Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-08-04, 10:03 PM   #1
p'bert
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1
Default Failed To Initialize Ndivia Device!

FX5900
EP-K9A2+
XP1700+

i have had a problem with this ever since i tried to first use linux, i have tried this with mandrake 9.1, 9.1 and no 10 and still get the same error. there is no problem, i think, with the loading of the kernel module like most people have instead, well read bellow. nvidia drivers compile themselves successfuily from my 2.6 source files but it's only when i change nv to nvidia in XF86Config-4 that i get this error i have tried many different module options but still get the same error, i have included the error log and config file for your browsing, i hope you can help

(II) Setting vga for screen 0.
(II) Loading sub module "vgahw"
(II) LoadModule: "vgahw"
(II) Loading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/libvgahw.a
(II) Module vgahw: vendor="The XFree86 Project"
compiled for 4.3.0.1, module version = 0.1.0
ABI class: XFree86 Video Driver, version 0.6
(**) NVIDIA(0): Depth 24, (--) framebuffer bpp 32
(==) NVIDIA(0): RGB weight 888
(==) NVIDIA(0): Default visual is TrueColor
(==) NVIDIA(0): Using gamma correction (1.0, 1.0, 1.0)
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "NvAGP" "1"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Option "IgnoreEDID" "1"
(**) NVIDIA(0): Use of NVIDIA internal AGP requested
(**) NVIDIA(0): Ignoring EDIDs
(--) NVIDIA(0): Linear framebuffer at 0xD0000000
(--) NVIDIA(0): MMIO registers at 0xD8000000
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA graphics device!
(EE) NVIDIA(0): *** Aborting ***
(II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
(II) UnloadModule: "vgahw"
(II) Unloading /usr/X11R6/lib/modules/libvgahw.a
(EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

Fatal server error:
no screens found

i've tried it with and without all of the extentions (option nvagp, option ignoreedid etc.) and it still gets the same error. i have even tried using my old geforce 3 ti200 and the same message still pops up. i am about to try a different monitor but i doubt it will work. my monitor is recognised when using NV but not NVIDIA... otherwise i would not be seeing this message as i type it.

S.O.S.

phil

My XF86Config-4 file

Section "Module"
Load "dbe" # Double-Buffering Extension
Load "v4l" # Video for Linux
Load "extmod"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
# Load "glx"
# Load "/usr/X11R6/lib/modules/extensions/libglx.so"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard1"
Driver "Keyboard"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "en_US"
Option "XkbOptions" ""
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "monitor1"
VendorName "Hitachi, Ltd."
ModelName "Hitachi CM721F"
HorizSync 31.0-95.0
VertRefresh 50.0-120.0

# Sony Vaio C1(X,XS,VE,VN)?
# 1024x480 @ 85.6 Hz, 48 kHz hsync
ModeLine "1024x480" 65.00 1024 1032 1176 1344 480 488 494 563 -hsync -vsync

# TV fullscreen mode or DVD fullscreen output.
# 768x576 @ 79 Hz, 50 kHz hsync
ModeLine "768x576" 50.00 768 832 846 1000 576 590 595 630

# 768x576 @ 100 Hz, 61.6 kHz hsync
ModeLine "768x576" 63.07 768 800 960 1024 576 578 590 616
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "device1"
VendorName "nVidia Corporation"
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce FX (generic)"
Driver "nvidia"
# BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
Option "DPMS"
# Option "NvAGP" "1"
# Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT"
# Option "IgnoreEDID" "1"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "screen1"
Device "device1"
Monitor "monitor1"
DefaultColorDepth 24

Subsection "Display"
Depth 8
Virtual 1280 1024
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 15
Virtual 1280 1024
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Virtual 1280 1024
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Virtual 1280 1024
EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "layout1"
InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
Screen "screen1"
EndSection
p'bert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-04, 12:46 AM   #2
whig
550Ti
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 854
Default Re: Failed To Initialize Ndivia Device!

You need the glx module, uncomment it.
whig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-04, 02:04 PM   #3
LordMorgul
Electrical Engineer
 
LordMorgul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 872
Default Re: Failed To Initialize Ndivia Device!

