Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > General Hardware

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-27-09, 01:23 PM   #1
de><ta
prodigy
 
de><ta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA, NY
Posts: 1,100
Default DVI->HDMI quality issues

At present I am using a 1080p HDTV as a computer monitor and I recently tried using a DVI to HDMI adapter to connect to it from my PC. It looked like crap, it was blurry and pixelated as hell.

After a lot of tweaking it looks decent, but the text still does not look nearly as good as the VGA output.

Am I doing something wrong? Or is there a way I can get a sharp and clear image onto my HDTV using HDMI.
__________________
IBM T60p | Intel Core 2 Duo T7200 | 2GB PC2-5300 | ATi M X1700 256MB | 100GB 7200rpm SATA

///m-powered | Intel i7 920 | EVGA x58 | 6GB DD3 1600 | EVGA GTX 285 SSC | 150GB VelociRaptor

Drag racing is for fast cars. Autocrossing is for fast drivers.
de><ta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-09, 01:27 PM   #2
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: DVI->HDMI quality issues

Similar setup here (DVI PC-HDMI TV). I have problems if I set up the screen in the windows thing, but not if I use the NVidia CP.

Hope this helps .

EDIT: Where on the cable is your adapter; On the PC end or the TV end?
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-09, 01:45 PM   #3
de><ta
prodigy
 
de><ta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA, NY
Posts: 1,100
Default Re: DVI->HDMI quality issues

Not sure if I have the Nvidia Control Panel installed, however I will download it and try it out tonight.

I have the adapter on the PC end from DVI to HDMI. At first I thought it was a problem with my monitor, since it works great with a VGA input.

Thanks anyway, will let you know how it goes.
__________________
IBM T60p | Intel Core 2 Duo T7200 | 2GB PC2-5300 | ATi M X1700 256MB | 100GB 7200rpm SATA

///m-powered | Intel i7 920 | EVGA x58 | 6GB DD3 1600 | EVGA GTX 285 SSC | 150GB VelociRaptor

Drag racing is for fast cars. Autocrossing is for fast drivers.
de><ta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-09, 02:13 PM   #4
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: DVI->HDMI quality issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by de><ta View Post
Not sure if I have the Nvidia Control Panel installed, however I will download it and try it out tonight.

I have the adapter on the PC end from DVI to HDMI. At first I thought it was a problem with my monitor, since it works great with a VGA input.

Thanks anyway, will let you know how it goes.
No need to install anything, just right-click on the desktop and click on 'NVIDIA Control Panel' . Also, it sounds like you've got it wired the same as me.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-09, 02:47 PM   #5
ASUSEN7900GTX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,646
Default Re: DVI->HDMI quality issues

i know if i use any other resolution than 1360X768 my screen looks **** but at the native rez it is as good as a PC-monitor would bw wierd that 1080p tvs does that
__________________
Intel I7 920
gigabyte HD6970 2gb
6GB DDR3
Asus P6t deluxe V2

"be to others as you want others to be against you"
some wiseass came up with it
ASUSEN7900GTX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-09, 02:57 PM   #6
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: DVI->HDMI quality issues

on my tv i have to set the "sharpness" to the right settings other wise text is not readable.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-09, 07:47 PM   #7
zarlaan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 57
Default Re: DVI->HDMI quality issues

Double check your TV manual for the inputs. Some TV's require that you connect a PC to a certain input.

For example I have the Samsung LN450A LCD. I'm running a DVI-HDMI cable but I have to use the HDMI input 2 as it's designed for computer input. Using this input also enables me to run 1920x1080 resolution even though the tv is only a 720p.
zarlaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-09, 09:28 AM   #8
hokeyplyr48
hooah
 
