Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows 7

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-05-09, 05:04 PM   #73
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Windows 7 RC Available To Technet & MSDN

Working fine here so far. Not seeing much in the way of improvement over Vista with sp2 though.

Eh, it's nice, I guess...
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-09, 05:15 PM   #74
Drolfrawd
Registered User
 
Drolfrawd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,787
Send a message via MSN to Drolfrawd
Default Re: Windows 7 RC Available To Technet & MSDN

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1 View Post
Working fine here so far. Not seeing much in the way of improvement over Vista with sp2 though.

Eh, it's nice, I guess...
Agreed , but so far not earth shattering
Drolfrawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-09, 05:19 PM   #75
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Windows 7 RC Available To Technet & MSDN

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1 View Post
Thanks, still no go.

Attempting an install from within Vista now. grrrrr

EDIT: that didn't work either...sigh

EDITED REEDIT: It sees my 80Gb deskstar no problem. Funny thing is, when browsing for drivers from within the install, it shows that hdd in the browser.

I say again....sigh
Is this a new drive or an old one with data?

You might need to add it again to your OS so it is recognized. I don't have the info off the top of my head but google for HDD not visible in Vista, or Adding HDD in Vista. It should be the same fix.

note, you may lose all data on the drive when it is mounted correctly.
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-09, 05:40 PM   #76
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Windows 7 RC Available To Technet & MSDN

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar View Post
Is this a new drive or an old one with data?

You might need to add it again to your OS so it is recognized. I don't have the info off the top of my head but google for HDD not visible in Vista, or Adding HDD in Vista. It should be the same fix.

note, you may lose all data on the drive when it is mounted correctly.
That's what's so weird Saz, the OS does see it, it's only the installer that won't recognize it. When I tried the SATA drivers it gave the "no drivers found" message, but it sees my other 2 no problem.

With it up and running now, and even browsing for drivers during install, it saw it perfectly fine.

Go figure
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-09, 05:42 PM   #77
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Windows 7 RC Available To Technet & MSDN

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drolfrawd View Post
Agreed , but so far not earth shattering
Yeah, it is a nice OS so far for sure, better transfer speeds, but same memory usage etc..looks like vista with a refined desktop.

Not a huge deal. Got 2 free V ultimates from MS, both running just sweet. I'll keep this for a bit and see what happens.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-09, 06:23 PM   #78
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Windows 7 RC Available To Technet & MSDN

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1 View Post
Working fine here so far. Not seeing much in the way of improvement over Vista with sp2 though.

Eh, it's nice, I guess...
Vista Second Edition is ok, but since it is RC1, not much will change from now till final.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-09, 06:25 PM   #79
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Windows 7 RC Available To Technet & MSDN

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1 View Post
That's what's so weird Saz, the OS does see it, it's only the installer that won't recognize it. When I tried the SATA drivers it gave the "no drivers found" message, but it sees my other 2 no problem.

With it up and running now, and even browsing for drivers during install, it saw it perfectly fine.

Go figure
What is your BIOS set to? IDE? AHCI? RAID? on my x58 the installer doesn't detect the hdds when bios is set to AHCI, have to install Intel drivers.

But on my laptop with mobile Intel 945 (need to check) Bios is set to AHCI, and it detects everything fine.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-09, 06:31 PM   #80
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Windows 7 RC Available To Technet & MSDN

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
What is your BIOS set to? IDE? AHCI? RAID? on my x58 the installer doesn't detect the hdds when bios is set to AHCI, have to install Intel drivers.

But on my laptop with mobile Intel 945 (need to check) Bios is set to AHCI, and it detects everything fine.
Hey nekro, I tried IDE and compatibility on an Asus X38 board. I didn't try AHCI as my daily use OS is on this as well, and was installed IDE.

Thing is, the bios sees it, the OS sees it now that the OS is on a third hdd, and even the driver browser during install could see it, but the installer itself couldn't. So it shows up everywhere but there.

I may just leave as is, this deskstar is pretty quick for an older drive, and use the 7200.11 for games and storage.
  Reply With Quote

Old 05-05-09, 08:32 PM   #81
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Windows 7 RC Available To Technet & MSDN

read this

http://www.techsupportforum.com/micr...rive-does.html
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-09, 09:32 PM   #82
Shamrock
Royalty gone awry
 
Shamrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,612
Default Re: Windows 7 RC Available To Technet & MSDN

Quote:
Originally Posted by crainger View Post
Just use IE for an hour or so it takes to download. Worked fine for me. Now considering doing an upgrade, just to test. Of course doing a fresh install when it hits retail...
an hour or 4 weeks.

I'm ganna have to put it in a sig file. I USE DIALUP!
__________________
They're after me Lucky Charms!

AMD Phenom II 955BE
16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1333Mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850
Logitech Z-5300 5.1 THX surround sound
HANNS-G 28" LCD
ZBoard Merc Gaming Keyboard
CoolerMaster HAF-932 Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Pro x64
Shamrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-09, 09:57 PM   #83
wshadow
Mac Tech by day...PC:)
 
wshadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chino,Ca
Posts: 366
Default Re: Windows 7 RC Available To Technet & MSDN

Took about 15 mins for me....around 1.5- 2.0MB/sec

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shamrock View Post
Yeah, but I HATE the download manager they use. For FF it uses java (instead of IE's activeX) and it only gets to 128kb then says it encountered an error :/

Anyone with a direct link?
__________________
p4 3.0 with 8ik1100, 1gig corsair 433 xms,6600 GT,enermax 460w, Silverstone lc03 black, logitech z-680, Samsung 910t, audigy 2,liteon external 8dvdrw,WD SATA 120gb, 36g raptor,DVD Xpress,nostromo n52,mx1000 . all powered by your mom!!!


The only state Palestine is, is a state of Terrorism.

United under GOD! If you arent under GOD, then dont call yourself American. Allah isnt GOD.
wshadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-09, 10:57 PM   #84
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Windows 7 RC Available To Technet & MSDN

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shamrock View Post
I USE DIALUP!
I thought you guys were extinct?
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
Hands-on: Windows 8's SkyDrive News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 07:30 PM
NVIDIA Brings 18 Years of Experience to Windows 8 News Archived News Items 0 06-03-12 06:20 AM
Sync it up: Hands on with the preview of Windows 8's cloud sync service News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 08:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.