Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-05-08, 07:59 PM   #1
newparad1gm
Registered User
 
newparad1gm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 693
Default Problems with Vista's Start Menu

My friend's been having a strange issue with his Windows Vista start menu. In his pinned icons, there are three blank entries at the end that he can't seem to get rid of. It first started off as one blank entry, but then became two and then eventually three at seemingly random points. Its not the right side panel of the Start menu thats making it larger either, as he has very few items there, as seen in the screen shot. He's tried to include recent documents and clear out the start menu as well, but the blank entries continue to persist. Here is the screen shot:



Help would be much appreciated.
__________________
WAR MACHINE:
Intel Core i7 3930K | Asus X79 Sabertooth | 4x4 GB G.Skill RipJaw PC3-12800 | 2x EVGA NVIDIA GTX TITAN Signature 6GB SLI | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD | 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda RAID 0 | LG BD-ROM | Cyber Acoustics CA3001WB 2.1 Speakers | SeaSonic 1250W PSU | 3x Acer GD235HZ 23.6in 120Hz | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Windows 8 Pro x64 | NVIDIA 3DVision SURROUND

CRIMSON DYNAMO:
Intel Core i7 2600K | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H | 2x4 GB G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 | XFX AMD R9 290X 4GB | Intel X-25M G2 160GB SSD | 2x250GB RAID 0 | Samsung BD-ROM | ABS SL 1050W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Antec 900 ATX | Windows 8 Pro x64

Sailor Jupiter (HTPC):
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E5200 | ZOTAC Geforce 9300 | 2x2 GB OCZ Fatal1ty PC2-8500 | WD 1TB | Hitachi 2TB External | MediaSonic HFR2-SU3S2 4x3TB Seagate Barracuda RAID 1+0 | LG Blu-Ray/HD DVD-ROM | FSP 150W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Foxconn RS233 mini-ITX | Windows 7 Pro x86
newparad1gm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-08, 09:53 PM   #2
dxx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 490
Default Re: Problems with Vista's Start Menu

The menu on the left is meant to list recently run programs, and the height is manually set. My guess is that he's set it to list more programs than Windows thinks he uses on a regular basis, hence why it's left some blank spaces.

Trick to shortening it is to right-click the task bar, click Properties, click the Start Menu tab, click the Customize button, and, where it says "Number of recent programs to display", knock it down by two or three. Hit OK a couple of times, and things should look nice and snug again.
dxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-08, 09:59 PM   #3
crainger
 
crainger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Coffs Harbour, NSW, Australia
Posts: 29,559
Send a message via AIM to crainger
Default Re: Problems with Vista's Start Menu

Yep. dxx is right. ::

First thing I do on a new install. I hate long Startbars. A short one does wonders for my penis envy. Wait! What?
crainger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-08, 11:00 PM   #4
Phyre
Registered User
 
Phyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Central Louisiana
Posts: 323
Default Re: Problems with Vista's Start Menu

In the same Start Menu customize area mentioned above, you can uncheck Use Large Icons as well. That will make the Start Menu a bit smaller as well.
Phyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-08, 01:41 PM   #5
newparad1gm
Registered User
 
newparad1gm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 693
Default Re: Problems with Vista's Start Menu

Unfortunately, he has no Recently Used Programs part of the start menu (his number of recently used apps to display is set to zero). All those icons you see are pinned icons (when you right-click on a shortcut and there is an option that says Pin to Start Menu). If he increases the number of Recently Used Programs, the blank spaces just appear below those icons as well. Also he's tried removing all pinned icons and just leaving recently used programs, but the spaces remain.
__________________
WAR MACHINE:
Intel Core i7 3930K | Asus X79 Sabertooth | 4x4 GB G.Skill RipJaw PC3-12800 | 2x EVGA NVIDIA GTX TITAN Signature 6GB SLI | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD | 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda RAID 0 | LG BD-ROM | Cyber Acoustics CA3001WB 2.1 Speakers | SeaSonic 1250W PSU | 3x Acer GD235HZ 23.6in 120Hz | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Windows 8 Pro x64 | NVIDIA 3DVision SURROUND

CRIMSON DYNAMO:
Intel Core i7 2600K | Gigabyte Z68X-UD3H | 2x4 GB G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 | XFX AMD R9 290X 4GB | Intel X-25M G2 160GB SSD | 2x250GB RAID 0 | Samsung BD-ROM | ABS SL 1050W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Antec 900 ATX | Windows 8 Pro x64

Sailor Jupiter (HTPC):
Intel Pentium Dual-Core E5200 | ZOTAC Geforce 9300 | 2x2 GB OCZ Fatal1ty PC2-8500 | WD 1TB | Hitachi 2TB External | MediaSonic HFR2-SU3S2 4x3TB Seagate Barracuda RAID 1+0 | LG Blu-Ray/HD DVD-ROM | FSP 150W PSU | Toshiba 42" REGZA 1080p HDTV | Foxconn RS233 mini-ITX | Windows 7 Pro x86
newparad1gm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-09, 02:46 PM   #6
baggy111
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Talking Re: Problems with Vista's Start Menu

Hello. I had the same problem and have managed to figure it out.

Basically your friend has got too many programs pinned to the start menu. To solve the problem reduce the number of frequently used programs to a minimum and if possible, unpin any programs.
Baggy 111
baggy111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-09, 05:27 PM   #7
einstein_314
w00t!!
 
einstein_314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 2,905
Default Re: Problems with Vista's Start Menu

Haha, so if you start pinning too many programs it starts adding blank spaces? that's a weird bug.....
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2GHz (9 x 355) w/ Swiftec APOGEE GTX Waterblock|| Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Edition
eVGA 8800 GTX Superclocked Edition @ 675/1150 w/ DangerDen 8800GTX Waterblock|| 4x1GB Mushkin XP2 PC2-8500
X-Fi Fatal1ty 64MB || PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W || Seagate 7200.10 320 GB || Dell 2407WFP
Logitech Z-5300 Speakers || Sennheiser HD555's || Logitech G7 || Logitech G15 || Windows Vista Ultimate x64
einstein_314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft explained why they killed start button AthlonXP1800 Microsoft Windows 8 19 10-28-12 10:07 AM
Base mosaic and rotation? happyfunbot NVIDIA Linux 5 07-13-12 01:23 PM
Nero5.5.9.9 & "Empty Start Menu Entries" bug !!! cenkog General Software 2 09-21-02 01:57 AM
resolution problems the fat bastid NVIDIA Linux 4 09-15-02 10:40 PM
DirectX 8 problems with GeForce4 Derwin NVIDIA GeForce 7, 8, And 9 Series 19 08-20-02 02:23 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.