Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-12-09, 07:42 PM   #1
glObalist
working as intended
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 935
Default [troll alert] Let's make another Win7 thread

I couldn't get the ISO to install in my VMware Server 1.0.7... tried both IDE and SCSI harddrives, but it BSODs (quite a sight in a VM) after the first reboot during the installation.

And I don't care.

Until MS make significant changes to the OS, such as a Total Commander-styled file explorer or auto-complete for CMD prompt, or meaningful error dumps, or eliminate the registry, there's no real reason for a nerd such as myself to move from XP is there? And no I don't care about the Aero or the Big Friendly Search Button or the supposed security enhancements...
__________________
Intel E8400 C2D 3Ghz @ 3.6Ghz ---> ASUS P5Q Pro <--- 2x2GB PATRIOT DDR2 800Mhz
PALIT Sonic HD4850 1GB DDR3 <---> BENQ FP241W 24" LCD
M-AUDIO FireWire 410 <---> Logitech Z-5400 5.1 THX
Quote:
All MMO's are now baby-school weak. The only good MMO's make your eyes bleed and force you to eat glass. In my day we had to walk uphill in the snow 5 miles *JUST* to log in.
glObalist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-09, 07:06 AM   #2
Toss3
.<<o>>.
 
Toss3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 4,763
Default Re: [troll alert] Let's make another Win7 thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by glObalist View Post
I couldn't get the ISO to install in my VMware Server 1.0.7... tried both IDE and SCSI harddrives, but it BSODs (quite a sight in a VM) after the first reboot during the installation.

And I don't care.

Until MS make significant changes to the OS, such as a Total Commander-styled file explorer or auto-complete for CMD prompt, or meaningful error dumps, or eliminate the registry, there's no real reason for a nerd such as myself to move from XP is there? And no I don't care about the Aero or the Big Friendly Search Button or the supposed security enhancements...
Well, if you're satisfied with Xp, then no there's no reason to move on to Windows 7. Windows 7 is just easier to work with than XP and prettier to look at.
__________________
: :Asus Rampage II Gene : : Core i7 920 4011Mhz : : 6Gb 1600Mhz A-Data DDR3 : : Club3D Theatron Agrippa : : Intel 80GB SSD : : 2xSamsung F1 750Gb : : Sapphire 5850 @ 850/1225Mhz : :
: :Benq FP241W : : Optoma HD80 Projector + 92" Screen : : Genelec 8020B speakers : : Sony MDR-XB700 Headphones : : Razer Lycosa : : Razer Lachesis : :
Toss3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-09, 07:45 AM   #3
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: [troll alert] Let's make another Win7 thread

Sounds like he wants windows to go backwards. Auto complete in CMD lmao, isn't that like 10 years ago? Why not just use Linux. You can happily type away commands like DOS while the rest of the world actually gets things done lol.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-09, 08:30 AM   #4
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: [troll alert] Let's make another Win7 thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
Sounds like he wants windows to go backwards. Auto complete in CMD lmao, isn't that like 10 years ago? Why not just use Linux. You can happily type away commands like DOS while the rest of the world actually gets things done lol.
You've never administered more than a handful of desktops, have you?
Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-09, 08:39 AM   #5
glObalist
working as intended
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 935
Default Re: [troll alert] Let's make another Win7 thread

He hasn't even done that. Only checks his WEI score once in a week.
__________________
Intel E8400 C2D 3Ghz @ 3.6Ghz ---> ASUS P5Q Pro <--- 2x2GB PATRIOT DDR2 800Mhz
PALIT Sonic HD4850 1GB DDR3 <---> BENQ FP241W 24" LCD
M-AUDIO FireWire 410 <---> Logitech Z-5400 5.1 THX
Quote:
All MMO's are now baby-school weak. The only good MMO's make your eyes bleed and force you to eat glass. In my day we had to walk uphill in the snow 5 miles *JUST* to log in.
glObalist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-09, 08:39 AM   #6
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: [troll alert] Let's make another Win7 thread

You don't really need auto complete in the Command Prompt. Most commands are less than 8-10 letters: ping, ipconfig, path, etc . . .
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-09, 08:43 AM   #7
glObalist
working as intended
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 935
Default Re: [troll alert] Let's make another Win7 thread

Well but commands also have subcommands and switches which are the crux of the problem most of the time, plus autocomplete can be used in more ways than that- take the filenames autocomplete feature in linux terminal as an example...
__________________
Intel E8400 C2D 3Ghz @ 3.6Ghz ---> ASUS P5Q Pro <--- 2x2GB PATRIOT DDR2 800Mhz
PALIT Sonic HD4850 1GB DDR3 <---> BENQ FP241W 24" LCD
M-AUDIO FireWire 410 <---> Logitech Z-5400 5.1 THX
Quote:
All MMO's are now baby-school weak. The only good MMO's make your eyes bleed and force you to eat glass. In my day we had to walk uphill in the snow 5 miles *JUST* to log in.
glObalist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-09, 08:48 AM   #8
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: [troll alert] Let's make another Win7 thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by glObalist View Post
Well but commands also have subcommands and switches which are the crux of the problem most of the time, plus autocomplete can be used in more ways than that- take the filenames autocomplete feature in linux terminal as an example...
Exactly.

Try using the "net" command sometime. Or any of the DS commands.
Q is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-13-09, 09:17 AM   #9
six_storm
Registered User
 
six_storm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashvegas
Posts: 11,575
Send a message via Skype™ to six_storm
Default Re: [troll alert] Let's make another Win7 thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by glObalist View Post
Well but commands also have subcommands and switches which are the crux of the problem most of the time, plus autocomplete can be used in more ways than that- take the filenames autocomplete feature in linux terminal as an example...
I totally understand that, but like for me, I rarely use any real long command in command prompt. The longest one I use is probably ipconfig /flushdns lol.

EDIT: I take that back, it's probably "shutdown -r -f -t 0".
six_storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.