Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-04-09, 07:37 AM   #37
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: Core i7 Overclocking thread

I did my first overclocking on this one. I changed aka FSB from 133 to 160, left Turbo ON, HT On, Intel Speed Step ON, Virtualization is ON as well. Voltage is default, and everything as far as voltage is default. Memory setting all in AUTO. I switched memory speed from 1600Mhz down to 1066Mhz, after overclocking it runs 1333Mhz...good enough for me.

So final clock speed with Turbo is 3476 Ghz. I keep High Performance in Power Option. I didn't notice any temperature increase.
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-09, 01:22 AM   #38
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: Core i7 Overclocking thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by hell_of_doom227 View Post
I did my first overclocking on this one. I changed aka FSB from 133 to 160, left Turbo ON, HT On, Intel Speed Step ON, Virtualization is ON as well. Voltage is default, and everything as far as voltage is default. Memory setting all in AUTO. I switched memory speed from 1600Mhz down to 1066Mhz, after overclocking it runs 1333Mhz...good enough for me.

So final clock speed with Turbo is 3476 Ghz. I keep High Performance in Power Option. I didn't notice any temperature increase.
Just be careful with the voltage settings on auto. Some motherboards over volt by quite a big margin. It is better to enter voltages manually.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-09, 01:27 AM   #39
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Core i7 Overclocking thread

My chip gets here Friday... so much waiting...
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-09, 07:26 AM   #40
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: Core i7 Overclocking thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muppet View Post
Just be careful with the voltage settings on auto. Some motherboards over volt by quite a big margin. It is better to enter voltages manually.
EVGA VDroop Control ( With VDroop )
CPU VCore ( Auto ) - VCore 1.234
CPU VTT Voltage ( Auto ) 0.85 - 1.1
CPU PLL VCore (Auto ) Default
DIMM Voltage ( Auto ) Default
DIMM DQ Vref ( +0 ) Default
QPI PLL VCore ( Auto ) Default
IOH VCore ( Auto ) Default
IOH/ICH I/O Voltage ( Auto ) Default
ICH VCore ( Auto ) Default
PWM Frequency ( 800 )

Memory:

Default Voltage 1.5V
All timings to Auto -> Factory

CPU Feature
Intel SpeedStep ( Enabled )
Turbo Mode Function ( Enabled )
CxE Function ( Disabled )
Execute Disable Bit ( Enabled )
Virtualization Technology ( Enabled )
Intel HT Technology ( Enabled )
Active Processor Cores ( All )
QPI Control Settings ( Enabled )
QPI Link Fast Mode ( Enabled )
QPI Frequency Selection ( 4.8 )

I did change QPI to 4.8

And
Frequency Control
CPU Clock Ratio ( 20X )
CPU Host Frequency (Mhz) ( 160 )
MCH Strap ( Auto ) Default
CPU Uncore Frequency (Mhz) ( Auto ) ---> 25xx Mhz
Spread Spectrum ( Disabled )
PCIE Frequency (Mhz) ( 100 )
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-09, 08:38 AM   #41
Chevyman03
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 32
Default Re: Core i7 Overclocking thread

Here is the OC I been using without any issues. It is from the batch 3837B317. I already tried running it at 4.2 for kick's by upping the blck, vcore with everything else on auto and memory running at 16xx. It benchmarked and ran ok but after a couple hours of prime it crashed. I have been very content with the speeds it's running at but I do think if I took the time to tweak the bios settings I could get more. Actually to get the OC I currently run at took very little effort on my part and gives me no trouble. Thats why I think I shoudn't mess with a good thing? I have stress tested my setup many times overnight with everything from LinX, Prime, OCCT with no failures. It does seem any higher speed I want to run takes more Vcore.
CoreI920 @1.41vcore
Asus P6T non deluxe
6 gig Corsiar ddr3 1600
PNY 295GTX @676core, 1457shaders, 1133mem
Corsair HX1000
5 harddrives
SB X-FI gamer
Plexter dvd drive
CPU and case cooling
Original CM stacker
Aquaextreme 50z waterpump
X-Flow black ice Xtreme 2 radiator
Koolance cpu-350 waterblock
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	oc pic (1676 x 1015).jpg
Views:	258
Size:	292.8 KB
ID:	35858  
Chevyman03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-09, 11:17 PM   #42
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Core i7 Overclocking thread

What's the best bios ATM?
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-09, 04:56 AM   #43
sillyeagle
sillyego
 
sillyeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,394
Default Re: Core i7 Overclocking thread

Noctua NH-U12P, HT off, Turbo on, 4.2GHz, 100% stable, acceptable temps. Everest tells me it's not optimized for i7, so the bandwidth results are low.

__________________
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem Quad @ 4.0GHz
EVGA GTX 660 SLI @ 1046MHz
OCZ Platinum CL7 6GB
EVGA Intel X58
_____________
A man's dreams are an index to his greatness.
sillyeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-09, 11:13 AM   #44
wildcard011
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 22
Default Re: Core i7 Overclocking thread

I'm done building my new system and testing it for a week. Everything is stable and I'm running @ 4Ghz

i7 920 @ 4 Ghz HT OFF
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme With Fans on both sides
6 GIG Corsair Dominator PC12800 DDR3
Asus P6T-Deluxe
BFG GTX 285 @ 702 - 1296

Everything is running super smooth. The rig was built mainly for FSX and I must say that after great advice from a few on this forum especially sillyeagle FSX seems like a new game. Will post more about that in the FSX thread.
Thanks!



wildcard011 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-07-09, 11:54 AM   #45
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Core i7 Overclocking thread

Hey guys please post your other BIOS settings, voltages, etc.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-09, 02:54 PM   #46
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,133
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Core i7 Overclocking thread

is there a difference between running 8 instances of pi or 4?
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-09, 03:49 PM   #47
ReaperX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 36
Default Re: Core i7 Overclocking thread

Here's mine...

Rampage 2 Extreme,Corsair Dominator 3x2gb 1600C8,custom watercooling

Turbo enabled,HT Off


ReaperX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-09, 05:08 PM   #48
sillyeagle
sillyego
 
sillyeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 5,394
Default Re: Core i7 Overclocking thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
is there a difference between running 8 instances of pi or 4?
When you have HT off it only runs one thread per core, instead of two. Much cooler temps. By turning HT off I was able to gain 200MHz, and despite the increased clock I dropped 10C or more. If you run only 4 instances with HT on it only shows 50% utilization.

For the most part it seems unless stuff is written with HT in mind it's more marketing than anything. Many multithreaded apps show no performance gain, or decreased performance with HT on. A few show a nice gain, but it's rare.

@ meth, I post the other details when I get some time.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 Nehalem Quad @ 4.0GHz
EVGA GTX 660 SLI @ 1046MHz
OCZ Platinum CL7 6GB
EVGA Intel X58
_____________
A man's dreams are an index to his greatness.
sillyeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are you OverClocking The Core or Boost Clock john19055 NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 2 09-25-12 08:16 PM
i3 one core runs hotter than the other muelo1000 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 3 05-29-12 12:00 PM
Overclocking Core i7-3770K: Learning To Live With Compromise News Archived News Items 0 05-24-12 02:50 AM
Intel's Ivy Bridge Core i7 3770K Overheating Issue Detailed News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 10:40 AM
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 08:32 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.