Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > General Software

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-12-03, 08:34 PM   #1
bkswaney
Mr. Extreme!
 
bkswaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 3,421
Send a message via Yahoo to bkswaney
Question Folding and cpu usage

I was wondering if this is suppose to be like this.... I have folding cpu usage wide open but my PC only shows 50% load.

Do any of u guys using a new HT P4 and fold? What r u reading?
I know it does not slow me down any leaving it running.
Dang this rig must have a lot of HP.
__________________
Notebook!
Compaq Presario CQ60-215DX
AMD 64 Athlon X2 @ 2GHz (QL62)
15.6 inch HD WideScreen
Nvidia 8200M-G 895mb
2Gig system ram
250Gig SATA 5400rpm HDrive
Vista Premium
bkswaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-03, 09:11 PM   #2
StealthHawk
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Are you using the Windows(GUI) client or the console version?
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-03, 09:14 PM   #3
bkswaney
Mr. Extreme!
 
bkswaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 3,421
Send a message via Yahoo to bkswaney
Default

Windows and console.

Both run at 50 load when set to 100%.
I'm guessing it has something to do with HT on the new P4's.
Heck I cannot even tell it's running. This new rig is a real work horse.
Hope I can do my part to help out. No need to let all with cpu power go to waste.

Last edited by bkswaney; 09-13-03 at 02:13 AM.
bkswaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-03, 01:51 PM   #4
schuey74
GTX 280 (675/1458/2500)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: South Florida
Posts: 819
Default

I run SETI and I noticed the same thing when I built my new hyperthreading system. It does indeed only show 50% usage when SETI is running and I actually play games/run demos while SETI is running without any hiccups.
schuey74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-03, 10:00 PM   #5
bkswaney
Mr. Extreme!
 
bkswaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: SC
Posts: 3,421
Send a message via Yahoo to bkswaney
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by schuey74
I run SETI and I noticed the same thing when I built my new hyperthreading system. It does indeed only show 50% usage when SETI is running and I actually play games/run demos while SETI is running without any hiccups.
I know it's cool.
I mutitask like mad and this is the first rig I've ever built that handles it this well. Heck you can hardly stall the dang thing.
bkswaney is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.