Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > General Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-14-09, 10:19 AM   #1
keithmart
keithmart
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Leeds uk
Posts: 1
Default suse 11.1 and biostar mcp6p motherboard

Hi

First I am very new to Linux, and have only installed it today.

I have had a message that my audio is not working, but it is with the default driver. The sound is quiet, and if the volume is turned up it is distorted.

Is this a driver problem?

If so which driver should I use?

I apologise for what is I am sure a very basic question, but I am very much feeling my way!!

Thanks in advance for any help I receive
__________________
Best Regards

Keith

Leeds UK
keithmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-09, 07:54 PM   #2
TheBlackCat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 84
Default Re: suse 11.1 and biostar mcp6p motherboard

We would need more information. What desktop environment are you using (Gnome, KDE 3, KDE 4, etc). What programs are you trying to get sound on? What are you using to control the volume? What hardware are you using for your audio?
TheBlackCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-09, 07:10 AM   #3
oldcpu
Linux Neophyte
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 14
Default Re: suse 11.1 and biostar mcp6p motherboard

Quote:
Originally Posted by keithmart View Post
First I am very new to Linux, and have only installed it today.

I have had a message that my audio is not working, but it is with the default driver. The sound is quiet, and if the volume is turned up it is distorted.

Is this a driver problem?

If so which driver should I use?
At the risk of answering an old dead thread ... This is NOT likely a driver problem.

Go to YaST > Hardware > Sound > Other > Volume and turn the volume for both PCM and Master UP to about 95%. Close YaST. Then go to your mixer (kmix for kde and alsamixer for gnome) and move your PCM and Master volume up (or down) to a comfortable level, such that there is no distortion. Note every time you start a new multimedia application you may need to adjust your PCM level in your mixer.

Reference the audio error message, thats a bug in openSUSE-11.1, and there is a work around fix available.
oldcpu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.