Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows 7

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-02-09, 01:38 PM   #1
kam03
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 345
Send a message via MSN to kam03
Default HAL on Windows 7?

In Windows Vista, Microsoft has decided to remove the Hardware Abstraction Layer (HAL) for DirectSound and DirectSound3D.

Will Windows 7 have it back? or will we still have to use Alchemy?


Thanks
__________________
i7 3770K @ 4.5ghz, Asus P8Z77-V,
8GB 1866Mhz CL9,
Gigabyte 7950,
Crucial M4 128GB,
Seagate 3TB,
Enermax Galaxy 1000W DXX,
Windows 7 Ultimate x64,
NEC LCD2690WUXi,
Yamaha RX-V667 Receiver,
Monitor Audio Vector 5.1
kam03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-09, 01:52 PM   #2
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: HAL on Windows 7?

it is gone, it will not be back it was removed for a reason.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-09, 02:00 PM   #3
Bearclaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: HAL on Windows 7?

Why was it removed, Nekro?
  Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-09, 02:21 PM   #4
B0ne
Booyah
 
B0ne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: England
Posts: 248
Default Re: HAL on Windows 7?

Because XAudio 2 will be replacing it.
B0ne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-09, 03:06 PM   #5
lduguay
Un-Ripped
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Montreal, Canaduh!
Posts: 1,968
Default Re: HAL on Windows 7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by B0ne View Post
Because XAudio 2 will be replacing it.
More XBOX console ports on the way.
__________________

Evga X58|I7 965 3.8GHz|Ultra 120 Extreme|Evga GTX 480 SC|2 x Intel X25-M 80GB RAID 0|Intel 520 - 240 GB|WD Black Caviar 1TB|6GB Corsair XMS3 1600C8 |Corsair 1000W PSU|Antec Twelve-Hundred|DELL U3011|Logitech G500|Logitech G19
lduguay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-09, 05:02 PM   #6
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: HAL on Windows 7?

I was really hoping HAL 9000 would be on Windows 7
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-09, 06:24 PM   #7
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: HAL on Windows 7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bearclaw View Post
Why was it removed, Nekro?
thought it had something to do with security and regulating the OS's control over the hardware.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-09, 07:51 PM   #8
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: HAL on Windows 7?

Open the pod bay doors, DD.
  Reply With Quote

Old 02-02-09, 08:41 PM   #9
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: HAL on Windows 7?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
thought it had something to do with security and regulating the OS's control over the hardware.
true, and it also was responsible for many BSOD in XP.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-09, 09:09 AM   #10
walterman
Rayne
 
walterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,525
Default Re: HAL on Windows 7?

Well, the ASUS D2/D2X do all the sound mixing work by software, and it seems to work really well, and offer excellent compatibility:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=125173

Yeah, it uses more CPU than the Creative cards, but, with a multi core cpu, this should not be a problem, and you gain stability & compatibility. Prolly this is why the HAL won't return in W7.

But, personally, i would like to see the HAL returning to W7, because i do not like to lose performance, and i think that it could be done properly this time.
__________________
ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Xeon 3350 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8/1.26v) | 4x1GB OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Reaper CL3 @ 900 MHz 3-4-4-15 | 1 x eVGA GTX 285 SSC | 1 x ASUS EN8800GTX (PhysX/CUDA -> Burnt by nVidia 196.75 driver) | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCIe | 1 x Intel X25-M G2 80GB | 2 x 750GB WD RE2 7500AYYS SATA2 16MB | Samsung SH-B083L SATA | Enermax Revolution 1250W | Samsung SyncMaster 275T 27" 1920x1200 | Thermaltake Black Armor | BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch
walterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-09, 01:31 PM   #11
Galvin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 241
Default Re: HAL on Windows 7?

I think more games are going the software emulation route. I been using world of warcraft software sound and its perfect never has problems. Since WoW is the only game I play I don't even need hardware sound anymore.
Galvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
NVIDIA Brings 18 Years of Experience to Windows 8 News Archived News Items 0 06-03-12 06:20 AM
Sync it up: Hands on with the preview of Windows 8's cloud sync service News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 08:30 PM
$15 Windows 8 upgrades available from Microsoft through January 2013 News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 11:50 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.