Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-17-09, 02:17 PM   #1
LucasK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 12
Exclamation Can my rig handle fallout 3?

i have an asus g50vt-x1 laptop, and i did the system requirements lab test, and my computer was way past the reccomended bar, all the way into the fast area. here are my specs


Intel Core 2 Duo Processor P8400 (2.26GHz, 1066MHz FSB, 3MB L2 cache)
NVIDIA GeForce 9800M GS with 512MB of GDDR3 discrete video memory
15.6 WXGA Glossy LCD (1366x768)
Genuine Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium (64-bit) SP1
4GB (4096MB) DDR2 Memory (2 x 2048MB modules)
320GB 7200RPM Seagate HD
8x Multi-Format Dual Layer DVDRW with LightScribeTechnology
Integrated 1.3 Megapixel Web Cam
6-Cell 11.1v 4800mAh battery, 120w power supply
Size: 15.4" x 10.5 x 1.4-1.7"

thanks for the help!
LucasK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-09, 02:22 PM   #2
marqmajere
GeVooForceDoo
 
marqmajere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 1,064
Default Re: Can my rig handle fallout 3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LucasK View Post
i have an asus g50vt-x1 laptop, and i did the system requirements lab test, and my computer was way past the reccomended bar, all the way into the fast area. here are my specs


Intel Core 2 Duo Processor P8400 (2.26GHz, 1066MHz FSB, 3MB L2 cache)
NVIDIA GeForce 9800M GS with 512MB of GDDR3 discrete video memory
15.6 WXGA Glossy LCD (1366x768)
Genuine Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium (64-bit) SP1
4GB (4096MB) DDR2 Memory (2 x 2048MB modules)
320GB 7200RPM Seagate HD
8x Multi-Format Dual Layer DVDRW with LightScribeTechnology
Integrated 1.3 Megapixel Web Cam
6-Cell 11.1v 4800mAh battery, 120w power supply
Size: 15.4" x 10.5 x 1.4-1.7"

thanks for the help!
You'll be fine for Fallout3.
__________________
Hi! I'm a signature virus! Copy me into your signature file to help me spread!

Desktop - Asus M3A78-CM | AMD Phenom II 965 | 4 gigs G. Skill 1066 | ATI 5850 1 gig | WD 1TB Black
| Windows7 64-bit


Laptop - m11x
marqmajere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-09, 02:40 PM   #3
LucasK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 12
Default Re: Can my rig handle fallout 3?

yay! thanks so much haha the game looks like a beast so i wanna get it. im getting tired of owning noobs in cod 4 in 1v1s lmao
LucasK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-09, 02:56 PM   #4
Bigbuck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 316
Send a message via MSN to Bigbuck
Default Re: Can my rig handle fallout 3?

I'm playing it on my 9800M GTS at 1920x1200. Can't remember the detail settings as I just left them to whatever the game said was best. I get video lag every once in awhile and I think its due to the VRAM filling up so quickly with all the textures. I don't know that much about how Fallout 3 is designed so I could be wrong.
Bigbuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-09, 03:12 PM   #5
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Can my rig handle fallout 3?

thats a great laptop.
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-09, 03:13 PM   #6
bob saget
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, originally Russia
Posts: 23,134
Send a message via MSN to bob saget Send a message via Yahoo to bob saget
Default Re: Can my rig handle fallout 3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LucasK View Post
yay! thanks so much haha the game looks like a beast so i wanna get it. im getting tired of owning noobs in cod 4 in 1v1s lmao
why are you playing 1v1. play matches
bob saget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-09, 03:49 PM   #7
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Can my rig handle fallout 3?

It should run fine though it may chug a bit in the city areas.

Fallout 3's game engine tends to bog down in CPU-heavy areas, and your 2.2Ghz CPU is definitely the weak point of the system (though that's normal for laptops).

Other than that, it isn't a particularly graphics heavy game, so the 9800M GS should be fine, especially at 1366x768.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-09, 05:26 PM   #8
LucasK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 12
Default Re: Can my rig handle fallout 3?

im playing 1v1s because im trying to get into the best clan in cod 4 on pc, and they said i should 1v1 people more often, but its getting really boring because i win all the time. got a problem with it? too bad. i own at acog snipers and mp5 1v1. im really good especially for being a trainee in the clan.
LucasK is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-17-09, 05:28 PM   #9
LucasK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 12
Default Re: Can my rig handle fallout 3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob saget View Post
why are you playing 1v1. play matches

im sick of tdm and other matches too because it doesnt take skill. it takes more skill to man up and 1v1 someone then to sit on a server and talk crap, just like most of the scrubs that claim to be better then me, yet i own them so bad. one scrub said they were better then me i won 40 kills 0 deaths LMAO
LucasK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-09, 06:15 PM   #10
Albo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 3,633
Default Re: Can my rig handle fallout 3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LucasK View Post
im sick of tdm and other matches too because it doesnt take skill. it takes more skill to man up and 1v1 someone then to sit on a server and talk crap, just like most of the scrubs that claim to be better then me, yet i own them so bad. one scrub said they were better then me i won 40 kills 0 deaths LMAO
pshhhh
Thats it?
I average 80-0 wih my eyes closed
Albo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-09, 06:18 PM   #11
LucasK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 12
Default Re: Can my rig handle fallout 3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by albokid2468 View Post
pshhhh
Thats it?
I average 80-0 wih my eyes closed
i was talking about a fricking 1v1 against some scrub. the score limit was 40 kills idiot. A 1V1 NOT TDM.
LucasK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-09, 06:27 PM   #12
lee63
Classified
 
lee63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Murrieta, U.S./Taunton, U.K.
Posts: 4,263
Default Re: Can my rig handle fallout 3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LucasK View Post
i was talking about a fricking 1v1 against some scrub. the score limit was 40 kills idiot. A 1V1 NOT TDM.
No need to call people names.....tone it down.
__________________
lee63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Guru3D Rig of the Month - May 2012 News Archived News Items 0 05-30-12 05:26 AM
The PC Gamer Rig: New CPUs, motherboards and more News Archived News Items 0 05-08-12 06:00 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.