Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows 7

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-06-09, 04:19 PM   #97
zoomy942
 
zoomy942's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bellevue, ID
Posts: 5,338
Send a message via AIM to zoomy942 Send a message via MSN to zoomy942
Default Re: Windows 7 RC Available To Technet & MSDN

love it on my workstation and my tablet PC. feels quick, works great, everything is fast and stabel - even with all my different work apps i have to use. impressive.
zoomy942 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-09, 06:36 PM   #98
GitDat
Registered User
 
GitDat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: Windows 7 RC Available To Technet & MSDN

I don't like how you can't just shove the mouse to the upper right corner on a Maximized window and click the X. Now you have to "find" the X because there is now a space
__________________
EVGA Z77 FTW | Core i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz | 16GB G.Skill Trident-X 2400MHz | SLI EVGA GTX 980 SC's | Intel 520 SSD's RAID-0 | ThermalTake 1475watt | 3DMark Fire Strike Ultra - 6,330 | Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | NVIDIA 3D Vision Surround
GitDat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-09, 06:40 PM   #99
GitDat
Registered User
 
GitDat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: Windows 7 RC Available To Technet & MSDN

Is there any way to narrow the Taskbar? And is there any way to turn off the preview on minimized windows?
__________________
EVGA Z77 FTW | Core i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz | 16GB G.Skill Trident-X 2400MHz | SLI EVGA GTX 980 SC's | Intel 520 SSD's RAID-0 | ThermalTake 1475watt | 3DMark Fire Strike Ultra - 6,330 | Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | NVIDIA 3D Vision Surround
GitDat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-09, 06:47 PM   #100
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Windows 7 RC Available To Technet & MSDN

Quote:
Originally Posted by GitDat View Post
Is there any way to narrow the Taskbar? And is there any way to turn off the preview on minimized windows?
You can choose to auto-hide the taskbar but not sure about making it thinner.

Also, to turn Aero Peek off, you can disable it from your properties for your taskbar/start menu.

Right-click on your windows start thinger and then select properties and uncheck Aero Peek. Now, I could also completely be misunderstanding you
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-09, 06:51 PM   #101
GitDat
Registered User
 
GitDat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: Windows 7 RC Available To Technet & MSDN

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar View Post
You can choose to auto-hide the taskbar but not sure about making it thinner.

Also, to turn Aero Peek off, you can disable it from your properties for your taskbar/start menu.

Right-click on your windows start thinger and then select properties and uncheck Aero Peek. Now, I could also completely be misunderstanding you
I just tried turning off the Aero Peek but it doesn't effect the minimized windows preview Maybe you can't turn it off yet.
__________________
EVGA Z77 FTW | Core i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz | 16GB G.Skill Trident-X 2400MHz | SLI EVGA GTX 980 SC's | Intel 520 SSD's RAID-0 | ThermalTake 1475watt | 3DMark Fire Strike Ultra - 6,330 | Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | NVIDIA 3D Vision Surround
GitDat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-09, 07:06 PM   #102
Yaboze
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 2,057
Default Re: Windows 7 RC Available To Technet & MSDN

Well, I bit the bullet and upgraded my Vista SP2 x64 system that was an old bloated build from last year. It took over an hour and a half.

I had no real issues, except it seemed to have messed up my profile with my settings, but I logged off and it seemed to have fixed it. After the first boot when you sign in, it was fine. I then installed the Nvidia and Creative drivers and restarted, it was then, as it was logging me in I heard an error sound and when it logged in, everything was default and it said it was unable to find the profile and it showed some path. Aero wasn't even on, it was in the Windows 2000 UI. Weird. I logged off and back on and everything was back (icons, Aero, etc).

My system scored a 5.9, same as before, but this time the 5.9 was in my HD only, the rest was 7.3 for Proc and RAM (Q9650 and 4GB) and 6.4 for Aero/Games (G200). Highest cap is 7.9 this time.

There were a few Windows Updates, mainly for IE8.

Seems to boot up and shut down faster, but not by much. Overall, it feels snappier. Games seem to run the same. My memory usage is lower and my processes are about 10 less than I had in Vista x64 SP2. I didn't do a clean install because I am going to do that when it's RTM and I didn't want to do it twice.

I am now comfortable knowing my system is supported and runs Windows 7 very well. I can't wait for RTM and then I will do a clean install.
Yaboze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-09, 07:27 PM   #103
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Windows 7 RC Available To Technet & MSDN

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yaboze View Post
Well, I bit the bullet and upgraded my Vista SP2 x64 system that was an old bloated build from last year. It took over an hour and a half.

I had no real issues, except it seemed to have messed up my profile with my settings, but I logged off and it seemed to have fixed it. After the first boot when you sign in, it was fine. I then installed the Nvidia and Creative drivers and restarted, it was then, as it was logging me in I heard an error sound and when it logged in, everything was default and it said it was unable to find the profile and it showed some path. Aero wasn't even on, it was in the Windows 2000 UI. Weird. I logged off and back on and everything was back (icons, Aero, etc).

My system scored a 5.9, same as before, but this time the 5.9 was in my HD only, the rest was 7.3 for Proc and RAM (Q9650 and 4GB) and 6.4 for Aero/Games (G200). Highest cap is 7.9 this time.

