Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-08-03, 10:14 PM   #1
JoeBogarde
TNT2 M64
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Mount Vernon WA
Posts: 5
Default Gentoo linux and nvidia drivers installation

smod

Module Size Used by Tainted: PF
audio 42232 0
soundcore 4164 6 [audio]
parport_pc 28008 0
parport 26752 0 [parport_pc]
nls_iso8859-1 2844 1 (autoclean)
ntfs 54624 1 (autoclean)
nvidia 1538176 0 (unused)
8139too 16360 1
mii 2480 0 [8139too]
usb-storage 63704 0 (unused)
hid 13812 0 (unused)
usb-ohci 19552 0 (unused)
uhci 27008 0 (unused)
ehci-hcd 15456 0 (unused)
usbcore 64992 1 [audio usb-storage hid usb-ohci uhci ehci-hcd]

XF86Config


Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "XFree86 Configured"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
ModulePath "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/CID/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "glx"
Load "record"
Load "extmod"
Load "dbe"
Load "dri"
Load "xtrap"
Load "type1"
Load "speedo"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "keyboard"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Monitor Vendor"
ModelName "Monitor Model"
HorizSync 31.5 - 64.3
VertRefresh 50.0 - 100.0
EndSection

Section "Device"

### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
### [arg]: arg optional
#Option "DigitalVibrance" # <i>
#Option "PageFlip" # [<bool>]
#Option "Dac8Bit" # [<bool>]
#Option "NoLogo" # [<bool>]
#Option "Overlay" # [<bool>]
#Option "UBB" # [<bool>]
#Option "Stereo" # <i>
#Option "WindowFlip" # [<bool>]
#Option "SWcursor" # [<bool>]
#Option "HWcursor" # [<bool>]
#Option "VideoKey" # <i>
#Option "NvAGP" # <i>
#Option "IgnoreEDID" # [<bool>]
#Option "NoDDC" # [<bool>]
#Option "ConnectedMonitor" # <str>
#Option "ConnectedMonitors" # <str>
#Option "TVStandard" # <str>
#Option "TVOutFormat" # <str>
#Option "RenderAccel" # [<bool>]
#Option "CursorShadow" # [<bool>]
#Option "CursorShadowAlpha" # <i>
#Option "CursorShadowXOffset" # <i>
#Option "CursorShadowYOffset" # <i>
#Option "UseEdidFreqs" # [<bool>]
#Option "FlatPanelProperties" # <str>
#Option "TwinView" # [<bool>]
#Option "TwinViewOrientation" # <str>
#Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" # <str>
#Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" # <str>
#Option "MetaModes" # <str>
#Option "UseInt10Module" # [<bool>]
#Option "SwapReady" # [<bool>]
#Option "NoTwinViewXineramaInfo" # [<bool>]
#Option "NoRenderExtension" # [<bool>]
#Option "UseClipIDs" # [<bool>]
#Option "CIOverlay" # [<bool>]
#Option "TransparentIndex" # <i>
#Option "OverlayDefaultVisual" # [<bool>]
#Option "NvEmulate" # <i>
#Option "NoBandWidthTest" # [<bool>]
#Option "CustomEDID-CRT-0" # <str>
#Option "CustomEDID-CRT-1" # <str>
#Option "CustomEDID-DFP-0" # <str>
#Option "CustomEDID-DFP-1" # <str>
#Option "CustomEDID-TV-0" # <str>
#Option "CustomEDID-TV-1" # <str>
#Option "TVOverScan" # <f>
#Option "IgnoreDisplayDevices" # <str>
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "nv"
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName "NV5M64 [RIVA TNT2 Model 64/Model 64 Pro]"
ChipSet "RIVA TNT2 Model 64"
BusID "PCI:0:10:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 1
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 4
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 8
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 15
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Can anyone make a suggestion? I would like to get my rtcw working.
JoeBogarde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-03, 11:47 PM   #2
djblizzzard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to djblizzzard Send a message via Yahoo to djblizzzard
Default You need to change your driver...

driver=nvidia <-------
djblizzzard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-03, 07:28 AM   #3
JoeBogarde
TNT2 M64
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Mount Vernon WA
Posts: 5
Default

oops, I also forgot to post, I have been through the normal process of installing the nvidia, driver, I put the module in modules/autoload.d, edited my XF86Config, from the above posting, to no avail, my xserver still won't start. I have gaming-sources installed, any ideas?
JoeBogarde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-03, 02:30 PM   #4
The Analog Kid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 75
Send a message via ICQ to The Analog Kid Send a message via AIM to The Analog Kid
Default

Did you follow the nvidia driver guide on www.gentoo.org its under the Desktop Setup Guide.
__________________
Microsoft Palladium:Where will we let you go today?
The Analog Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-03, 05:02 PM   #5
JoeBogarde
TNT2 M64
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Mount Vernon WA
Posts: 5
Default

I followed all the standard installation instructions on the desktop configuration guide faq before posting this message. All of these problems seem to be gentoo related, as the same hardware under rh9 function properly with the nvidia drivers.
JoeBogarde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-03, 10:11 PM   #6
ShadesFox
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 6
Default

it looks like your XF86Config is incorrect. Look in the driver documents on what you need to change.
ShadesFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-03, 10:28 PM   #7
energyman76b
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Clausthal/Germany
Posts: 1,104
Default

First, read the readme, first, remove:
Load dri
Load xtrap

change that:
Driver "nv"

remove nvidia from autoload. X will behave more sane, when it loads the module for itself.
energyman76b is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 08:35 PM
nVidia Linux drivers with Linux on Mac, help? Thetargos NVIDIA Linux 0 05-13-12 12:52 PM
Radeon 9700 not all that? sancheuz Other Desktop Graphics Cards 200 10-12-02 09:31 PM
nVidia drivers + Red Hat Linux 7.3 Error404 NVIDIA Linux 17 08-16-02 11:34 AM
NVIDIA Drivers + Linux 7.3 Works once then quits Yupper3d NVIDIA Linux 3 08-01-02 04:03 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.