Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows 7

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-10-09, 06:24 PM   #97
ATOJAR
Bish Bash Bosh
 
ATOJAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middlesbrough, England.
Posts: 2,756
Send a message via MSN to ATOJAR
Default Re: Windows 7 Beta available 1/9/09

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
when ever a new OS is out, be very careful with stuff like registry scanners

Ahhh good point, suppose there will be alot of new registy keys in here that the older registry scanners wont recognize! .... possibaly try to delete and mess it right up?
__________________
Intel i7 920 D0(Ultra-120 eXtreme) - ASUS P6T iX58 - 6GB Corsair DDR3 XMS3 1600MHz - Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer - Corsair 120GB Force 3 SSD(Win7/apps) - Seagate Barracuda SATA II 500GB(storage/games) - LG W2452T 24" LCD 1920x1200 Monitor - MSI GTX 760 2GB - Windows 7 Ultimate X64 - Corsair 750W TX PSU - Antec 900 Case - Logitech G500 Mouse - Logitech G15 v2 Keyboard.
ATOJAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-09, 06:30 PM   #98
Pixelsmack
Registered User
 
Pixelsmack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Posts: 194
Default Re: Windows 7 Beta available 1/9/09

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATOJAR View Post
Somethings annoying me! ... see the task bar(below) when i start messenger and close it so its runnning in the backround it dont minimize to the lower right! ... it just stays over there on the left hand side, if i right click that and klick close window it shuts down messenger! ... anybody know of a way to i can get the messenger icon to be on the right hand side of the taskbar so its running in the backround like it used to with xp/vista?
This behavior is part of the new "easy access" to running apps. You hover over and it lists in thumbnails everything you have running and open. It's taking some time to get use to but I like.

You can change this a bit by right clicking the Start Menu and editing the options.
__________________
Back Seat Racing

Coolermaster 690 case, i7-920, 6GB DDR3-1600, 2xEVGA GTX260-216 SC in SLI, EVGA X58 SLI, Tagan 700w PSU, 2TB RAID0 Seagate SATAIIs, Win7 Ult. 64bit.
Pixelsmack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-09, 06:31 PM   #99
Koko56
Registered User
 
Koko56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,970
Default Re: Windows 7 Beta available 1/9/09

Hmmm... well WMP just seems to be slow for me. It's probably not running with the ideal configuration, but is not very responsive.
__________________
I want a rig that can play Crysis the way I can play Far Cry now.
Koko56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-09, 06:33 PM   #100
verncat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 121
Default Re: Windows 7 Beta available 1/9/09

Quote:
Originally Posted by Koko56 View Post
You mean you deleted the W7 install or just went into Vista for CoD?

Also, 295GTX is kind of new...
I had imaged my Vista 64 install to a spare hd. I just imaged it back onto my Areca raid 0 array and put the W7 disk away for now. I kinda suspected the lockup might have something to do with the GTX295, so maybe in a month or so I will give it another try.
__________________
Asus P6T6 WS EVO Core i7 965EE Vista Ultimate 64bit BFG GTX295 6x2gig OZC Plat DDR3-1600 XF-I Titanium/ Logitech Z-5500's 32WD 640gig HD's & Areca ARC-1210 raid card Corsair 1000 watt psu
verncat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-09, 06:38 PM   #101
Koko56
Registered User
 
Koko56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,970
Default Re: Windows 7 Beta available 1/9/09

Quote:
Originally Posted by verncat View Post
I had imaged my Vista 64 install to a spare hd. I just imaged it back onto my Areca raid 0 array and put the W7 disk away for now. I kinda suspected the lockup might have something to do with the GTX295, so maybe in a month or so I will give it another try.
So no W7 for you until then?
__________________
I want a rig that can play Crysis the way I can play Far Cry now.
Koko56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-09, 07:09 PM   #102
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,061
Default Re: Windows 7 Beta available 1/9/09

Installed ok, I was playing TF2 and all was good till I shut it down. Then guess what LOL. Seems ok I just hate the damn taskbar I hope there is an option in the final for a Vista theme.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-09, 07:12 PM   #103
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Windows 7 Beta available 1/9/09

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATOJAR View Post
Ahhh good point, suppose there will be alot of new registy keys in here that the older registry scanners wont recognize! .... possibaly try to delete and mess it right up?
that is a possibility, you never know
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-09, 07:19 PM   #104
Koko56
Registered User
 
Koko56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 1,970
Default Re: Windows 7 Beta available 1/9/09

Quote:
Originally Posted by mullet View Post
Installed ok, I was playing TF2 and all was good till I shut it down. Then guess what LOL. Seems ok I just hate the damn taskbar I hope there is an option in the final for a Vista theme.
You can do this: ...

Someone might even make a Vista theme for the beta of W7 in the near future.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	asdfasdf.JPG
Views:	372
Size:	18.9 KB
ID:	34965  
__________________
I want a rig that can play Crysis the way I can play Far Cry now.
Koko56 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-10-09, 07:32 PM   #105
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Windows 7 Beta available 1/9/09

Quote:
Originally Posted by verncat View Post
Call of Duty WAW would lock up my entire rig. It was the only game I tried. I used the 181.20 drivers on my GTX295. I have no idea what was causing it, but I went back to Vista for now.
COD WAW runs great for me in Windows 7. Maybe it's the GPU, dunno.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-09, 08:41 PM   #106
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Windows 7 Beta available 1/9/09

I like the new taskbar with the option to make the icons smaller. They don't need to be that big for me.
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-09, 09:06 PM   #107
verncat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 121
Default Re: Windows 7 Beta available 1/9/09

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
COD WAW runs great for me in Windows 7. Maybe it's the GPU, dunno.
That's the only thing I could figure. I would have to bet it will be fine when a newer driver comes out for it, as it is very new. I can wait, as I have to travel for work for the next couple of weeks and won't be around to play with it anyway.
__________________
Asus P6T6 WS EVO Core i7 965EE Vista Ultimate 64bit BFG GTX295 6x2gig OZC Plat DDR3-1600 XF-I Titanium/ Logitech Z-5500's 32WD 640gig HD's & Areca ARC-1210 raid card Corsair 1000 watt psu
verncat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-09, 09:38 PM   #108
Shamrock
Royalty gone awry
 
Shamrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,612
Default Re: Windows 7 Beta available 1/9/09

Anyone try a thumb drive? I had to use a thumb drive to move some files, because of W7's wacky networking. My DVD burner has pooped out, so I used a thumb drive to move files. When I was done with the thumb drive, I safely removed it from W7, but that didn't happen. It SAID it was safe to remove the drive, but the light was on the drive, and the icon in the bottom right wouldn't disappear.

I still absolutely can't stand the networking, or the Windows explorer options. I wanna see FILES not LIBRARIES!

But this is the last you'll hear of me about Win7, I received OpenSUSE today in the mail, and installed it (I used my file server for both installs, and need the files back).
__________________
They're after me Lucky Charms!

AMD Phenom II 955BE
16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1333Mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850
Logitech Z-5300 5.1 THX surround sound
HANNS-G 28" LCD
ZBoard Merc Gaming Keyboard
CoolerMaster HAF-932 Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Pro x64
Shamrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
NVIDIA R302.80 Beta Driver for Windows 8, New OpenGL Extensions News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
NVIDIA Brings 18 Years of Experience to Windows 8 News Archived News Items 0 06-03-12 06:20 AM
Sync it up: Hands on with the preview of Windows 8's cloud sync service News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 08:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.