Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-08-03, 11:51 PM   #1
djblizzzard
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to djblizzzard Send a message via Yahoo to djblizzzard
Default Acer TravelMate630 + GForce 2 Go DDR = Weird Lines with v4496

I keep getting this weird effect where every line seems somewhat off from the next line (so I get a screen that looks like a very bad ink-jet printout)... any suggestions?? This have occured in the following distributions (Red Hat 9, Gentoo 1.4 (Vanilla 2.4.22), Mandrake 9.2rc1)... I haven't tried later versions yet, but may go that direction to see if it's a the version of the driver (previous versions before the installer didn't exhibit this problem)...

The BliZ
djblizzzard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-03, 02:23 PM   #2
ecos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 50
Default XF86Config?

Works for me (TM 634); perhaps there's something wrong with the selected modeline? Which frequency/resolution do you have configured?
Perhaps you could post your XF86Config

The only problem I'm having with this notebook is that hotkey switching (Fn+F5) doesn't work - or is there anything I can do to enable this?
ecos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-03, 09:00 AM   #3
moali
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Austria
Posts: 31
Default

which driver are you using?

Does 4496 really work for you?

I use the same machine, but for me the most recent usable version is 2960. All newer ones have a serious problem when vt-switching.
(and the 4496, beside this, segfaults as user ... )

moali
moali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-03, 10:07 AM   #4
ecos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 50
Default

I'm currently using 4496. I've started with 4191 and successively upgraded; they all worked. There are some problems with vt switching.
I have "solved" them this way:
- use a framebuffer device (boot parameter e.g. vga=785 for 640x480 at 16 bits; I'm currently using vga=789 which is 800x600 at 24 bits color depth)
- when switching to vt the display flickers; I have to switch off the display once (Fn+F6) and on again, from then on it works.

System: SuSE 8.1 with custom kernel 2.4.20 (you have to compile in the framebuffer device of course)

There's one problem: on the external CRT connector I get only the resolution the framebuffer device is configured to; at least this was the case when I last tried it with 4363
ecos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-03, 01:54 AM   #5
moali
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Austria
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ecos

....
System: SuSE 8.1 with custom kernel 2.4.20 (you have to compile in the framebuffer device of course)
...
Ingredible. Nearly the same here: SuSE 8.1 with 2.4.22

Unfortunately 4496 segfaults when I try to start X as user.

Did you upgrade any software/packets or are you using plain SuSE 8.1?

Thanks for the hint with turning off the Display. Works here, too.

moali
moali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-03, 05:56 AM   #6
ecos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 50
Default

I did an online update so I don't know how it works out of the box.
The kernel seems to be critical here; I currently use 2.4.21 + ACPI patch. The original version (2.4.19) didn't work very well (CPU fan support nonfunctional).
I configured the kernel "by hand" so this system is probably rather different to SuSE's out of the box-kernel.
I've installed the "synaptics" driver for the touchpad, works great.
Since I'm not sure how much I really upgraded/configured: xf86 4.2.0, KDE 3.1.1, VESA-Framebuffer (cat /proc/fb)

Did you start X with debug on? Are there any usable error messages in the log file (/var/log/XFree86.0.log)?
ecos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-03, 07:10 AM   #7
moali
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Austria
Posts: 31
Default

Yes, printed the debugging-output buth nothing useful (for me) in.

Just the standard X11 segfault message...
moali is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.