Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-19-09, 06:13 PM   #1
Dreamweavernoob
Desperate code
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 790
Default Getting audio from laptop to Z-5500

Is this possible? I wish to output 5.1 audio to my speakers (z-5500) and hopefully run the image on a big tv.

my laptop has HDMI port with 3450 graphics card.
__________________
If you attack a prostitute, is it rape or merely shoplifting?
Dreamweavernoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-09, 11:42 PM   #2
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Getting audio from laptop to Z-5500

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamweavernoob View Post
Is this possible? I wish to output 5.1 audio to my speakers (z-5500) and hopefully run the image on a big tv.

my laptop has HDMI port with 3450 graphics card.
If the TV has digital out (either optical or coaxial) you should be able to run HDMI to the TV and digital out to your Z-5500.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-09, 10:54 AM   #3
Dreamweavernoob
Desperate code
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 790
Default Re: Getting audio from laptop to Z-5500

It dosent -_-

Bugger.

I want to get a new tv but im unsure if 3D is going to be the new standard soon
__________________
If you attack a prostitute, is it rape or merely shoplifting?
Dreamweavernoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-09, 05:44 PM   #4
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Getting audio from laptop to Z-5500

3D? As in 3D TV?! LOL Long way off my friend.

You can run the HDMI to TV, then settle for stereo on your Z-5500s OR get a laptop/USB sound card with 5.1 analogue out OR digital out. Most Creative laptop sound cards would be ideal.

Also note not ALL TVs support routing digital audio from HDMI out through it's own Optical/Co-ax options.
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-09, 01:08 AM   #5
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Getting audio from laptop to Z-5500

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
Also note not ALL TVs support routing digital audio from HDMI out through it's own Optical/Co-ax options.
Yeah I was just thinking of this, since it sort of defeats the purpose of HDCP if you pass it through to a non-HDCP interface.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-09, 03:36 PM   #6
Dreamweavernoob
Desperate code
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 790
Default Re: Getting audio from laptop to Z-5500



Might give my speakers to my family. Bastard things.
__________________
If you attack a prostitute, is it rape or merely shoplifting?
Dreamweavernoob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-09, 12:54 AM   #7
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Getting audio from laptop to Z-5500

try external sound card, thats what i am using.

one of these things, really solid and simple solution. dont know if they still sell 'em. I got mine like 5 or 6 years ago.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800 GT: audio on TV with a DVI(PC) to HDMI(TV) cable? legluondunet NVIDIA Linux 0 06-23-12 08:58 AM
Upgrade from 290.10 to 295.49 on GeForce 8300 = no hdmi audio + overscan tbubel NVIDIA Linux 2 06-15-12 04:55 AM
302.11 driver only allows native resolution settings of laptop DFP darinmiller NVIDIA Linux 2 05-30-12 04:45 PM
Bohooo HELP, new Nforce 1.13 Audio Utilities won INITIALIZE nanyangview CPUs, Motherboards And Memory 1 09-04-02 08:40 PM
Nvidia Go on laptop, black border within XFree86 problem raxip NVIDIA Linux 3 07-31-02 11:58 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.