There were a few Windows Updates, mainly for IE8.

Seems to boot up and shut down faster, but not by much. Overall, it feels snappier. Games seem to run the same. My memory usage is lower and my processes are about 10 less than I had in Vista x64 SP2. I didn't do a clean install because I am going to do that when it's RTM and I didn't want to do it twice.

I am now comfortable knowing my system is supported and runs Windows 7 very well. I can't wait for RTM and then I will do a clean install.
that mean someting in your profile is corrupt. sometimes it can fix it self, or revert to slightly older back-up local user registry. sometimes it will go away, or it might keep happening.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-09, 08:06 PM   #104
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Windows 7 RC Available To Technet & MSDN

Quote:
Originally Posted by GitDat View Post
I just tried turning off the Aero Peek but it doesn't effect the minimized windows preview Maybe you can't turn it off yet.
Oh kay, I get what you're saying

Go to your display/performance options for visual settings and adjust it from there. It is one of the settings there I believe.

Sorry, I thought you were talking about a different thing earlier
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-06-09, 09:18 PM   #105
Blacklash
8^9^3
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Old Vizima
Posts: 3,679
Default Re: Windows 7 RC Available To Technet & MSDN

If you want an easy way to reduce the taskbar size just select use small icons under properties. I auto hide mine too.
__________________
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.96GHz (1.36v)|Mushkin 998681 XP3-12800 (3x2GB)
ASUS TUF Sabertooth (X58)|ASUS GTX 580 DirectCU II (980|4604)|ASUS PA246Q
WD VelociRaptor 150GB HD (x2)|Pioneer DVR-2920Q|LG GH22LS30|Klipsch PM20 2.0
SilverStone OP1000-E|SilverStone TJ10-B|Thermalright U-120 Extreme|Win 7 HP x64
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-09, 09:36 PM   #106
GitDat
Registered User
 
GitDat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: Windows 7 RC Available To Technet & MSDN

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blacklash View Post
If you want an easy way to reduce the taskbar size just select use small icons under properties. I auto hide mine too.
Ah, small icons did it Thanks. That's one down. Not having the X in the upper right corner (ALL the way) anymore is definitely a bigger drag.
__________________
EVGA Z77 FTW | Core i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz | 16GB G.Skill Trident-X 2400MHz | SLI EVGA GTX 980 SC's | Intel 520 SSD's RAID-0 | ThermalTake 1475watt | 3DMark Fire Strike Ultra - 6,330 | Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | NVIDIA 3D Vision Surround
GitDat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-09, 09:37 PM   #107
GitDat
Registered User
 
GitDat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,374
Default Re: Windows 7 RC Available To Technet & MSDN

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar View Post
Oh kay, I get what you're saying

Go to your display/performance options for visual settings and adjust it from there. It is one of the settings there I believe.

Sorry, I thought you were talking about a different thing earlier
I tried going through them one by one but can't seem to find a setting for it. There is a setting for it in Vista but I don't see it on 7 anymore.
__________________
EVGA Z77 FTW | Core i7 3770k @ 4.7GHz | 16GB G.Skill Trident-X 2400MHz | SLI EVGA GTX 980 SC's | Intel 520 SSD's RAID-0 | ThermalTake 1475watt | 3DMark Fire Strike Ultra - 6,330 | Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | NVIDIA 3D Vision Surround
GitDat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-09, 07:55 AM   #108
LordJuanlo
Widescreen rules
 
LordJuanlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,184
Default Re: Windows 7 RC Available To Technet & MSDN

I have been running it for two days, so far so good, it feels much smoother than Vista, disk trashing on boot and after exiting games is greatly reduced (and I had a quite fresh installation of Vista, 1 month old). Games work perfectly, installed Steam, tried some Left 4 Dead, LOTRO (DX10), Bioshock and everything works perfectly. ATI has done a great work on 7 drivers, and my Asus Xonar works perfectly too (this one with Vista drivers), DS3D emulations works, and so does Dolby Headphone. Ideazon Fang keypad works well too, my custom profiles carried from Vista with no problems.

As you can see on my signature, Windows 7 RC x64 is now my main OS, still won't wipe the Vista partition just to have a backup OS if something goes wrong
__________________
Core i7 920 / Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Gigabyte EX58-Extreme / 6 Gb OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum
1 x Intel X-25M G2 80 Gb / 3 x Seagate 1 Tb (RAID5)
ATI 5870 (Graphics) + GeForce 9600GT (PhysX) on Samsung SM244T 1920x1200
LG GGW-H20L BluRay & HD-DVD / Logitech Z-5500 5.1 DTS / Westone 3 Earphones
Asus Xonar D2 / 360 Elite Wireless Controller / Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Windows 7 x64
(also a 360 and a PSP )
LordJuanlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 11:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 10:10 AM
Hands-on: Windows 8's SkyDrive News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 08:30 PM
NVIDIA Brings 18 Years of Experience to Windows 8 News Archived News Items 0 06-03-12 07:20 AM
Sync it up: Hands on with the preview of Windows 8's cloud sync service News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 09:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.