Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-07-09, 05:27 PM   #49
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Core i7 Overclocking thread

Thanks, I am struggling here.

Tried Jakup's tutorial over at evga.com, and some similar ones for 3.8-4.0 on air, but can't get it to boot Vista.

Mostly I am getting stuck with the warning beep over and over at post code F3-68-69-C1, or I just get a continuous loop from F3-68 over and over.

This is a bit more complicated than socket 775...

At stock voltage, I have 3.6ghz stable on OCCT... would sure like to figure this out...

*cough lee63 cough*
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-09, 10:23 PM   #50
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Core i7 Overclocking thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by methimpikehoses View Post
Thanks, I am struggling here.

Tried Jakup's tutorial over at evga.com, and some similar ones for 3.8-4.0 on air, but can't get it to boot Vista.

Mostly I am getting stuck with the warning beep over and over at post code F3-68-69-C1, or I just get a continuous loop from F3-68 over and over.

This is a bit more complicated than socket 775...

At stock voltage, I have 3.6ghz stable on OCCT... would sure like to figure this out...

*cough lee63 cough*
The F3-68-69-C1 is a memory code.... had that on my first X58, I ended up RMAing the board.

You have six sticks of ram "right" if so, try three for now and use the green dimms... see if that helps.

Also try this guide http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...&postcount=877 I found more stability staying away from the 20 multi.
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-09, 10:29 PM   #51
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: Core i7 Overclocking thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by lee63 View Post
The F3-68-69-C1 is a memory code.... had that on my first X58, I ended up RMAing the board.

You have six sticks of ram "right" if so, try three for now and use the green dimms... see if that helps
If you have filled up all the ram slots, you will need to add some voltage to QPI/VTT to make it stable.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-09, 10:50 PM   #52
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Core i7 Overclocking thread

Try the latest bios ftp://ftp.evga.com/bios/E758_SZ21.exe supports XMP profiles. http://www.intel.com/Consumer/Game/extreme-memory.htm
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-09, 12:54 AM   #53
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Core i7 Overclocking thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muppet View Post
If you have filled up all the ram slots, you will need to add some voltage to QPI/VTT to make it stable.
Like more than 1.4 in the QPI? Just trying for 190x20 right now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lee63 View Post
Got the newest Bios.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-09, 12:57 AM   #54
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: Core i7 Overclocking thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by methimpikehoses View Post
Like more than 1.4 in the QPI? Just trying for 190x20 right now.



Got the newest Bios.
1.4 should be ample voltage. What Vdimm voltage are you running.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-09, 03:00 AM   #55
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Core i7 Overclocking thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muppet View Post
1.4 should be ample voltage. What Vdimm voltage are you running.
1.55... the ram is rated for 1.5. Running at 700mhz (1T).
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-09, 11:14 AM   #56
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Core i7 Overclocking thread

Well making a bit of progress... I can get into windows at 4.0ghz and 1.36vcore. Just needs to work the kinks out a bit. I put my RAM at 1.6 and the QPI at 1.35, that seemed to get me over the hump. Still have a ways to go before it's stable though.
  Reply With Quote

Old 03-08-09, 11:57 PM   #57
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Core i7 Overclocking thread



More progress, though this is only with 3GB rather than 6. I may have a bad stick of RAM. Anyway, less voltage seemed to help my stability a bit, as well as keeping memory at 2T. Will try to tighten it down soon. Temps are mid 80's at load.
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-09, 02:13 AM   #58
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Core i7 Overclocking thread

the more ram you have, the harder it is to overclock?
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-09, 04:24 AM   #59
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: Core i7 Overclocking thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
the more ram you have, the harder it is to overclock?
Oh yes, it puts more stress on the North Bridge or in the I7's case the CPU. That's because the memory controller is on the CPU itself.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-09, 10:08 AM   #60
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Core i7 Overclocking thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muppet View Post
Oh yes, it puts more stress on the North Bridge or in the I7's case the CPU. That's because the memory controller is on the CPU itself.
Is the biggest factor the amount of RAM or does the number of sticks have an effect too? I'm wondering if I need more voltage on the QPI PLL to run 6 sticks.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are you OverClocking The Core or Boost Clock john19055 NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 2 09-25-12 08:16 PM
i3 one core runs hotter than the other muelo1000 CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 3 05-29-12 12:00 PM
Overclocking Core i7-3770K: Learning To Live With Compromise News Archived News Items 0 05-24-12 02:50 AM
Intel's Ivy Bridge Core i7 3770K Overheating Issue Detailed News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 10:40 AM
CPUMark99 - how do you compare fuelrod Benchmarking And Overclocking 66 07-19-11 08:32 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.