Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-19-09, 04:28 AM   #1
lightmans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Düsseldorf / Germany
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to lightmans Send a message via MSN to lightmans Send a message via Yahoo to lightmans
Default Resolution in KDE4 and X-Games 1280x800 not available

Hello together!
Can somebody help me please in this case?

Since some time i can not choose the resoltution 1280x800 in games and any X-Server like KDE4 or Gnome. I dont know what and when that happend...

I attached my xorg.conf (xorg.conf.log) and my Xorg.0.log Log file...

My system:
Kubuntu Januty x64 installed
with a self compiled new kernel from kernel.org (2.6.29.3)
KDE4.2
Using the prerelease Nvidia Linux driver 180.60
Geforce GT8600
amdx2 6000+
4gb ram
Acer AL2216w TFT 16:10 LCD Display

thx you in anticipation,
lightmans
Attached Files
File Type: log Xorg.0.log (20.1 KB, 58 views)
File Type: log xorg.conf.log (1.2 KB, 69 views)
__________________
Live and let live
lightmans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-09, 05:00 AM   #2
NvFuchs
Registered Fox
 
NvFuchs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica
Posts: 530
Default Re: Resolution in KDE4 and X-Games 1280x800 not available

The driver does not recognize the modes you specified as valid, when checking them against the informations the monitor provides.

You can disable parts of the mode validation / EDID based modes as described here:

http://us.download.nvidia.com/XFree8...ppendix-b.html

or you can try to work with modelines, which should be accepted by the driver afair.

Fuchs
NvFuchs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-09, 07:43 AM   #3
lightmans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Düsseldorf / Germany
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to lightmans Send a message via MSN to lightmans Send a message via Yahoo to lightmans
Default Re: Resolution in KDE4 and X-Games 1280x800 not available

Hello,
i tried it like you say but it does not help and make the case more weird.
if i use for ex.
Code:
# Option         "UseEDID"                   "FALSE"
Or
# Option         "UseEDIDFreqs"              "FALSE"
Or
# Option         "UseEDIDDpi"                "FALSE"
Or
# Option          "ModeValidation"           "NoEdidModes"
or all together....
then i have only a screenresoultion of 640x480 or 1024x768

i also now added the monitor section into the xorg.conf

Code:
Section "Monitor"
        Identifier      "acer"
        Option          "DPMS"
        HorizSync       30-81
        VertRefresh     50
EndSection

thats now my modified xorg.conf

Code:
Section "Screen"
        Identifier      "Default Screen"
        Monitor         "acer"
        DefaultDepth    24
#    Option         "AllowSHMPixmaps"           "0"
#    Option         "PixmapCacheSize"           "12800000"
    Option          "OnDemandVBlankInterrupts" "True"
    Option          "Coolbits"                  "1"
    Option          "NvAGP"                     "1"
    Option          "RenderAccel"               "true"
    Option          "AllowGLXWithComposite"     "true"
    Option          "NoLogo"                    "True"
    Option          "AddARGBGLXVisuals"         "True"
    Option          "BackingStore"              "true"
    Option          "UseCompositeWrapper"       "true"
#    Option         "UseEDID"                   "FALSE"
#    Option         "UseEDIDFreqs"              "FALSE"
#    Option         "UseEDIDDpi"                "FALSE"
#    Option          "ModeValidation"           "NoEdidModes"
    Option          "ConnectedMonitor"      "DFP-0"
    Option          "MetaModes"             "DFP-0: 1680x1050; DFP-0: 1440x900; DFP-0: 1280x800; DFP-0: 1152x864; DFP-0: 1024x768; DFP-0: 800x600;"
    SubSection "Display"
            Depth   24
            Modes                               "nvidia-autoselect"
#           Modes           "1680x1050" "1440x900"      "1280x800"      "1152x768"      "1024x768"      "800x600"       "640x480"
    EndSubSection
EndSection
whats the solution? pls help ...
__________________
Live and let live
lightmans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-09, 12:16 PM   #4
lightmans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Düsseldorf / Germany
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to lightmans Send a message via MSN to lightmans Send a message via Yahoo to lightmans
Default Re: Resolution in KDE4 and X-Games 1280x800 not available

why happens that?

