Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-08-09, 10:42 AM   #1
j0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 16
Question Redraw issue with compiz.

Why Nvidia drivers are slow without loose-binding option and don't redraw some window contents with it (e.g. in KDE3 apps running under KDE4.2). Any ideas?
j0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-09, 08:39 PM   #2
epsilon72
Gentoo User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 65
Default Re: Redraw issue with compiz.

I don't know about the loose-binding option, but I'm having some pretty serious compiz-fusion redrawing problems.
epsilon72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-09, 11:03 AM   #3
epsilon72
Gentoo User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 65
Default Re: Redraw issue with compiz.

Is anyone else having this problem?
epsilon72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-09, 12:09 PM   #4
cpasoft
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Default Re: Redraw issue with compiz.

Quote:
Originally Posted by epsilon72 View Post
Is anyone else having this problem?
Of course we have a lot of problems with this...
Have a look:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=124470
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=125706
http://forum.compiz-fusion.org/showthread.php?t=10757

and there are also a lot of post like these...
cpasoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-09, 02:32 PM   #5
j0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 16
Default Re: Redraw issue with compiz.

Problem is gone without "loose-binding" compiz option, but compiz is unusable. It's SLOOOW.
j0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-09, 05:05 PM   #6
cpasoft
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Default Re: Redraw issue with compiz.

Quote:
Originally Posted by j0n View Post
Problem is gone without "loose-binding" compiz option, but compiz is unusable. It's SLOOOW.
That's it...

On my other computer, with an ATI video card, all is working allright...
cpasoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-09, 05:42 PM   #7
ledoc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 330
Default Re: Redraw issue with compiz.

I have that very annoying problem, too. I think at some point they blamed a race condition in the xorg damage extension for it (or something like that, who the heck has the time to follow all this..).
ledoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-09, 03:57 AM   #8
maniac103
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 20
Default Re: Redraw issue with compiz.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ledoc View Post
I have that very annoying problem, too. I think at some point they blamed a race condition in the xorg damage extension for it (or something like that, who the heck has the time to follow all this..).
The problem _is_ a race condition in the damage extension.
I have added a workaround to the workarounds plugin that should help to get rid of most of the symptoms. You can either compile the plugin yourself to get it or ask your distro to include this patch (unfortunately, it came a bit too late for 0.8.2).
maniac103 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-12-09, 05:44 PM   #9
j0n
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 16
Default Re: Redraw issue with compiz.

Quote:
Originally Posted by maniac103 View Post
The problem _is_ a race condition in the damage extension.
I have added a workaround to the workarounds plugin that should help to get rid of most of the symptoms. You can either compile the plugin yourself to get it or ask your distro to include this patch (unfortunately, it came a bit too late for 0.8.2).
Yeah! It works! Thank you, thank you, thank you maniac103!
j0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-09, 06:11 PM   #10
ledoc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 330
Default Re: Redraw issue with compiz.

Quote:
Originally Posted by maniac103 View Post
The problem _is_ a race condition in the damage extension.
I have added a workaround to the workarounds plugin that should help to get rid of most of the symptoms. You can either compile the plugin yourself to get it or ask your distro to include this patch (unfortunately, it came a bit too late for 0.8.2).
Neat. Thanks, man.
Not sure I'll be able to compile git-tip of compiz on a debian box but I'll try..
ledoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-09, 04:31 AM   #11
maniac103
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 20
Default Re: Redraw issue with compiz.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ledoc View Post
Neat. Thanks, man.
Not sure I'll be able to compile git-tip of compiz on a debian box but I'll try..
You don't need to compile all of compiz, it's enough to compile the workarounds plugin if you already have 0.7.8 or newer.
If your version of compiz is older than that, it might still be possible to just take the patch from my commit and apply it to the debian plugins-main package if it's 0.7.2 or newer. If it's even older (I do not hope so) it would require some more fiddling.
maniac103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-09, 08:48 AM   #12
cpasoft
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Default Re: Redraw issue with compiz.

Dear Maniac103...

Which are the dependencies of your plugin??...

When I run make, i get this error:
Code:
convert   : workarounds.xml.in -> build/workarounds.xml
bcop'ing  : build/workarounds.xml -> build/workarounds_options.h
bcop'ing  : build/workarounds.xml -> build/workarounds_options.c
schema    : build/workarounds.xml -> build/compiz-workarounds.schema
compiling : workarounds.c -> build/workarounds.loworkarounds.c: En la función ‘updateUrgencyState’:
workarounds.c:284: error: ‘CompWindow’ no tiene un miembro llamado ‘hints’
workarounds.c:284: error: ‘CompWindow’ no tiene un miembro llamado ‘hints’
make: *** [build/workarounds.lo] Error 1
(Under gentoo linux)...

Cheers... ;-)
cpasoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA Responds to Reports of Kepler V-Sync Stuttering Issue Rieper NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 13 03-03-13 11:56 PM
GTX670 Quad SLI issue candle_86 NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 12 07-09-12 10:18 PM
Intel's Ivy Bridge Core i7 3770K Overheating Issue Detailed News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 11:40 AM
[Bug Report] Xid error after resume with 307.02, and compiz stops working. John K. NVIDIA Linux 0 05-09-12 03:42 PM
PC Gamer UK June issue: Company of Heroes 2 reveal plus FREE original Company of Hero News Archived News Items 0 05-09-12 07:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.