heck is problem?
Games seems to be OK for me, doing 3d work though is not OK, it becomes terrible having memory at 100mhz and GPU I forget what speed, my Radeon 2600 Pro is faster in my other machine when the throttling kicks in, I am not kidding. This is not just one program but multiple 3d programs. So option I think is needed from Nvidia to provide simple switch, prefereably in profile to stop clock throttling for a given program.
__________________
Gigabit DSL, Q6600 @ 3.4ghz, Mushkin 4gb DDR 800 OCZ 2x2gb , PowerColor HD 5870. 24" Acer LCD, 1TB hd with Vista 64 Home Premium.

Foxconn 780G, Athlon64 X2 5600 @ 3ghz, Mushkin 4gb DDR 800 OCZ 2x2gb , eVga 260 GTX. 17" MagAcer LCD, 120gb Vista 32
noko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-08, 11:28 AM   #56
noko
noko
 
noko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Orlando Florida
Posts: 735
Default Re: GTX 260/280 Clock Throttling While in 3D Apps. An Explanation.

I love RivaTuner, awesome utility. Anyways I just leave my card in performance, fan at 60%.
I just don't like window performance with 2d clocks. Actually Aero is a 3d environment with 2d windows. Anyways at 2d speeds I just feel like my whole system is sluggish with lags. So in my opinion Nvidia is dropping the speed too much when using 2d clocks at 1200x1200 resolution. For someone using higher resolution this is probably more apparent. So 2d clocks should also take into account not only if in 2d environment but also resolution setting of monitor. Having some profile options for this is also needed.
__________________
Gigabit DSL, Q6600 @ 3.4ghz, Mushkin 4gb DDR 800 OCZ 2x2gb , PowerColor HD 5870. 24" Acer LCD, 1TB hd with Vista 64 Home Premium.

Foxconn 780G, Athlon64 X2 5600 @ 3ghz, Mushkin 4gb DDR 800 OCZ 2x2gb , eVga 260 GTX. 17" MagAcer LCD, 120gb Vista 32
noko is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-01-09, 08:05 PM   #57
Serial45
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: GTX 260/280 Clock Throttling While in 3D Apps. An Explanation.

Hey guys,
I recently got this card, upgrading from a BFG 8800GTX.
I am using the latest nvidia drivers, and getting major major framerate issues.

I just did a 5 man instance, some points I was running as low as 1 FPS my average FPS is 27 :O!!! now on my 8800GTX I was averaging 50+.
It seems to throttle from 1-76 FPS.

This a major problem for me as it's the main game I play, I was expecting to close 100+ frames with the upgrade.

I run in 2560*1600 with max detail. Same as my 8800

I ran through these instructions but it hasn't helped :
1. IN RIVATUNER CLICK ON THE POWER USER TAB
2. CLICK ON + RIVATUNER \ NVIDIA \ OVERCLOCKING
3. CHECK EnablePerfLevelForcing , VALUE = 1
4. MAIN TAB , DRIVER SETTINGS , OVERCLOCKING
5. IN DROP DOWN BOX = FORCE CONSTANT PERFORMANCE LEVEL!
6. APPLY AND IT WILL ASK YOU TO REBOOT , DO SO!

Here are my specs
BFG 680i, Intel 6600 @ 3.4ghz per core, 4* 1 gig Corsair pc8500, BFG BFG GTX 280 1*74gig Raptor, 2*250GIG sata II maxtor (raid),1*500Gig. enermax galaxy 850w,lian-li pc-v1000 / koolance 1/2" water cooled system. Dell 3007 WFP,Vista 64
Serial45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-09, 08:22 PM   #58
Serial45
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: GTX 260/280 Clock Throttling While in 3D Apps. An Explanation.

I have a G15 and having this same problem mate, driving me insane!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lizzrd79 View Post
Hi. What is the solution to the problems caused by Logitech G15 keyboards? I am using a G15 keyboard and a G5 mouse. I love them both. When I play WOW on my system (Q9550 2.83ghz. 8gb RAM, Vista x64, GTX 280 - 180.48 drivers) I get excellent frame rates (well over 100 fps most of the time)...but the game stutters quite often causing brief but frequent spurts of choppiness during gameplay...however, the FPS remains high even when the game stutters. I have tried many different in-game settings and I have tried every Vista x64 driver that I could find for the GTX 280 and nothing has solved the problem so far. Most of my games run better than ever...but the game that I play the most, WOW, actually "plays" worse, even though I am getting higher FPS than I did with my former computer. I don't get it. If anybody has any ideas as to what might be causing the problem, I would love to hear them. Thanks so much.
Serial45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-09, 09:06 PM   #59
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: GTX 260/280 Clock Throttling While in 3D Apps. An Explanation.

Nvidia is reverting back to an earlier driver state with a new set coming out soon. One that will cause games to go to full 3D while processing DirectX/OpenGL calls. Downside is now the clocks will always be full with a few exceptions. Even processing no gaming DirectX/3D apps.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-09, 09:35 PM   #60
Ninja Prime
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Utah
Posts: 2,263
Default Re: GTX 260/280 Clock Throttling While in 3D Apps. An Explanation.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisRay View Post
Nvidia is reverting back to an earlier driver state with a new set coming out soon. One that will cause games to go to full 3D while processing DirectX/OpenGL calls. Downside is now the clocks will always be full with a few exceptions. Even processing no gaming DirectX/3D apps.
Excellent. I had a bunch of problems with throttling when I had my GTX280, in fact its probably the main reason I bought a 4870x2 to replace it, kept having weird throttling issues. People who buy $500 high end graphics cards that require 700+ watt power supplies don't care about power consumption Nvidia.
Ninja Prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Product Spotlight ' EVGA GTX 670 Review Round Up News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 1 05-11-12 01:15 AM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 02:50 PM
GALAXY Launches the GeForce GTX 670 and GTX 670 GC! News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 10:28 AM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 10:28 AM
NVIDIA Unleashes the GeForce GTX 670 Graphics Card ' Performance Perfected (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 09:40 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.