Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows 7

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-16-09, 04:18 AM   #1
LordJuanlo
Widescreen rules
 
LordJuanlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,184
Default Dynamic volume in Windows 7

It looks like Windows 7 can set different sound volumes for different apps. I think Vista did it too but I neved had issues with it.

Now in 7 I have a problem: I load TeamSpeak and then I enter Left 4 Dead. As soon as we start a match, 7 decides that TeamSpeak volume is too high and it reduces it to around 20% (all appz are around 80%) so I can barely hear my teammates. I alt-tab out of the game and manually raise it to 80%, so I can play and talk normally.

But when we finish one level, surprise, at the start of the next level Windows 7 lowers volume of TeamSpeak again, so alt-tab again and raise volume.

Can this "feature" be disabled?

__________________
Core i7 920 / Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Gigabyte EX58-Extreme / 6 Gb OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum
1 x Intel X-25M G2 80 Gb / 3 x Seagate 1 Tb (RAID5)
ATI 5870 (Graphics) + GeForce 9600GT (PhysX) on Samsung SM244T 1920x1200
LG GGW-H20L BluRay & HD-DVD / Logitech Z-5500 5.1 DTS / Westone 3 Earphones
Asus Xonar D2 / 360 Elite Wireless Controller / Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Windows 7 x64
(also a 360 and a PSP )
LordJuanlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-09, 06:15 AM   #2
LordJuanlo
Widescreen rules
 
LordJuanlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,184
Default Re: Dynamic volume in Windows 7

I think I found it, right clic on speaker icon on taskbar, sounds, and go to communications tab. Here are options to lower 80% of sounds when windows detects a program that makes use of voice over internet.



However it works bad with Steam and TeamSpeak, it allows Steam to remain at full volume and it lowers TeamSpeak. It only happens with Steam, I can play Lord of the Rings Online and TS volume is not affected.
__________________
Core i7 920 / Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Gigabyte EX58-Extreme / 6 Gb OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum
1 x Intel X-25M G2 80 Gb / 3 x Seagate 1 Tb (RAID5)
ATI 5870 (Graphics) + GeForce 9600GT (PhysX) on Samsung SM244T 1920x1200
LG GGW-H20L BluRay & HD-DVD / Logitech Z-5500 5.1 DTS / Westone 3 Earphones
Asus Xonar D2 / 360 Elite Wireless Controller / Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Windows 7 x64
(also a 360 and a PSP )
LordJuanlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-09, 12:58 PM   #3
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Dynamic volume in Windows 7

Per application sound control was debuted in Vista (one of the coolest features tbh )

Windows 7 has the same type of sound stacks so the effects should be the same. You can try kicking up the sound level of TS so when you enter into the games, it compensates. OR, try kicking up the volume level in the games and maybe that will compensate for TS?

Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-09, 05:14 AM   #4
LordJuanlo
Widescreen rules
 
LordJuanlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,184
Default Re: Dynamic volume in Windows 7

For whatever reason it only fails with Left 4 Dead, as I said before I must alt-tab out of the game to raise TS volume, but as soon as we change level, TS volume is set up at 20% again.

In other online games like LOTRO it does not happen. Anyway I disabled this "feature" and it's working fine.
__________________
Core i7 920 / Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Gigabyte EX58-Extreme / 6 Gb OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum
1 x Intel X-25M G2 80 Gb / 3 x Seagate 1 Tb (RAID5)
ATI 5870 (Graphics) + GeForce 9600GT (PhysX) on Samsung SM244T 1920x1200
LG GGW-H20L BluRay & HD-DVD / Logitech Z-5500 5.1 DTS / Westone 3 Earphones
Asus Xonar D2 / 360 Elite Wireless Controller / Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Windows 7 x64
(also a 360 and a PSP )
LordJuanlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-09, 09:14 AM   #5
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Dynamic volume in Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by LordJuanlo View Post
For whatever reason it only fails with Left 4 Dead, as I said before I must alt-tab out of the game to raise TS volume, but as soon as we change level, TS volume is set up at 20% again.

In other online games like LOTRO it does not happen. Anyway I disabled this "feature" and it's working fine.
Why are you using TS with L4D and not the built in voice chat?
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-09, 11:01 AM   #6
LordJuanlo
Widescreen rules
 
LordJuanlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 2,184
Default Re: Dynamic volume in Windows 7

Because I always play with the same people, my real life friends, and we have a TS server for all the games we play. Sometimes we just enter TS and start talking and after a while we launch a game and start playing, so we don't switch to in-game client, but we stay in TS.
__________________
Core i7 920 / Noctua NH-U12P SE1366
Gigabyte EX58-Extreme / 6 Gb OCZ PC3-12800 Platinum
1 x Intel X-25M G2 80 Gb / 3 x Seagate 1 Tb (RAID5)
ATI 5870 (Graphics) + GeForce 9600GT (PhysX) on Samsung SM244T 1920x1200
LG GGW-H20L BluRay & HD-DVD / Logitech Z-5500 5.1 DTS / Westone 3 Earphones
Asus Xonar D2 / 360 Elite Wireless Controller / Gigabyte Odin GT 800W
Windows 7 x64
(also a 360 and a PSP )
LordJuanlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-09, 10:11 AM   #7
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Dynamic volume in Windows 7

TS/Ventrilo also have much better sound quality than in-game chat.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-09, 11:28 AM   #8
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Dynamic volume in Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
TS/Ventrilo also have much better sound quality than in-game chat.
maybe but in game is just soo easy
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 11:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 10:10 AM
Hands-on: Windows 8's SkyDrive News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 08:30 PM
NVIDIA Brings 18 Years of Experience to Windows 8 News Archived News Items 0 06-03-12 07:20 AM
Sync it up: Hands on with the preview of Windows 8's cloud sync service News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 09:30 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.