Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-11-09, 03:12 PM   #13
Stephen Warren
Moderator
 
Stephen Warren's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,327
Default Re: vdpau problem - can't play 1080

Yes, that probably means that indirect rendering is being used for some reason.
Stephen Warren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-09, 04:05 PM   #14
keyser7777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: vdpau problem - can't play 1080

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Warren View Post
Yes, that probably means that indirect rendering is being used for some reason.
Yes, I can confirm that it's kwin blame. I've tested video play with compiz enabled and it works great, extremely low cpu usage. However, I don't know how to debug kwin, there's no output using:

Code:
kwin --replace
I'll ask around on kde forum how can one check if kwin is really using DRI.
keyser7777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-09, 04:16 PM   #15
Dragoran
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 711
Default Re: vdpau problem - can't play 1080

It could be related to the way kwin binds/rebinds textures ... if it is calling glBindTexture for every texture (aka strict-binding in compiz) its known to be slow on G80+.
Dragoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-09, 08:07 AM   #16
Dragoran
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 711
Default Re: vdpau problem - can't play 1080

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoran View Post
It could be related to the way kwin binds/rebinds textures ... if it is calling glBindTexture for every texture (aka strict-binding in compiz) its known to be slow on G80+.
If this is the case it should be fixed in 185.13
Dragoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-09, 10:52 AM   #17
keyser7777
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: vdpau problem - can't play 1080

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoran View Post
If this is the case it should be fixed in 185.13
Thanks for your suggestion.

I've just installed 185.13, but unfortunately that doesn't solved the problem.
keyser7777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-09, 03:01 AM   #18
openmedia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 33
Default Re: vdpau problem - can't play 1080

Just tried some 1080i video with 185.13 and my 8400M GS 256M laptop.

I don't have a 1080 screen and the video doesn't scale. I just get a blank video output and the following

MPlayer SVN-r29150-4.3.2 (C) 2000-2009 MPlayer Team
mplayer: could not connect to socket
mplayer: No such file or directory
Failed to open LIRC support. You will not be able to use your remote control.

Playing dvb://TV3.
dvb_tune Freq: 570000000
TS file format detected.
VIDEO H264(pid=450) AUDIO A52(pid=410) NO SUBS (yet)! PROGRAM N. 1300
FPS seems to be: 25.000000
================================================== ========================
Forced video codec: ffh264vdpau
Opening video decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg's libavcodec codec family
[VD_FFMPEG] XVMC-accelerated MPEG-2.
Selected video codec: [ffh264vdpau] vfm: ffmpeg (FFmpeg H.264 (VDPAU))
================================================== ========================
================================================== ========================
Opening audio decoder: [liba52] AC3 decoding with liba52
Using SSE optimized IMDCT transform
Using MMX optimized resampler
AUDIO: 48000 Hz, 2 ch, s16le, 384.0 kbit/25.00% (ratio: 48000->192000)
Selected audio codec: [a52] afm: liba52 (AC3-liba52)
================================================== ========================
AO: [oss] 48000Hz 2ch s16le (2 bytes per sample)
Starting playback...
[VD_FFMPEG] XVMC-accelerated MPEG-2.
VDec: vo config request - 1920 x 1080 (preferred colorspace: H.264 VDPAU acceleration)
VDec: using H.264 VDPAU acceleration as output csp (no 0)
Movie-Aspect is 1.78:1 - prescaling to correct movie aspect.
VO: [vdpau] 1920x1080 => 1920x1080 H.264 VDPAU acceleration
[ASPECT] Warning: No suitable new res found!
[h264_vdpau @ 0xca84a0]number of reference frames exceeds max (probably corrupt input), discarding one
[h264_vdpau @ 0xca84a0]number of reference frames exceeds max (probably corrupt input), discarding one
[h264_vdpau @ 0xca84a0]number of reference frames exceeds max (probably corrupt input), discarding one
[h264_vdpau @ 0xca84a0]number of reference frames exceeds max (probably corrupt input), discarding one
[h264_vdpau @ 0xca84a0]number of reference frames exceeds max (probably corrupt input), discarding one
[h264_vdpau @ 0xca84a0]number of reference frames exceeds max (probably corrupt input), discarding one
[h264_vdpau @ 0xca84a0]number of reference frames exceeds max (probably corrupt input), discarding one
openmedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-09, 04:55 AM   #19
cehoyos
FFmpeg developer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 467
Default Re: vdpau problem - can't play 1080

