Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-08-09, 06:44 AM   #49
Blade
It's just a ride....
 
Blade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Your Sisters Bed
Posts: 903
Default Re: Empire: Total War Official Thread

Game is great, no show stopper bugs for me, multplayer is a blast, like a huge chess game, btw my steam user name is Razorman01 for for anyone that fancy's a game, just add me to your friends list.
__________________
____________________________
Sigs Are For Heros!
Blade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-09, 07:11 AM   #50
cloudol
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 37
Default Re: Empire: Total War Official Thread





















__________________
Intel i7 3.8(OC3.8Ghz) | MSI X58Pro | Gskill DDR3 1600 2GBX3 | GTX470 SLI | Onkyo SE200PCI | Seagate 7200.11 500GB Raid0 7200.10 320G SATA2 | NEC 3540A DVD-RW| DELL 2407WFP-HC
cloudol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-09, 12:54 PM   #51
Buio
Registered User
 
Buio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,092
Default Re: Empire: Total War Official Thread

The DOF effect is a bit broken, but I hope they fix it and make it optional for Battles only (I could do without it on the world map). If you check the first two ship pics above you see some strange effects on the ropes vs the horizon.

The game looks awesome anyway. To bad I can run at the settings above, but it still looks very good even on lower settings.
Buio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-09, 01:06 PM   #52
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Empire: Total War Official Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Isola View Post

This is madness

\
just because your have issues, doesn't mean they are caused by the game.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-09, 01:25 PM   #53
Buio
Registered User
 
Buio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,092
Default Re: Empire: Total War Official Thread

I saw on the official forums that many had problems (well people without problems aren't posting of course). Maybe there is something that is common for some setups and can be solved with a patch soon. But seeing many can run the game fine too.

I.e. this forum
http://shoguntotalwar.yuku.com/forum...ort-Forum.html
Buio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-09, 01:34 PM   #54
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Empire: Total War Official Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buio View Post
I saw on the official forums that many had problems (well people without problems aren't posting of course). Maybe there is something that is common for some setups and can be solved with a patch soon. But seeing many can run the game fine too.

I.e. this forum
http://shoguntotalwar.yuku.com/forum...ort-Forum.html
one thing is true, when ever a high profile game gets released there is always a group of people that keeps posting about "problems"

few reasons

1) people like to complain
2) they have issues with their system
3) other software issues not related to game
4) issues are done on purpose caused by some software trigger (think Titan Quest, GTA4, Mass Effect) when pirated software is detected
5) people don't read system requirements (gta4 perfect example)
6) very rarelly there is a real issue
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-09, 04:41 PM   #55
Buio
Registered User
 
Buio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,092
Default Re: Empire: Total War Official Thread

They are recommending NVidia users to use an older driver here;
http://shoguntotalwar.yuku.com/topic...-24-hours.html

And here is Sega's KB for the game;
http://help.sega.com/index.php?_m=kn...=165&nav=0%2C6
Buio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-09, 10:26 AM   #56
Retrolock
 
Retrolock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: Empire: Total War Official Thread

How come this isn't stickied? I've been playing Rome: Total War again to ready my skillzz when I finally buy Empire.

Sticky NAO!
__________________
i7-2600k, Xspc rs240, Asus Maximus IV Gene-z, 8gb G.Skill DDR3 1866 RIPJAWSX CL7, PoV GTX 670, Corsair HX1000W, 128GB Vertex 4, WD 1tb Caviar Black, 500 & 320gb Seagate
Retrolock is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-10-09, 02:20 PM   #57
Buio
Registered User
 
Buio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,092
Default Re: Empire: Total War Official Thread

Updated via Steam just recently:

Empire: Total War
* Fixed Alt-Tab issue which prevents players from switching away from a fullscreen window
* Fixed text rendering for certain resolutions
* Fixed localized font overrun issues
* Fixed a variety of crash and memory leak issues
* Fixed a variety of multiplayer client lock
* Fixed trade nodes for those nations with resource in home region which caused unprofitable trade theatre routes eg: Sweden and Marathas
Buio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-09, 05:42 PM   #58
Bokishi
NV THIS
 
Bokishi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Hutt Space
Posts: 1,289
Default Re: Empire: Total War Official Thread

Yea sticky
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.2GHz
EVGA Z68
Ripjaws X 16GB 1600MHz
EVGA GTX 680
X-Fi Titanium HD
Intel 40GB SSD (SRT Cache)
Hitachi 1TB Boot HDD
7TB Storage HDDs
Coolermaster 750w
Bokishi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-09, 05:44 PM   #59
proliferazor
this won't hurt a bit
 
proliferazor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 182
Default Re: Empire: Total War Official Thread

+1 sticky, 185.26 driver runs this with SLI, use the settings I posted before...
proliferazor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-09, 05:49 PM   #60
arioch21
Vengeful Blades
 
arioch21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 444
Default Re: Empire: Total War Official Thread

they are releasing another patch early next week, think im gonna hold off playing the game until stuff seems stable, dont want long game saves to get screwed up.
__________________
Intel i7-950 @3.06GHz | G.Skill 12GB DDR3 1600 | ASUS Rampage III Formula | EVGA GTX580 SLI | COUGAR-CMX 1000W PSU | Cooler Master CM692 II Advanced | Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
arioch21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Napoleon: Total War Free Weekend and 50% off! News Gaming Headlines 0 06-15-12 01:30 AM
Now Available - Total War: SHOGUN 2 - Fall of the Samurai DLCs News Archived News Items 0 05-30-12 03:40 PM
Total War: Shogun 2 Map Editor Totally Out Now News Archived News Items 0 05-24-12 03:50 AM
Official Grand Theft Auto 3 thread volt Gaming Central 6 08-01-02 08:04 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.