Code:
(--) NVIDIA(0): Connected display device(s) on GeForce 8600 GT at PCI:4:0:0:
(--) NVIDIA(0):     Acer AL2216W (DFP-0)
(--) NVIDIA(0): Acer AL2216W (DFP-0): 330.0 MHz maximum pixel clock
(--) NVIDIA(0): Acer AL2216W (DFP-0): Internal Dual Link TMDS
(II) NVIDIA(0): Display Device found referenced in MetaMode: DFP-0
(II) NVIDIA(0): Assigned Display Device: DFP-0
(WW) NVIDIA(0): No valid modes for "DFP-0:1280x800"; removing.
(II) NVIDIA(0): Validated modes:
(II) NVIDIA(0):     "DFP-0:1680x1050"
(II) NVIDIA(0):     "DFP-0:1440x900"
(II) NVIDIA(0):     "DFP-0:1152x864"
(II) NVIDIA(0):     "DFP-0:1024x768"
(II) NVIDIA(0):     "DFP-0:800x600"
(II) NVIDIA(0): Virtual screen size determined to be 1680 x 1050
(--) NVIDIA(0): DPI set to (90, 88); computed from "UseEdidDpi" X config
(--) NVIDIA(0):     option
(**) NVIDIA(0): Enabling 32-bit ARGB GLX visuals.
__________________
Live and let live
lightmans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-09, 01:07 PM   #5
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: Resolution in KDE4 and X-Games 1280x800 not available

See the forum sticky posts about how to generate a verbose mode validation log.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-09, 01:56 PM   #6
lightmans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Düsseldorf / Germany
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to lightmans Send a message via MSN to lightmans Send a message via Yahoo to lightmans
Default Re: Resolution in KDE4 and X-Games 1280x800 not available

Ok i do it... you mean this right?
and which or what log file do i send you? and where do i find it?

Code:
please start the X server with `startx -- -logverbose 6`
__________________
Live and let live
lightmans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-09, 02:02 PM   #7
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: Resolution in KDE4 and X-Games 1280x800 not available

That's right. After starting the X server that way, just run nvidia-bug-report.sh as usual.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-09, 02:21 PM   #8
lightmans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Düsseldorf / Germany
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to lightmans Send a message via MSN to lightmans Send a message via Yahoo to lightmans
Default Re: Resolution in KDE4 and X-Games 1280x800 not available

okay.. i did it and here is the file... i hope that will help you and thats all
Attached Files
File Type: gz nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (51.7 KB, 61 views)
__________________
Live and let live
lightmans is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-22-09, 06:49 AM   #9
lightmans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Düsseldorf / Germany
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to lightmans Send a message via MSN to lightmans Send a message via Yahoo to lightmans
Default Re: Resolution in KDE4 and X-Games 1280x800 not available

hey guys dont forgett me
pls help... wanna have this resolution back
cu
lightmans
__________________
Live and let live
lightmans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-09, 10:52 AM   #10
AaronP
NVIDIA Corporation
 
AaronP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,487
Default Re: Resolution in KDE4 and X-Games 1280x800 not available

Sorry, this fell through the cracks somehow.

There is no mode defined named "1280x800". The EDID doesn't list that as a supported resolution. You'll have to add one using a ModeLine in xorg.conf. Please see the xorg.conf man page. You might also want to look into the 'cvt' program, which you can use to generate mode lines.
AaronP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-09, 11:09 AM   #11
lightmans
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Düsseldorf / Germany
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to lightmans Send a message via MSN to lightmans Send a message via Yahoo to lightmans
Default Re: Resolution in KDE4 and X-Games 1280x800 not available

puh listen difficult,
can somebody help me to create this "modeline" ?

i will give it try and check the man page of the xorg.conf

but if you have a link or a hint then post it here pls

greetz
lightmans
__________________
Live and let live
lightmans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.