Quote:
Originally Posted by p'bert
FX5900
EP-K9A2+
XP1700+
<snip>
(EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA graphics device!
(EE) NVIDIA(0): *** Aborting ***
(II) UnloadModule: "nvidia"
If the module loads cleanly with modprobe nvidia then the problem may be hardware dependent on the motherboard chipset combined with that video card. Post more details about them, including BIOS revision and video card manufacturer/model # and the video bios revision. While this may not help you fix the problem.. it might help nVIDIA fix it. (you should see video bios revision in /proc/driver/nvidia/cards/0)

Try other kernels, both newer and older, specifically making sure you try kernels that do not have agpgart builtin (should be built as a module).
__________________
"..the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." (Edmond Burke)
nVIDIA video driver RPMs for Fedora :: see yum repo at livna.org.
LordMorgul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-09, 10:54 PM   #4
heavymetaler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Default Re: Failed To Initialize Ndivia Device!

I'm having this same issue after installing an additional PCI tv-tuner device.

I have a 7300GT PCI-E x16

The nv driver works fine through the card so it's not like it got wiggled/unseated or something.

http://pastebin.ca/1393474
heavymetaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-09, 11:17 PM   #5
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: Failed To Initialize Ndivia Device!

Please see http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=46678 for information on how to report a bug (the information you provided is insufficient to diagnose the problem).
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-09, 11:30 PM   #6
heavymetaler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Default Re: Failed To Initialize Ndivia Device!

I also tried using 180.44 from the ftp site as well as 185.19.

My guess is these are the problems...
Apr 15 22:12:45 arodd-desktop kernel: [ 94.080094] allocation failed: out of vmalloc space - use vmalloc=<size> to increase size.
Apr 15 22:16:41 arodd-desktop kernel: [ 330.363868] allocation failed: out of vmalloc space - use vmalloc=<size> to increase size.

Apr 15 21:46:34 arodd-desktop kernel: [ 14.139811] NVRM: loading NVIDIA UNIX x86 Kernel Module 180.11 Wed Nov 26 10:53:26 PST 2008
Apr 15 21:46:48 arodd-desktop kernel: [ 39.622952] NVRM: failed to map registers!!
Apr 15 21:46:48 arodd-desktop kernel: [ 39.622955] NVRM: RmInitAdapter failed! (0x10:0x32:1359)
Apr 15 21:46:48 arodd-desktop kernel: [ 39.622958] NVRM: rm_init_adapter(0) failed
Apr 15 21:44:59 arodd-desktop kernel: [ 304.476196] NVRM: request_mem_region failed for 16M @ 0xde000000. This can
Apr 15 21:44:59 arodd-desktop kernel: [ 304.476197] NVRM: occur when a driver such as rivatv is loaded and claims
Apr 15 22:05:26 arodd-desktop kernel: [ 143.863620] NVRM: loading NVIDIA UNIX x86 Kernel Module 180.44 Mon Mar 23 14:59:10 PST 2009
Apr 15 22:05:26 arodd-desktop kernel: [ 143.867870] NVRM: failed to map registers!!
Apr 15 22:05:26 arodd-desktop kernel: [ 143.867878] NVRM: RmInitAdapter failed! (0x10:0x32:1351)
Apr 15 22:05:26 arodd-desktop kernel: [ 143.867883] NVRM: rm_init_adapter(0) failed

The part mentioning rivatv is interesting as i've just added an additional tuner card but it is of the cx18 driver variety(HVR-1600).
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (38.3 KB, 96 views)
heavymetaler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-09, 11:33 PM   #7
zander
NVIDIA Corporation
 
zander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,740
Default Re: Failed To Initialize Ndivia Device!

@heavymetaler: the vmalloc problem is documented in the README, please see http://us.download.nvidia.com/XFree8...kva_exhaustion.
zander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-09, 11:38 PM   #8
heavymetaler
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 9
Default Re: Failed To Initialize Ndivia Device!

doh, I usually RTFM in general but have never had an issue with the nvidia drivers so I don't typically read into it unless it's like new feature specific(VDPAU/etc.)

I'll try those recommendations and see if that resolves. Adding an additional dual tuner driver into memory at boot must have tipped it over the 128m edge.

Edit: 192M did the trick... Thanks!!!!
heavymetaler is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Regression with 295.33 and GeForce GT 240 maro NVIDIA Linux 16 06-29-12 07:47 PM
Redhat 8.0 NVIDIA works - INSTRUCTIONS STEEL1 NVIDIA Linux 267 04-15-03 07:48 PM
X Failed to load NVdriver c00lr4c3r NVIDIA Linux 13 10-22-02 02:44 PM
Red Hat 7.3, tarred 2960 download, NVdriver failed to initialize SparceMatrix NVIDIA Linux 7 09-10-02 01:02 AM
Undefined Device Error - Can't startx linuxdave NVIDIA Linux 2 08-07-02 04:28 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.