Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Home Theater A/V

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-08-09, 11:31 PM   #1
Technoholic
Registered User
 
Technoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Under your chair
Posts: 1,729
Send a message via MSN to Technoholic
Default Looking for 32-inch LCD

I think I've already asked, but I'm gonna ask again anyway.

There's no budget limit, but I want a 32-inch LCD TV. With HDMI or without is okay. But I'm looking for a TV that I can use with analog TV cable. Without using components, HD box, or anything, but just analog TV cable straight from the wall to TV.

My University is DTV ready, I think, I'm not even sure. They have this converter box that can be leased for a refundable of $100 a semester, I may go for it... But I'm not too exactly sure now since the DTV transition has been postponed.

Thanks for your help.
__________________
[MY PC]
-- 3DMarkVantage: H7522
-- Q9450 @ 3.2GHZ 1.15V | THERMALRIGHT TRUE BLACK ULTRA-120 | DFI LANPARTY DK P45-T2RS | 4GB G.SKILL DDR2-1000
-- EVGA 280GTX | SAMSUNG 225BW | X-FI XTREMEGAMER FPS | Z-5300e | Z-2300 | 250GB SEAGATE | RAZER LACHESIS
-- 320GB WESTERNDIGITAL | TAGAN 700W | G15 rev. 2 | NINE HUNDRED | VISTA HOME PREMIUM
-- no longer own this system

[MY LAPTOP]
-- MAC BOOK PRO 13" | DUAL BOOT WITH WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 64-BIT | 2.3GHz i5 | 4GB DDR3 |
-- OSX LION | 320GB HDD
-- Stolen :^(

[STUFF]
-- PSN: lqfocus06
-- AEKDB
Technoholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-09, 01:44 PM   #2
darkrider01
A little rough at first
 
darkrider01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: The DEEP South - North Carolina
Posts: 483
Default Re: Looking for 32-inch LCD

I may have just the thing you need. I picked one of these up for my wife for Mother's Day. I paid $550 for it.

When you run the auto-tune function to set the channels, it grabs all analog and digital channels and puts them all together. The reason this is nice is because when you are tuning through channels with the channel up button, it goes through them like: 2, 3, 3.1, 3.2, 3.3, 4, 5, 5.1, etc so that it tunes the analog version of the channel, and then the next channel up is the digital channels. On the Sony LCD I have, I have to manually switch between the analog and digital.

The TV has 3 HDMI, VGA, and several component and composite inputs. It's also 1080P FullHD so you can use it as a nice monitor. I like it as much or more than my 40" Sony Bravia 1080P LCD. This is a great TV.

Vizio VO32LF
__________________
School Bus - Intel i7 4770K * ASRock Z87 Extreme6/AC * EVGA GTX 590 * Kingston HyperX Beast 16GB 2400MHz DDR3* Alienware TactX Keyboard * RAZER Mamba * Pioneer DVR-212D * Samsung 840 Series 250GB SSD * 10+TB Other Storage * Ultra X3 1000W PSU * Dell U2913WM * Beats by Dr. Dre headphones * Klipsch Promedia 2.1 * Cooler Master HAF XB * Cooler Master Hyper N520 * Windows 7 Ultimate
Mass Transit - Xeon E3-1275 V2 * G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 * EVGA GTX660 * Kingston HyperX 3K 120GB SSD * Seagate Momentus XT 750GB * Dell 2001FP * Viewsonic VX2250 * Creative X-Fi Surround 5.1 * Windows 7 Ultimate
RV - Alienware M18x * i7 2670QM * Dual 560 GTX * 1.25TB Storage * Windows 7 Ultimate
Van by the River - Panasonic PT-AX200U * Homebrew 9' x 5' screen * Pioneer VSX-1121-K * Bose Acoustimass 6 * Velodyne VX10 Subwoofer * PS3/Xbox/Xbox360/Wii/WiiU/DirecTV HR22
Packin HEAT
darkrider01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-09, 05:09 PM   #3
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Looking for 32-inch LCD

Fwiw, the only real price differences you will see between sets will be due to differences in the contrast ratio. Also, at that size, 720p will suit you just fine as long as you're not sitting right in front of it.

