Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-14-09, 10:12 AM   #25
olifre
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 50
Default Re: Redraw issue with compiz.

With strict binding and Direct Rendering, Compiz is still slow for me, too (185.13, GeForce 8600 M GT). However, with loose binding, it appears to have become faster ;-).
olifre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-09, 11:43 AM   #26
Dragoran
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 711
Default Re: Redraw issue with compiz.

Quote:
Originally Posted by olifre View Post
With strict binding and Direct Rendering, Compiz is still slow for me, too (185.13, GeForce 8600 M GT). However, with loose binding, it appears to have become faster ;-).
OK, so it seems that they just fixed VDPAU + strict-bindings.
(285 GTX + 3.8ghz core i7 so I might not notice what you call "slow", while with older drivers running vdpau was very slow when compiz was running with strict bindings)
Dragoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-09, 12:02 PM   #27
Dragoran
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 711
Default Re: Redraw issue with compiz.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoran View Post
OK, so it seems that they just fixed VDPAU + strict-bindings.
(285 GTX + 3.8ghz core i7 so I might not notice what you call "slow", while with older drivers running vdpau was very slow when compiz was running with strict bindings)
Well however I have backported maniac103's patch to the fedora packages, should be in updates(-testing) soon.
Dragoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-09, 06:01 PM   #28
philipl
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 116
Default Re: Redraw issue with compiz.

Strict-binding is certainly more usable but seems to consume about twice as much CPU as loose-binding (5% idle vs 2% and 40% active vs 20%) and I see the frame rate drop in situations where loose binding stays maxed at the refresh rate. Unless you've got a beefy CPU and GPU, it's probably still not an option.
__________________
--phil
philipl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-09, 03:17 AM   #29
maniac103
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 20
Default Re: Redraw issue with compiz.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpasoft View Post
Yeeeep... I've been able to compile it doing the revert instead of download the snapshot of the link that you have posted it..
Uh, yeah, I added the hints handling between 0.7.8 and 0.8.0. So you need to revert that commit if you are using < 0.8.0. Sorry for the confusion.
maniac103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-09, 08:41 AM   #30
cpasoft
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Default Re: Redraw issue with compiz.

Quote:
Originally Posted by maniac103 View Post
Uh, yeah, I added the hints handling between 0.7.8 and 0.8.0. So you need to revert that commit if you are using < 0.8.0. Sorry for the confusion.
Don't worry... It's working right now...

Thanks one more time...

Hope this could help some one else... :-)
cpasoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-09, 05:07 PM   #31
epsilon72
Gentoo User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 65
Default Re: Redraw issue with compiz.

You know what's strange? Over the past few days I did a reformat/reinstall of my desktop and switched to a gnome/compiz-fusion setup, and without patching the workarounds plugin compiz runs just fine.
This is with the 180.29 drivers and a 8800gt.
epsilon72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-09, 06:25 PM   #32
ledoc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 330
Default Re: Redraw issue with compiz.

Did you update the xserver? (if yes, from to?)
ledoc is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 03-17-09, 07:03 PM   #33
epsilon72
Gentoo User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 65
Default Re: Redraw issue with compiz.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ledoc View Post
Did you update the xserver? (if yes, from to?)
Actually, I've found that it does start exhibiting the problem, only that it takes a lot longer for it to show up.
epsilon72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-09, 02:50 AM   #34
maniac103
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 20
Default Re: Redraw issue with compiz.

Quote:
Originally Posted by epsilon72 View Post
Actually, I've found that it does start exhibiting the problem, only that it takes a lot longer for it to show up.
The problem is timing related, that's why there are certain applications (e.g. openoffice, evolution, firefox, thunderbird) which expose the problem way more prominently than others.
maniac103 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-09, 11:02 AM   #35
cpasoft
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Default Re: Redraw issue with compiz.

Quote:
Originally Posted by maniac103 View Post
The problem is timing related, that's why there are certain applications (e.g. openoffice, evolution, firefox, thunderbird) which expose the problem way more prominently than others.
I agree with that... Into an gnome-terminal, the first minutes works well, but when you use a terminal editor (vi, joe, or something like that) you can see fail very quick...

Now, with workarounds I have not fail until now...
cpasoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-09, 01:53 PM   #36
niczar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: Redraw issue with compiz.

Thanks a lot maniac103, it looks like your workaround is included in FC10's compiz 0.8.3, I just had to enable it in ccsm (just had to know about it ...)
niczar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NVIDIA Responds to Reports of Kepler V-Sync Stuttering Issue Rieper NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 13 03-03-13 10:56 PM
GTX670 Quad SLI issue candle_86 NVIDIA GeForce 600 Series 12 07-09-12 09:18 PM
Intel's Ivy Bridge Core i7 3770K Overheating Issue Detailed News Archived News Items 0 05-16-12 10:40 AM
[Bug Report] Xid error after resume with 307.02, and compiz stops working. John K. NVIDIA Linux 0 05-09-12 02:42 PM
PC Gamer UK June issue: Company of Heroes 2 reveal plus FREE original Company of Hero News Archived News Items 0 05-09-12 06:30 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.