Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

View Poll Results: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?
Yes! 114 95.80%
No! 5 4.20%
Voters: 119. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-08-09, 02:52 PM   #49
Mostrapotski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Default Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?

Bumping this, once again. I m not expecting a solution, even not a workaround, just waiting for a announcement from nv for this real problem.
Mostrapotski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-09, 06:18 PM   #50
dk75
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 171
Default Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?

second that

bump
__________________
  • Linux Debian Sid x86_64/ 3.2.0
  • Lenovo T61p
  • NVIDIA driver 295.33
  • Xorg/XServer 7.6+12/1.11.4
  • GNOME 3.2.2
dk75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-09, 11:06 PM   #51
kantlivelong
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 48
Default Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?

BUMP

Yeah a comment/announcement from NV team would be nice.
kantlivelong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-09, 11:51 AM   #52
skektek
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
Default Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?

Hell yeah. Its my hardware, I want to control it!
skektek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-09, 01:52 PM   #53
gargoylle_ltk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 8
Default Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?

I voted "YES" because:

(1) on my machine powermizer causes X to freeze when scaling the frequency down. Something as stupid and mundane as scrolling in Firefox (yes, in the year of our lord 2009 the driver apparently needs to overclock the video card to handle this) and then idling for a while will cause this. I have tried multiple kernel/Xorg/nvidia-drivers combinations, always the same result (at least Xorg 1.4 and 1.5, kernel 2.6.25->2.6.28, nvidia-drivers 177.xx->180.29). I've even started a thread here but I got no replies. Only fix for this was to use the "RegistryDwords='PerfLevelSrc=0x2222'" trick (in modprobe.conf, xorg.conf didn't seem to work last time I tried)
(2) my system will actually spontaneously enter suspend-to-RAM mode when using OpenGL-intensive applications - reproduced with WoW running in Wine but also with something as simple as glxgears. While this may be caused by my card being somehow faulty it does only happen in Linux, Windows isn't affected by this problem. Again, I've posted a thread here (complete with nvidia-bug-report.sh output attached) but got no response. I suspect this is somehow caused by Kernel ACPI/PowerMizer interaction. The only way to work around this was to disable suspend-to-RAM support in the kernel - not a "Good Thing" (tm) considering my system is a laptop.

At least I'm happy that I can now use KDE 4 properly - it feels amazingly 'snappy' on my mobile 8600 GT (the first time I tried it on my desktop 8800 GTX I got less FPS than in Crysis). I just wish Nvidia were more open about what goes on behind the scenes and give us updates more often.
gargoylle_ltk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-09, 07:26 AM   #54
Mostrapotski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Default Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?

Loreal, because you deserve it.

kern 2.6.27.19-3.2-default
opensuse 11.1
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.log.zip (29.4 KB, 94 views)
Mostrapotski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-09, 06:00 PM   #55
Mostrapotski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Default Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?

Why the hell am i the only one bumping this ?

Still waiting for an announcement !
Attached Files
File Type: zip nvidia-bug-report.log.zip (29.4 KB, 190 views)
Mostrapotski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-09, 01:51 AM   #56
upstaked
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mostrapotski View Post
Why the hell am i the only one bumping this ?
Because bumping a forum thread is just as lame as using a forum as bug tracker.
__________________
A bitter future former nVidia owner.
upstaked is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-13-09, 03:09 PM   #57
TheBlackCat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 84
Default Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?

Perhaps if Nvidia was willing to tell us something, anything, about what is going on here people wouldn't be quite so pushy about it. But so far they have told us nothing, despite at least one developer being fairly active on this forum. I can understand people getting pretty frustrated with this. The thread talking about powermizer being broken in 180.11 dates back to December, but here we are in the middle of March and we know no more about what is going on with this than we did back then.
TheBlackCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-09, 04:33 PM   #58
Mostrapotski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Default Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?

And btw the problem is older than 180.11, ...
__________________
nvdevs, would you please fix the powermizer issue ?
my bug report.

Hope makes ppl leaving, i m beginning to leave too much.
Mostrapotski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-09, 12:03 AM   #59
GIDZzz
Plague Rat
 
GIDZzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
Default Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?

It has never worked, to be precise. It's as old as the support (support? hmm...) for 8800M GTX, which was introduced somewhere in 169 series drivers.
Also, I see no improvements regarding this matter in the freshly released 185.13.
GIDZzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-09, 05:05 PM   #60
Mostrapotski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 24
Default Re: Should there be an option to disable Powermizer?

Mutual, 185.13 is not fixing this yet.
__________________
nvdevs, would you please fix the powermizer issue ?
my bug report.

Hope makes ppl leaving, i m beginning to leave too much.
Mostrapotski is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Redhat 8.0 NVIDIA works - INSTRUCTIONS STEEL1 NVIDIA Linux 267 04-15-03 07:48 PM
TwinView in RedHat 8 nerfherder64 NVIDIA Linux 5 10-07-02 08:19 PM
Xtacy t14600, Redhat 7.3.. X but no logo. Rob C. NVIDIA Linux 8 08-12-02 10:28 AM
Dual Display with main CRT, and secondary TV-out BlackDogg NVIDIA Linux 3 08-10-02 10:52 AM
RedHAT didn't like nVidia GeForce 4 MX 440 alfa2k1 NVIDIA Linux 13 08-09-02 06:06 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.