Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-08-09, 02:39 PM   #13
Bee_Dee_3_Dee
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 214
Default Re: Problems with GTX 295

Quote:
Originally Posted by newls1 View Post
OK, lets make something clear here: is your 620hx a single 12v rail, or multiple? do you know? I wasn't aware that corsair made that unit with multi rails (YUCK) If your PSU is a single 12v rail, no need to upgrade, unless you intend later on to add more stuff.

Its this one http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139002.

But wait!

I think even though the specs say three rails the 620hx have a single physical rail. (Emulation?) And i believe its also true for corsair's 750tx.
Bee_Dee_3_Dee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-09, 02:45 PM   #14
Bee_Dee_3_Dee
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 214
Default Re: Problems with GTX 295

^^^

here's proof maybe:

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php...Story2&reid=21
Bee_Dee_3_Dee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-09, 02:49 PM   #15
Bee_Dee_3_Dee
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 214
Default Re: Problems with GTX 295

^^^

Virtual?

http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/371/7

Quote:
As you can see the label says this power supply has three +12V rails. These rails are “virtual” as all of them are connected together to the single +12 V “real” rail coming from the +12 V rectifiers thru a series of jumpers (a.k.a. “shunts”).
Bee_Dee_3_Dee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-09, 04:45 PM   #16
Smee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,099
Default Re: Problems with GTX 295

Quote:
Originally Posted by newls1 View Post
Remember; wattage of a PSU is only 1/4 of what is important. The n00b's always think that a 10000000000watt PSU from chinatech that was 65$ and has 16 12v rails, with each rail having 7amps each, will power a PC with actual good specs: GTX285/295, quad core, etc..... Think of it this way, if you go buy Nvidia's specs for powering a GTX295, they call for a 680watt psu, xx amperage. So by Nvidias terms, your actually underpowering your 295, BUT YOUR NOT! Your corsair (solid performer) has 1 12v rail with plenty of juice. I'll never understand the reasoning behind some people (not you) buy $2000 worth of parts for there PC, and power it with a $70 chinatech 1 jiggawatt PSU, that is utter ****......
This reminds me of when I used to tell my dipsh!t buddies about car audio amplification.

'Why duz i want to spend $400 on a 75 watt Fosgate, when I can get a 1200 watt amp for $39.00 at the flea market. lol
Smee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-09, 04:51 PM   #17
newls1
Registered User
 
newls1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 596
Default Re: Problems with GTX 295

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smee View Post
This reminds me of when I used to tell my dipsh!t buddies about car audio amplification.

'Why duz i want to spend $400 on a 75 watt Fosgate, when I can get a 1200 watt amp for $39.00 at the flea market. lol
BINGO. I have friends that say the same thing. I personally have 2 18" Fi Audio BL's jammin on a USAmps MD3D ~2500watt @ 1ohm, powered from 2 230amp alts on my tahoe. My buddy things he can get the same effect from using 4 12" Pioneers (CRAP!) using a 4000watt BOSS amp from brandsmart. WTF!!! LOL..... Im getting 147.6 dB, I'll bet he wont see anything over 110.

To the OP, keep the PSU you have now, and dont look back.
__________________
ASUS P5Q-PRO @ 408FSB / Q6700 @ 3.71GHz AIR COOLED / eVGA GTX295 @ 725c*1585s*2400mem / 4GB G.SKILL PC8500 @ DDR1025 / AUDIGY4 / WD640GB / WD80GB / 28" Hanns-G 3ms LCD
newls1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-09, 01:13 AM   #18
Bee_Dee_3_Dee
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 214
Default Re: Problems with GTX 295

Yes!

I just fixed FO3 its rocking so far on Ultra Settings (Highest) and I don't have to blame the PSU anymore. FO3 was showing symptoms that maybe a PSU was inadequate.

Thanks again newls1.

PS
I did see one Website's review/ benchmark of GTX295 that used the 620HX but I'm still amazed this one 620W PSU is OK...

BECAUSE:

Quote:
A single GTX295 needs 31AMP's (JUST FOR THE CARD ITSELF) plus a needed 10% IN RESERVE. Ideally, you want a PSU with a single 12v rail to maintain the cards needs under load. Most people have PSU's that have 3/4/5 12v rails that are only 15-20a each, and that is NOT RECOMMENDED for this card.
Bee_Dee_3_Dee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Product Spotlight ' EVGA GTX 670 Review Round Up News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 1 05-11-12 12:15 AM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 01:50 PM
GALAXY Launches the GeForce GTX 670 and GTX 670 GC! News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM
Gainward Unleashes the Sexy GeForce GTX 670 Phantom Graphics Card, Also launches the News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 09:28 AM
NVIDIA Unleashes the GeForce GTX 670 Graphics Card ' Performance Perfected (WCCFTECH) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 08:40 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.