Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-27-09, 02:14 AM   #1
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Fallout 3: Operation Anchorage is out now!

Currently the only way I see to get it is through the Games for Windows Live! marketplace clients, which you download from their site.

It is 800 points, or $10.

You buy it through the application and it downloads... I will update shortly with how easy and smooth it is to get it working. The directions state it is all automated and FO3 will find it without any hassles. We shall see.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-09, 02:25 AM   #2
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Fallout 3: Operation Anchorage is out now!

It works well... downloaded fast, works in the game without messing with anything. I am satisfied. Going to play it now!

I'll take some pics if I can.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-09, 02:55 AM   #3
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Fallout 3: Operation Anchorage is out now!

Do you have to start a new game? I assume you do with how the game ends. Or is it a separate mini chapter?
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-09, 03:00 AM   #4
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Fallout 3: Operation Anchorage is out now!

You can play from any point before the point of no return. Most people, myself included, have a save from before that point.

Seems cool so far, though I have a graphics glitch. Once I am in alaska all the distant trees are in the sky for some reason. Sucks. The new mission seems really cool though, and maybe a reload will fix it.

Two pics... I didn't play too far:


__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-09, 04:38 AM   #5
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Fallout 3: Operation Anchorage is out now!

This is a very impressive little expansion.

Graphics are nice, maybe moreso than the original game, but more than that it is very well done details wise. Little posters, the certain VR effects, new weapons... it all works very well and seems to have taken a lot of time and effort, justifying the $10 cost.

The first real mission is straight-up action... actually the first two, counting the prelude back in the wasteland. If you shy away from action in FO3 you WILL be dissapointed, so know that now. The opening in Alaska plays much more like a level from Quake or Halo than an RPG level. That said, it is very fun, and I expect that to change later on. I only just got to the meat of the story.

Again, great stuff so far and very well done. If you love FO3 and like action, get this ASAP.

P.S. A reload did fix my tree problem.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-09, 09:45 AM   #6
LurkerLito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,550
Default Re: Fallout 3: Operation Anchorage is out now!

I will pass until they offer it over steam. I'd love to get it but I am not buying MS points just to buy this game. I definitely don't want to use GFWL.
__________________

Main PC: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe ; Intel i7-3770k ; GSkill Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133 (2x8GB) ; Seasonic X Series X-1050 PSU ; Corsair H100 ; EVGA GTX-670 ; Mushkin 240GB SSD system drive
Old PC: ABIT IP35 Pro ; Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 ; Patriot 6GB (3x2GB) DDR2 800 RAM ; EVGA GTX480 SC ; Antec P190 Case ; EnzoTech Ultra120 CPU Cooler
LurkerLito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-09, 01:56 PM   #7
Kaguya
Registered User
 
Kaguya's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 661
Default Re: Fallout 3: Operation Anchorage is out now!

I haven't played Fallout in a month or more (waiting for DLC)... is it pretty obvious where you pick up the new quests?
__________________
Intel Core i7 960 @ 3.6Ghz
EVGA X58 3X SLI
OCZ Gold 12GB DDR3
EVGA GeForce GTX 470 x2 SLI
OCZ Vertex 2 EX & Corsair P256
LG GH22NS50 22X DVD-RW SATA
Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w SLI PSU
Acer HN274H 1920x1080 3D Ready LCD
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speakers
Antec 900 Ultimate Gamer Case
Kaguya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-09, 02:24 PM   #8
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Fallout 3: Operation Anchorage is out now!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaguya View Post
I haven't played Fallout in a month or more (waiting for DLC)... is it pretty obvious where you pick up the new quests?
It has a pop-up like the old Oblivion DLC, but they explain it via a "new radio signal discovered."
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 01-27-09, 04:27 PM   #9
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Fallout 3: Operation Anchorage is out now!

Couple more screens...


__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-09, 05:03 PM   #10
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Fallout 3: Operation Anchorage is out now!

Also, here's a cool trailer for the pack:

http://www.gametrailers.com/player/44818.html
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-09, 05:14 PM   #11
Stoneyguy
Mechwarrior
 
Stoneyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Kaplan, LA
Posts: 2,253
Send a message via MSN to Stoneyguy
Default Re: Fallout 3: Operation Anchorage is out now!

Once I'm moved in and set up in my new home, I'll be picking this up for sure. How many new achievements are there?
Stoneyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-09, 06:41 PM   #12
NarcissistZero
Loving Everything Me
 
NarcissistZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 8,033
Send a message via AIM to NarcissistZero
Default Re: Fallout 3: Operation Anchorage is out now!

I looked it up and there are 4. If you take the .esm and .bsa files out of the GFW-Live! file and move them to the Fallout 3 data folder you do not get them though.

Why would you do this? That's the only way to use the DLC with mods and in the GECK.
__________________
I gots one of them high powered gaming computers with an EVGA GTX 480 video thingy and a Q9550 processing device and also one of them Windows 7 64 operating programs with 4GB of some Corsair 1033 DDR2 ram.

Steam, Xbox Live and PSN: StingingVelvet
NarcissistZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some Stalker Fallout? 1C Proposes A Nuclear Union News Archived News Items 0 06-22-12 07:00 AM
Got Operation Flashpoint and similar system to me? Help me out please... Greg Gaming Central 2 10-12-02 10:09 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.