Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-05-09, 07:19 AM   #1
NuBee
NuBee
 
NuBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Berlin,Germany
Posts: 322
Default How 2 get the most of what I have???

hey, I just got a GTX 285 to replace my old 2 GTX8800 and I was wondering if I still use a GTX8800 just for physics, I mean to dedicate it. I'm familiar mit SLI, used it for the last 2 years, but I'm not familiar using 2 different cards. I just want to get the most of my games with the hardware available, maybe to sell one of the GTX 8800. How can I do that? What setting should I use in the control panel?
I use Windows Vista 64 and a 1920 x 1200 Mononitor and I'm crazy about graphic quality.
I play most MS Flight Simulator X, but also Crysis + Warhead, Far Cry 2, BioShock, Stalker +CS, ARMA, World in Conflict, Assassin's Creed, GRID, UT3,... do we have enough space here?
Thank you in advance!




__________________
Core i7 920@4.2 / Asus Rampage II Extreme / Noctua NH-U12P SE 1366 / 6GB Dominator GT PC3-16000 Triple Channel (CL 7-7-7-16-1T) / 2 x GTX680 SLI / X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro Series + Teufel Concept E Magnum 5.1 + 4xCanton/ 2x1Tb Samsung F3@Raid-0 / CoolermasterStackerSTC-T01 + 3xSilenX-Ixtrema120 + 2xS3NoiseBlocker + ZalmanZM-MFC1 Multi Fan Controller/Win7 x64
I'm not a signature,I'm just cleaning here

Last edited by NuBee; 08-23-12 at 06:05 AM.
NuBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-09, 04:24 PM   #2
rage10
Registered User
 
rage10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: In the clouds!:)
Posts: 1,270
Default Re: How 2 get the most of what I have???

you can use the 8800 gtx for physics. its an option in the control panel. also if you have only one gtx 285 it may be more worth while to use that for physics as the two 8800gtxs are likely more powerful.
rage10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-09, 04:56 PM   #3
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: How 2 get the most of what I have???

Quote:
Originally Posted by rage10 View Post
you can use the 8800 gtx for physics. its an option in the control panel. also if you have only one gtx 285 it may be more worth while to use that for physics as the two 8800gtxs are likely more powerful.
I highly doubt that... but I could be wrong. All I know is my single GTX 285 is running circles around my old 8800GTX. I doubt 2 in SLi would make much difference.
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-09, 05:03 PM   #4
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: How 2 get the most of what I have???

It would be a tossup. I would recommend running the 1 GTX 285 though as it should always scale well and run faster overall. Like someone else said go into the control panel. The PhsyX options are under the same tab where SLi is. After both cards are installed it should let you select which one you want to use for PhsyX.
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-09, 05:36 PM   #5
wysiwyg
Registered User
 
wysiwyg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: London, England
Posts: 2,991
Default Re: How 2 get the most of what I have???

Quote:
Originally Posted by rage10 View Post
you can use the 8800 gtx for physics. its an option in the control panel. also if you have only one gtx 285 it may be more worth while to use that for physics as the two 8800gtxs are likely more powerful.
im pretty 99% sure than a 1 285 is faster than 2 sli'd GTXs, plus SLI is ropey
wysiwyg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-09, 09:50 PM   #6
Llamalama
Registered User
 
Llamalama's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 134
Default Re: How 2 get the most of what I have???

Amazing screens. I have a 280 and no way does it looks as good as yours. I can't even get the default AA to work under DX10 but your pics are an inspiration,well done.
__________________
Maximus III - Intel 875K@4ghz- 8 Gigs DDR3 1600 -2 x GTX 480-Corsair 1000W PSU
Llamalama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-09, 12:58 AM   #7
NuBee
NuBee
 
NuBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Berlin,Germany
Posts: 322
Default Re: How 2 get the most of what I have???

thanX @ all!!!

@Llamalama By the way, those pics are on dx9, some warer textures in REX have a problem with dx10
__________________
Core i7 920@4.2 / Asus Rampage II Extreme / Noctua NH-U12P SE 1366 / 6GB Dominator GT PC3-16000 Triple Channel (CL 7-7-7-16-1T) / 2 x GTX680 SLI / X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro Series + Teufel Concept E Magnum 5.1 + 4xCanton/ 2x1Tb Samsung F3@Raid-0 / CoolermasterStackerSTC-T01 + 3xSilenX-Ixtrema120 + 2xS3NoiseBlocker + ZalmanZM-MFC1 Multi Fan Controller/Win7 x64
I'm not a signature,I'm just cleaning here
NuBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.