Also, the feature darkrider is talking about above is very nice as well. I have it on my LG and the transition between regular cable and the DTV channels is seamless.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-09, 06:35 PM   #4
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Looking for 32-inch LCD

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkrider01 View Post
I may have just the thing you need. I picked one of these up for my wife for Mother's Day. I paid $550 for it.

When you run the auto-tune function to set the channels, it grabs all analog and digital channels and puts them all together. The reason this is nice is because when you are tuning through channels with the channel up button, it goes through them like: 2, 3, 3.1, 3.2, 3.3, 4, 5, 5.1, etc so that it tunes the analog version of the channel, and then the next channel up is the digital channels. On the Sony LCD I have, I have to manually switch between the analog and digital.

The TV has 3 HDMI, VGA, and several component and composite inputs. It's also 1080P FullHD so you can use it as a nice monitor. I like it as much or more than my 40" Sony Bravia 1080P LCD. This is a great TV.

Vizio VO32LF
Wal-Mart sells these for a very reasonable price, so its worth it to check the store locally before ordering one online.

They have the 720P model too, so make sure to ask for or look for the 1080P "Full HD" model.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-09, 08:40 PM   #5
Zhivago
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 184
Default Re: Looking for 32-inch LCD

I have a 32'' Sony XBR Bravia 1080p and couldn't be happier with it. The salesman pointed out all of these little differences (little but real nonetheless) between it and the similar models from companies like Samsung. Like detail in a woman's dress that was clear on the Sony but not even visible on the Samsung, even though both were @ their native 1080p.
Zhivago is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-09, 06:24 AM   #6
andyr3
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: Looking for 32-inch LCD

I own a 40" 1080p SONY Bravia TV and bought the 32" 720 HDMI for the bedroom. The 720p resolution is very good for this TV. This has a little better contrast than the L series and PIP capability, when PC is used as main source. I had been waiting to pick up a HD set for some time and I'm glad itís one among best 32" LCD TV from Sony.
andyr3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-09, 11:03 PM   #7
Technoholic
Registered User
 
Technoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Under your chair
Posts: 1,729
Send a message via MSN to Technoholic
Default Re: Looking for 32-inch LCD

Like I asked, are they even good with analog cable? I mean good as in clear enough, bright, just right. I'm not looking for ultra sharp or anything as close as HD in an analog cable.

I did buy a shi++y Vizio 26" TV and the analog cable was GODAWFUL. Dark, not clear, grainy as hell, immediately I got a refund. But I do see Vizio improving A LOT. Their HD is amazing from what I see.
__________________
[MY PC]
-- 3DMarkVantage: H7522
-- Q9450 @ 3.2GHZ 1.15V | THERMALRIGHT TRUE BLACK ULTRA-120 | DFI LANPARTY DK P45-T2RS | 4GB G.SKILL DDR2-1000
-- EVGA 280GTX | SAMSUNG 225BW | X-FI XTREMEGAMER FPS | Z-5300e | Z-2300 | 250GB SEAGATE | RAZER LACHESIS
-- 320GB WESTERNDIGITAL | TAGAN 700W | G15 rev. 2 | NINE HUNDRED | VISTA HOME PREMIUM
-- no longer own this system

[MY LAPTOP]
-- MAC BOOK PRO 13" | DUAL BOOT WITH WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 64-BIT | 2.3GHz i5 | 4GB DDR3 |
-- OSX LION | 320GB HDD
-- Stolen :^(

[STUFF]
-- PSN: lqfocus06
-- AEKDB
Technoholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-09, 11:03 PM   #8
technoid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Denton, Texas
Posts: 505
Default Re: Looking for 32-inch LCD

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technoholic View Post
Like I asked, are they even good with analog cable? I mean good as in clear enough, bright, just right. I'm not looking for ultra sharp or anything as close as HD in an analog cable.