hokeyplyr48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina
Posts: 755
Send a message via AIM to hokeyplyr48
Default Re: DVI->HDMI quality issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by zarlaan View Post
Using this input also enables me to run 1920x1080 resolution even though the tv is only a 720p.
uhhhh using hdmi 2 makes more pixels???
__________________
Main Rig:
CPU:Q6600 @ 3.5 w/ Ultra 120 extreme|| RAM: 4x2GB G. Skill || Motherboard: ABIT IP35 Pro || VideoCard: eVGA 260GTX & 7200GS for triple monitoring || Sound Card: Creative X-FI xtremegamer || Hard Drive: 2 x 150GB Raptor in RAID 0 (OS and Program Files) | 1 x 150GB Raptor (User Drive) | 1 x WD 2TB HD SATA II | 1 x 1TB Seagate | 1 x WD 500 GB HD SATA II | 1 x Seagate 400 GB HD SATA II | 1 x WD 160 GB HD IDE (slow, only for storage) || Monitor: Dell 30" 3007WFP LCD, Acer 22" widescreen, & Gateway 17" || Case: Antec 900 || PSU: 1 KW athenatech or force or something PSU || Keyboard: Logitech G15 || Mouse: Logitech MX 518 || OS: Windows 7 Build 7201 x64

Secondary Rig: FX-60, 7900GTX, 2 x 1BG OCZ Platinum, A8N32-SLI Deluxe, Antec 180, XP x32
hokeyplyr48 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 04-29-09, 10:14 AM   #9
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: DVI->HDMI quality issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by zarlaan View Post
Double check your TV manual for the inputs. Some TV's require that you connect a PC to a certain input.

For example I have the Samsung LN450A LCD. I'm running a DVI-HDMI cable but I have to use the HDMI input 2 as it's designed for computer input. Using this input also enables me to run 1920x1080 resolution even though the tv is only a 720p.
Sure it's at that resolution, but it's probably at 30Hz instead of 60Hz. This is also known as 1080i.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hokeyplyr48 View Post
uhhhh using hdmi 2 makes more pixels???
No, the resolution is not 1080p, it's 1080i. TV takes 1920x1080 at 30Hz, splits it into two 540 line images, hence increasing the refresh rate to 60 Hz. The two images appear to be 1920x1080 to the eye, but are actually two 540 horizontal line images in sequence. That's how interlacing works.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-09, 12:11 PM   #10
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: DVI->HDMI quality issues

Don't think that's what he meant, ViN . It sounds like using this socket will allow a higher than native resolution to be used, but the TV will down-scale it to the screens res.

In the shops they seem to refer to this as HD-ready, as opposed to True HD. At least they do in the UK.
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-09, 12:17 PM   #11
de><ta
prodigy
 
de><ta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA, NY
Posts: 1,100
Default Re: DVI->HDMI quality issues

Update: the screen looks good when watching movies and playing games. But reading text is a big PITA, since the white background looks off-white (more yellowish).
__________________
IBM T60p | Intel Core 2 Duo T7200 | 2GB PC2-5300 | ATi M X1700 256MB | 100GB 7200rpm SATA

///m-powered | Intel i7 920 | EVGA x58 | 6GB DD3 1600 | EVGA GTX 285 SSC | 150GB VelociRaptor

Drag racing is for fast cars. Autocrossing is for fast drivers.
de><ta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-09, 12:32 PM   #12
Revs
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 6,365
Default Re: DVI->HDMI quality issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by de><ta View Post
Update: the screen looks good when watching movies and playing games. But reading text is a big PITA, since the white background looks off-white (more yellowish).
Did you have a go at setting it up in the NVidiaCP? Also are you sure you're res. is set to the native res. of the screen?
Revs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nvidia driver quality decrease? legluondunet NVIDIA Linux 17 06-26-12 11:03 AM
My UT2003 Tweak Guide DXnfiniteFX Gaming Central 48 10-31-02 12:59 AM
New New New New Driver - Still No DVI decay NVIDIA Linux 2 09-16-02 06:47 PM
Color quality of the GeForce4 Ti 4600 and Radeon 8500 Turnbolt NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 23 08-27-02 09:12 PM
DVI to VGA converter anyone? Necrosis NVIDIA Linux 4 08-18-02 04:54 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.