Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows 7

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-12-09, 10:20 PM   #37
Dreamingawake
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 806
Default Re: Windows 7 lacking ?

Yeah I've changed my mind since starting this thread.

If Win 7 is this decent in the beta stage.. I'm sold also.
Dreamingawake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-09, 10:36 PM   #38
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Windows 7 lacking ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
I'm glad mine was an academic copy so it was cheap. I think it's BS that anyone had to pay for Vista though it was such a crappy OS.
i have no idea where any of you get this **** from.

i love Vista x64. runs perfectly.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-09, 10:38 PM   #39
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Windows 7 lacking ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
i have no idea where any of you get this **** from.

i love Vista x64. runs perfectly.
what else can you expect from Joe
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-09, 11:45 PM   #40
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Windows 7 lacking ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
what else can you expect from Joe
i shouldnt expect anything less of you idiots. Of course you still LOVE Vista. Well enjoy spending another $600 for Windows 7. dumbasses.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-09, 12:06 AM   #41
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: Windows 7 lacking ?

Here's a quick question for you Win7 guys. Is there a way to move an entire users profile to another hard drive? Like if I wanted to move all of my picture, documents, videos, etc. In Vista I have to manually move each of them separately. Big pain in the balls. There should be a way to move them all at the same time.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-09, 04:50 AM   #42
j0j081
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,789
Default Re: Windows 7 lacking ?

I don't understand how some of you have some much RAM in use on a clean boot of Vista. Do you have a lot of programs loading up at start because mine is usually only around 800-900 MB and this is a fresh install I haven't even optimized yet.
j0j081 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-09, 05:24 AM   #43
Wolfhound
Moving to new home
 
Wolfhound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 1,358
Send a message via MSN to Wolfhound Send a message via Yahoo to Wolfhound
Default Re: Windows 7 lacking ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
i shouldnt expect anything less of you idiots. Of course you still LOVE Vista. Well enjoy spending another $600 for Windows 7. dumbasses.
You´re a troll, because you don´t like Vista doesn´t mean you can call people who has a good experience with it idiots, I get my Vista x64 copy direct from Microsoft without paying due to the agreements they have with my company, so no 600$ as you say.
__________________
Intel Quad Core Q6600 @ 3,4 | 4Gigs (2x2) OCZ Reaper PC-8500 | Gigabyte P35-DS3R | Western Digital 500G Caviar SE16 SATA2 NCQ | Seagate160 Gig 7200.9 SATA NCQ | Maxtor 300Gig SATA NCQ | Asus Geforce 260GTX | Samsung Syncmaster 930BF 19'' | BeQuiet Straight Power 700W | Cooler Master CM690 |Windows Vista x64 SP2 |Windows XP SP3 [Deceased PSU, no money for new one, stucked with laptop and XBOX 360]

Macbook Pro 13': 4gigs | Core2 Duo 2,53Mhz | 250Gigs HDD |geforce 9400M| aluminium unibody | Mac OS X 10.6.2 Snow Leopard |gentoo Linux 2.631 kernel


Wolfhound´s Brute: http://wolfhound77.mybrute.com
Wolfhound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-09, 07:03 AM   #44
Toss3
.<<o>>.
 
Toss3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 4,763
Default Re: Windows 7 lacking ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
i shouldnt expect anything less of you idiots. Of course you still LOVE Vista. Well enjoy spending another $600 for Windows 7. dumbasses.
Yes beacuse everytime I change my car I get the new one for free.
__________________
: :Asus Rampage II Gene : : Core i7 920 4011Mhz : : 6Gb 1600Mhz A-Data DDR3 : : Club3D Theatron Agrippa : : Intel 80GB SSD : : 2xSamsung F1 750Gb : : Sapphire 5850 @ 850/1225Mhz : :
: :Benq FP241W : : Optoma HD80 Projector + 92" Screen : : Genelec 8020B speakers : : Sony MDR-XB700 Headphones : : Razer Lycosa : : Razer Lachesis : :
Toss3 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-09, 07:49 AM   #45
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Windows 7 lacking ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by j0j081 View Post
I don't understand how some of you have some much RAM in use on a clean boot of Vista. Do you have a lot of programs loading up at start because mine is usually only around 800-900 MB and this is a fresh install I haven't even optimized yet.
Vista x64 on a clean boot with nothing but GPU drivers running was 1.5GB RTM, 1.2GB SP1 and 900MB SP2. It has gotten better but it's still just too bloated. I don't let anything run on startup but the Nvidia driver services, never have. I've got 2 x Q6600 machines here both with 4GB DDR 1066 one has GTX 260, the other 8800GTX. Those were fresh installs, so unless you are running SP2 beta there is no way its under 1GB usage on a clean boot. Right now my second PC is sitting at 1.7GB with SP2 as it's been on for about a week without a reboot. It just keeps slowly creeping up till I reboot it again.

On the other hand Windows 7 clean boot with just GPU drivers loaded is 550MB. It runs on my laptop wonderfully, something Vista wasnt able to do. P4 2.4Ghz, 1GB ram.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-09, 07:50 AM   #46
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Windows 7 lacking ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfhound View Post
You´re a troll, because you don´t like Vista doesn´t mean you can call people who has a good experience with it idiots, I get my Vista x64 copy direct from Microsoft without paying due to the agreements they have with my company, so no 600$ as you say.
Congratulations to you. And when the best Windows OS, Windows 7 comes out you will get it free too. What do you want a cookie?
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-09, 07:55 AM   #47
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Windows 7 lacking ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
what else can you expect from Joe
Its funny how you and VIN always seem to appear at the same time. Magic? Same person with 2 logins? Hmmm. I'm guessing the latter.

MAYBE TWINS!
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-09, 09:39 AM   #48
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Windows 7 lacking ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
Its funny how you and VIN always seem to appear at the same time. Magic? Same person with 2 logins? Hmmm. I'm guessing the latter.

MAYBE TWINS!
yea almost.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
Hands-on: Windows 8's SkyDrive News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 07:30 PM
NVIDIA Brings 18 Years of Experience to Windows 8 News Archived News Items 0 06-03-12 06:20 AM
Sync it up: Hands on with the preview of Windows 8's cloud sync service News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 08:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.