Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-15-09, 10:25 AM   #1
mcolbourn
Time waits for no man!
 
mcolbourn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 736
Default AHCI should I use it or not

Guys

I neeed to re-install Windows and want to know If I should set my bios to use AHCI or IDE mode. ATM I am using IDE mode but have read up on AHCI and find that it supports features thats may increase preformance of my drive etc

So does anyone have any experiance of AHCI and would you recomend it or not?
__________________
CPU : Intel Core i7 920 @ 4 Ghz - MOBO : Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R - RAM : Corsair Vengeance 12GB DDR3 PC3-12800 - GPU : Power Color 6970
HD : Crucial m4 128gb (SSD),1TB Samsung F3 & 1TB Samsung F1 - Sound Card : ASUS Xonar DG - Speakers : Logitech Z523 - PSU : CORSAIR Gold AX750 Case : CM 690 II Advanced - Display : Hazro HZ27WC
mcolbourn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-09, 10:36 AM   #2
walterman
Rayne
 
walterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,525
Default Re: AHCI should I use it or not

Sometimes, the drive performs slower, or there are some compatibility issues. You should try in your system yourself. In my system, i noticed about better sustained disc transfer speeds when using several seeks (writting & reading several files at the same time).
__________________
ASUS Rampage Formula X48 | Xeon 3350 @ 3.6 GHz (450x8/1.26v) | 4x1GB OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Reaper CL3 @ 900 MHz 3-4-4-15 | 1 x eVGA GTX 285 SSC | 1 x ASUS EN8800GTX (PhysX/CUDA -> Burnt by nVidia 196.75 driver) | X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty PCIe | 1 x Intel X25-M G2 80GB | 2 x 750GB WD RE2 7500AYYS SATA2 16MB | Samsung SH-B083L SATA | Enermax Revolution 1250W | Samsung SyncMaster 275T 27" 1920x1200 | Thermaltake Black Armor | BloodRayne 2 FSAA Patch
walterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-09, 12:01 PM   #3
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: AHCI should I use it or not

like walterman, sometimes it works better sometimes not. AHCI particularly doesn't like older optical drives.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-09, 12:35 PM   #4
OldOfEvil
Parrots + Xanax =
 
OldOfEvil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 662
Default Re: AHCI should I use it or not

Its handy to use if you have newer HD, you get support for hot swap-ability and such.
__________________
i5 3570k | Sabertooth z77 | GTX 680 (320.49) | 16GB DDR2 | Win7 x64 Pro
OldOfEvil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-09, 10:00 AM   #5
logan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 492
Default Re: AHCI should I use it or not

I have two external enclosures used for backups and the only way I could use eSATA without having them an all the time was by enabling AHCI on ICH9R. My SATA DVD won't reliably boot or burn in AHCI, fortunately I have a Marvell SATA controller on my motherboard and just use that. I've since bought an internal 4 bay hot-swap enclosure and it works well. My system was almost completely unusable during the first software mdadm raid5 rebuild/verify, but disabling NCQ helped.
logan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft AHCI Driver and SSD Phyre General Hardware 3 06-09-12 12:45 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.