I did buy a shi++y Vizio 26" TV and the analog cable was GODAWFUL. Dark, not clear, grainy as hell, immediately I got a refund. But I do see Vizio improving A LOT. Their HD is amazing from what I see.
I was at Best Buy the other day and looked at the 32 inch SONY 720P. I ask the sales guy if he could put some normal TV on and he did, and it looked GODAWFUL to me, just terrible. I can't for the life of me understand why they would do that, just do what's necessary for everything to look normal when you move to an HD set. I've heard how bad standard definition looked on an HD set but that was the first time I seen it. He said they were using DirectTV so the standard definition TV channels should be fine. It definitely turned me off. Of course all the HD stuff looked very good.
__________________
Antec-SOLO | ASUS-P5Q-SE | C2D-E8600 | AC-Freezer-7-Pro | Seasonic-S12-550W | 3GB-KVR-PC2-6400 | GTX-560Ti | SB-XtremeGamer | Pioneer-BDR-205 | Samsung-S223B | Dell-U2412M
technoid is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-24-09, 02:39 PM   #9
hemmy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kansas
Posts: 760
Default Re: Looking for 32-inch LCD

Every hdtv I have seen do not look all that great on non-hd channels
__________________
P6T Deluxe V2 ||| Core i7 920 D0 4.0Ghz||| 3x2Gb DDR3-1800 ||| 2x EVGA GTX 260 SLI ||| Corsair HX850w ||| 2x640gb HD
hemmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-09, 04:38 PM   #10
Technoholic
Registered User
 
Technoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Under your chair
Posts: 1,729
Send a message via MSN to Technoholic
Default Re: Looking for 32-inch LCD

Hey guys, I bought Vizio 32" Full HD 1080P VOJ320F1A. I have to say I am very happy with my purchase! SD pictures don't look that bad as well!

Hemmy, of course, no HDTV has a great picture on SD channels. I was looking for the very good quality pictures, I'm not saying super sharp pictures on SD channels. This is it. The 26" I bought two years ago was the worst. Today, it's MUCH better and I am very happy with it.

BTW, believe it or not, I bought this only for $486!!
__________________
[MY PC]
-- 3DMarkVantage: H7522
-- Q9450 @ 3.2GHZ 1.15V | THERMALRIGHT TRUE BLACK ULTRA-120 | DFI LANPARTY DK P45-T2RS | 4GB G.SKILL DDR2-1000
-- EVGA 280GTX | SAMSUNG 225BW | X-FI XTREMEGAMER FPS | Z-5300e | Z-2300 | 250GB SEAGATE | RAZER LACHESIS
-- 320GB WESTERNDIGITAL | TAGAN 700W | G15 rev. 2 | NINE HUNDRED | VISTA HOME PREMIUM
-- no longer own this system

[MY LAPTOP]
-- MAC BOOK PRO 13" | DUAL BOOT WITH WINDOWS 7 ULTIMATE 64-BIT | 2.3GHz i5 | 4GB DDR3 |
-- OSX LION | 320GB HDD
-- Stolen :^(

[STUFF]
-- PSN: lqfocus06
-- AEKDB
Technoholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
$189.99 - Asus VE248H Black 24" Full HD HDMI LED Backlight LCD Monitor w/Speakers News 24-Inch 0 06-10-12 02:35 PM
Post your LCD experiences Typedef Enum General Hardware 70 02-01-03 12:19 AM
Viewsonic PF815 21 inch for sale! ad hoc For Sale/Trade 3 09-20-02 02:42 PM
LCD DVI support in Linux drivers? salobaas NVIDIA Linux 1 07-31-02 04:29 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.