Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-14-09, 03:36 PM   #1
ir123
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 92
Default does flash player hardware mode work?

There's some claims out there about flash player using hardware mode for smooth playback in youtube, etc, but I doubt it's working for me. Is this supposed to work somehow? I heard about the /etc/adobe/mms.cfg file, putting OverrideGPUValidation=true in it, but I see no difference. Is this hardware setting for flash supposed to work for nvidia?
ir123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-09, 03:43 PM   #2
kriko
openSuSE11
 
kriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe, Slovenia, Koper
Posts: 515
Default Re: does flash player hardware mode work?

How do you know it doesn't work?
Anyway, if you judge by cpu usage then you are doing it wrong. Flash is simply a huge bloatware and it uses a lot of cpu nevertheless if you are playing HD or low-quality videos.
kriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-09, 04:06 PM   #3
ir123
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 92
Default Re: does flash player hardware mode work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kriko View Post
How do you know it doesn't work?
Anyway, if you judge by cpu usage then you are doing it wrong. Flash is simply a huge bloatware and it uses a lot of cpu nevertheless if you are playing HD or low-quality videos.
I was judging it on whether I could play HD video on youtube smoothly, which I can't. Guess I need a 3GHz quad core or higher and the hardware mode is actually useless.
ir123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-09, 01:28 AM   #4
jcornwall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 120
Default Re: does flash player hardware mode work?

You can tell whether hardware acceleration is enabled by seeing if the CPU load is mostly on the Firefox or Xorg process.

Flash won't use hardware acceleration if a compositing window manager is active. Even after killing it, I'm fairly sure the newest 64-bit Flash alpha doesn't use acceleration on my 7900 GS or GTX 260.
jcornwall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-09, 07:00 AM   #5
Dragoran
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 711
Default Re: does flash player hardware mode work?

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...88#post1933488
Dragoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-09, 08:13 AM   #6
kriko
openSuSE11
 
kriko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Europe, Slovenia, Koper
Posts: 515
Default Re: does flash player hardware mode work?

What if you use kde4 desktop effects? Will it disable acceleration too?
kriko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-09, 08:18 AM   #7
Dragoran
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 711
Default Re: does flash player hardware mode work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kriko View Post
What if you use kde4 desktop effects? Will it disable acceleration too?
no
Dragoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-09, 09:19 AM   #8
TheBlackCat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 84
Default Re: does flash player hardware mode work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoran View Post
no
Why not? KDE 4 uses a compositing desktop manager when desktop effects are enabled.
TheBlackCat is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-15-09, 09:42 AM   #9
Dragoran
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 711
Default Re: does flash player hardware mode work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBlackCat View Post
Why not? KDE 4 uses a compositing desktop manager when desktop effects are enabled.
Because flash just checks if the wm name is "compiz" or not.
Dragoran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-09, 02:54 PM   #10
ir123
*BANNED*
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 92
Default Re: does flash player hardware mode work?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcornwall View Post
You can tell whether hardware acceleration is enabled by seeing if the CPU load is mostly on the Firefox or Xorg process.
So which is which? I'm seeing the load on firefox not xorg.

Quote:
Flash won't use hardware acceleration if a compositing window manager is active. Even after killing it, I'm fairly sure the newest 64-bit Flash alpha doesn't use acceleration on my 7900 GS or GTX 260.
Do you mean composite must be disabled such as this in xorg.conf?

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Disable"
EndSection

I'm not seeing a difference either way and with that composite does look disabled because no composite stuff works.

edit: well, ok, I am seeing maybe a small difference, although it could just as well be my imagination. if this is the hardware enabled flash benefit it's not too good. HD still not smooth and 69% cpu.

Last edited by ir123; 05-15-09 at 02:57 PM. Reason: extra
ir123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
320.17 can't detect video modes on Lenovo laptop tadawson NVIDIA Linux 13 07-14-12 01:40 AM
Very slow X startup Jeremy NVIDIA Linux 96 05-23-03 10:11 AM
Error messages... HELP!!!! Imperito NVIDIA Linux 3 09-24-02 10:46 PM
Nvidia GF4 MX 440 + Mandrake tomchristopher NVIDIA Linux 3 08-18-02 09:42 AM
nVidia drivers + Red Hat Linux 7.3 Error404 NVIDIA Linux 17 08-16-02 11:34 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.