Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-01-09, 01:59 AM   #697
zsl1005
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: mplayer vdpau

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobbydole View Post
Any luck on this?

I'm getting this same exact error. The video plays for about 15 minutes, then quit with the above error.

I'm currently still using 180.22 drivers.

*EDIT* I tried your video and it play back fine for me.
I have the same problem, minutes after playing one hd-video file(h.264 1920*800), it quited with the following error:
error 2 at libvo/vo_vdpau.c:1052

My video driver version is: 180.27
the mplayer patch: mplayer-vdpau-3402051.tar.bz2(newest)
video card: geforce 9300mgs 256M video memory.
zsl1005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-09, 08:27 AM   #698
dickeywang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 33
Default Re: mplayer vdpau

I am having problem playing the 1080p H264 file on my Quadro FX 570M. It plays the sample 704x576 file without a problem. I also tried a 720p video file, and I get the same error as the sample 1080p file:
Code:
Error 23 at libvo/vo_vdpau.c:724
PS: Not sure if it is the problem but my card has only 128MB VRAM (stupid Lenovo stripped half of the VRAM for the 14" version of T61p. )
dickeywang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-09, 10:38 AM   #699
Stephen Warren
Moderator
 
Stephen Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,327
Default Re: mplayer vdpau

VDPAU error code 23 is VDP_STATUS_RESOURCES, so yes, you're probably running out of video RAM.

With 128M, it's not surprising that you can't decode HD video; the RAM requirements are just too close to (or exceed) what's on the card.
Stephen Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-09, 04:23 PM   #700
mgsfan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: mplayer vdpau

I get this error on some of the videos I try to play..
Error 14 at libvo/vo_vdpau.c:724 and Error 25 at libvo/vo_vdpau.c:990. its mainly on a few wmv and mkv files

I'm running on a 8600 gt with 512mb of ram
mgsfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-09, 04:42 AM   #701
dickeywang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 33
Default Re: mplayer vdpau

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Warren View Post
VDPAU error code 23 is VDP_STATUS_RESOURCES, so yes, you're probably running out of video RAM.

With 128M, it's not surprising that you can't decode HD video; the RAM requirements are just too close to (or exceed) what's on the card.
Thanks for the quick response.
nvidia-settings is showing that the Quadro FX 570M has 512MB memory, of which I assume 384MB is borrowed from the system RAM. I am just wondering if Nvidia has any plan to make use of the TurboCache for VDPAU? I heard that it works in Windows.
dickeywang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-09, 05:57 AM   #702
jyavenard
MythTV developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 413
Default Re: mplayer vdpau

Quote:
Originally Posted by ****eywang View Post
Thanks for the quick response.
nvidia-settings is showing that the Quadro FX 570M has 512MB memory, of which I assume 384MB is borrowed from the system RAM. I am just wondering if Nvidia has any plan to make use of the TurboCache for VDPAU? I heard that it works in Windows.
Same issue as here:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...ght=turbocache

Looks like VDPAU isn't using any turbocache yet ...
jyavenard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-09, 07:11 AM   #703
sl1pkn07
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Spanishtan
Posts: 103
Default Re: mplayer vdpau

jyavenard, is possible update you repo with nvidia driver 180.27? thanks
sl1pkn07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-09, 08:50 AM   #704
dickeywang
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 33
Default Re: mplayer vdpau

Quote:
Originally Posted by jyavenard View Post
Same issue as here:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...ght=turbocache

Looks like VDPAU isn't using any turbocache yet ...
So it seems I am not the only one(ps: I have 180.27 installed).

Considering the Nvidia Ion platform (9400M has no dedicate video memory at all) can make use of the PureVideo HD technology in Windows, I guess it is, at least in principle, possible for VDPAU to support turbocache.

Hopefully the TurboCache support for VDPAU is in Nvidia's to-do list.
dickeywang is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 02-03-09, 09:55 AM   #705
Stephen Warren
Moderator
 
Stephen Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,327
Default Re: mplayer vdpau

Just an FYI on memory usage, turbocache etc.

There are 3 sources of RAM that the GPU can use:

1) RAM physically attached to the GPU
2) System memory dedicated to the GPU's use by BIOS "carve-out", on IGP systems (I believe this covers ION)
3) System memory dynamically allocated to the GPU (i.e. turbocache)

VDPAU fully utilizes 1 and 2, but cannot use 3.
Stephen Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-09, 02:19 PM   #706
jyavenard
MythTV developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 413
Default Re: mplayer vdpau

Quote:
Originally Posted by sl1pkn07 View Post
jyavenard, is possible update you repo with nvidia driver 180.27? thanks
Hi..

They are there already, in the testing repository.
deb http://www.avenard.org/files/ubuntu-repos testing/
jyavenard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-09, 02:23 PM   #707
jyavenard
MythTV developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 413
Default Re: mplayer vdpau

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Warren View Post
Just an FYI on memory usage, turbocache etc.

There are 3 sources of RAM that the GPU can use:

1) RAM physically attached to the GPU
2) System memory dedicated to the GPU's use by BIOS "carve-out", on IGP systems (I believe this covers ION)
3) System memory dynamically allocated to the GPU (i.e. turbocache)

VDPAU fully utilizes 1 and 2, but cannot use 3.
Is this a temporary shortcoming or will you be able to implement support for turbocache ?
jyavenard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-09, 02:24 PM   #708
Stephen Warren
Moderator
 
Stephen Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,327
Default Re: mplayer vdpau

We're investigating turbocache in more depth, especially w.r.t what the Windows driver does, but I wouldn't plan on it being supported.
Stephen Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xorg locks-up with newest nvidia drivers w/ vdpau. theroot NVIDIA Linux 1 06-24-12 11:04 AM
NVIDIA VDPAU Reference Benchmarks News Archived News Items 0 06-11-12 05:30 AM
VDPAU and KDE 4.8 compositing = slow Pie-rate NVIDIA Linux 30 05-23-12 07:07 AM
VDPAU testing tool crisalide NVIDIA Linux 392 04-29-12 06:01 PM
mplayer & xmms problems! replys2me NVIDIA Linux 5 09-06-02 02:34 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.