Quote:
Originally Posted by openmedia View Post
Just tried some 1080i video with 185.13 and my 8400M GS 256M laptop.

I don't have a 1080 screen and the video doesn't scale. I just get a blank video output and the following
I believe I don't understand the word "blank" here. Do you mean you get no video, but a huge window that never changes?

Does mplayer dvb://TV3 -vc ffh264 work fine? But mplayer dvb://TV3 -vc ffh264vdpau -vo vdpau does not work (=no video)?
In this case, please post the complete, uncut output of
mplayer -v -vo vdpau -vc ffh264vdpau dvb://TV3

Carl Eugen
cehoyos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-09, 07:02 PM   #20
openmedia
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 33
Default Re: vdpau problem - can't play 1080

I've just tried a new test, this time running lxde as the desktop manager to make sure I've got no compiz and minimal system load.

~/SVN/mplayer/mplayer -v -vo vdpau -vc ffh264vdpau dvb://TV3 &> vdpau.tv3.log

This is a live 1080i H.264 stream with dual AC3 and HE-AAC Audio streams and I'm using mplayer r29150

By blank video I mean that no video is shown. The laptop has a 8400M GS Graphics Chip and a 1440x900 resolution display.

I've no issues with 720p streams and VDPAU, and the CPU isn't fast enough to play the 1080i streams with ffmpeg's software decoder.

Steve
Attached Files
File Type: log vdpau.tv3.log (105.8 KB, 77 views)

Last edited by openmedia; 04-12-09 at 07:09 PM. Reason: More detail and correct attachment
openmedia is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-13-09, 03:19 AM   #21
cehoyos
FFmpeg developer
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 467
Default Re: vdpau problem - can't play 1080

Quote:
Originally Posted by openmedia View Post
~/SVN/mplayer/mplayer -v -vo vdpau -vc ffh264vdpau dvb://TV3 &> vdpau.tv3.log
This is the first error message and, unfortunately, there is not much I can do (how much memory has your 8400M GS?)
Code:
[vdpau] Error when calling vdp_video_surface_create: The system does not have enough resources to complete the requested operation at this time.
Note that you could still submit a complete NVIDIA bugreport here as explained in the sticky to let Stephen confirm that this actually is a memory problem.
Quote:
I've no issues with 720p streams and VDPAU, and the CPU isn't fast enough to play the 1080i streams with ffmpeg's software decoder.
Are you sure?
Please try -lavdopts skiploopfilter=all:skipframe=nonref

Carl Eugen
cehoyos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-09, 10:40 AM   #22
ChoK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Default Re: vdpau problem - can't play 1080

I've reported the problem to kwin developpers herehttp://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=188946
ChoK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xorg locks-up with newest nvidia drivers w/ vdpau. theroot NVIDIA Linux 1 06-24-12 11:04 AM
Rockstar condemns Max Payne 3 cheaters to play only against each other News Gaming Headlines 0 06-13-12 06:20 PM
Post working out problem with 40.xx trying to work problem out, ONLY system specs b5fan NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 11 10-19-02 09:17 AM
Screen flash briefly problem tamahome NVIDIA Windows Graphics Drivers 8 09-19-02 12:07 PM
Nvidia Go on laptop, black border within XFree86 problem raxip NVIDIA Linux 3 07-31-02 10:58 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.