Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-25-09, 08:05 PM   #1
3DBrad
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2,261
Lightbulb New machine or just a new graphics card?

So been quite busy, so haven't been able to do much else on PC except for work. Now, current PC specs are in the sig (q6600, 8800gt, etc.) so I'm just curious if I should perhaps buy a new graphics (perhaps a eVGA GTX 285 or whatever is best at the time of purchase) or save up for a new machine?

I work in the video game industry as a 3d artist, so I do a lot of 3d work, but also enjoy playing PC games. Thanks for your time.

PS:
Not sure if my motherboard is PCIx 16/2.0 compliant, or does it matter?
Specs here,
http://www.cdrinfo.com/Sections/Revi...rticleId=19127

PS 2.0
I also use a 1680x1050 monitor.
__________________
"What are politics? Another name for every man getting as much as he can out of the nation. " Charles H. Spurgeon
3DBrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-09, 09:23 PM   #2
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: New machine or just a new graphics card?

A 285 would be a nice upgrade, and it doesn't need a pci 2.0 in order to work.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-09, 09:29 PM   #3
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: New machine or just a new graphics card?

A graphics card upgrade would probably be plenty to keep that system running smooth for quite a while.

IMO, you have a few options. Buy a GTX 260 216 core for around $180 (a bargain), buy a GTX 275 for around $230 (also a good buy) or wait for the GT300 from nvidia. The specs are more than twice the GTX 285's in almost every way. There's a good chance it'll be available before October. It should beat pretty much everything available now, other than quad SLI or quad crossfire setups... and it'll likely beat those in some areas, without any multi-gpu headaches.

If you have a bit of extra money available though, by all means, upgrade now. You can always sell and grab a GT300 later, depending on how crazy you are when it comes to upgrading.

Also, as methim said, you don't need PCI-E 2.0, it mainly just helps with SLI or Crossfire setups. I don't really think the GTX 285 is the best buy right now though. Its the best single-card available, sure, but I don't think its a big enough leap over the 275 to make it worth the extra $100.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-09, 09:58 PM   #4
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: New machine or just a new graphics card?

New video card should be fine.

Give it another year or two before going to the next level
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-09, 10:59 PM   #5
SH64
MAXIMUM TECH
 
SH64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Indiana
Posts: 12,202
Default Re: New machine or just a new graphics card?

These days, New graphics card = New machine! go for a new gfx card and you wont need much more seeing your current specs.
__________________


- "My name is RAM and my tank is full"

http://warhawk64nv.mybrute.com/ <-- pupils go thaarrr! Or,
http://silenthunter64.mybrute.com
SH64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-09, 11:03 PM   #6
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: New machine or just a new graphics card?

At that res you will be able to max out the settings on ALMOST every game out now with a 285. Lots of anti-aliasing, lots of shadows, AF, etc.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-09, 06:08 AM   #7
Toss3
.<<o>>.
 
Toss3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 4,763
Default Re: New machine or just a new graphics card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3DBrad View Post
So been quite busy, so haven't been able to do much else on PC except for work. Now, current PC specs are in the sig (q6600, 8800gt, etc.) so I'm just curious if I should perhaps buy a new graphics (perhaps a eVGA GTX 285 or whatever is best at the time of purchase) or save up for a new machine?

I work in the video game industry as a 3d artist, so I do a lot of 3d work, but also enjoy playing PC games. Thanks for your time.

PS:
Not sure if my motherboard is PCIx 16/2.0 compliant, or does it matter?
Specs here,
http://www.cdrinfo.com/Sections/Revi...rticleId=19127

PS 2.0
I also use a 1680x1050 monitor.
Either a GTX 260/275 or ATI 4870/90 would do fine.
__________________
: :Asus Rampage II Gene : : Core i7 920 4011Mhz : : 6Gb 1600Mhz A-Data DDR3 : : Club3D Theatron Agrippa : : Intel 80GB SSD : : 2xSamsung F1 750Gb : : Sapphire 5850 @ 850/1225Mhz : :
: :Benq FP241W : : Optoma HD80 Projector + 92" Screen : : Genelec 8020B speakers : : Sony MDR-XB700 Headphones : : Razer Lycosa : : Razer Lachesis : :
Toss3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-09, 06:19 AM   #8
Dazz
"TOON ARMY!"
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Newcastle, United Kingdom
Posts: 5,138
Send a message via AIM to Dazz
Default Re: New machine or just a new graphics card?

Well a better video card for sure with your Q6600 at 3.46GHz
__________________
"Never interupt your enemy when he is making a mistake."

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition @ 4.25GHz
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Graphics: ASUS ENGTX470
Memory: 4GB Kingston HyperX Blu PC12800 DDR3
Monitor: LG E2260V-PN Full HD WLED 22" & DELL 20" 2005FPW,
Power: Coolermaster Silent Pro Modular 850w PSU
Sound: Logitech Z5500 Digital.
Cooling: Thermalright Silver Arrow.
1st Storage: Kingston V100 SSDNow128GB SSD
2nd Storage: Samsung Spinpoint F1 750GB
Dazz is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-26-09, 07:00 AM   #9
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,728
Default Re: New machine or just a new graphics card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3DBrad View Post
I work in the video game industry as a 3d artist
Freelance? Small dev?

I'd have thought you'd get hardware as part of your job for free considering how much money is involved in production.
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 8gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-09, 07:40 AM   #10
john19055
 
john19055's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: GREENVILLE,TX
Posts: 3,859
Default Re: New machine or just a new graphics card?

A GTX 285 would show a big increase in games with your Q6600 clocked at 3.46gigs.excepcially with the new games.since you just game at 1680x1050 you would be able to turn up FSAA and aniso in games.
__________________
Intel i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16gigs G.Skill PC1600DDR3+2-ASUS DirectCU II GTX-670 in SLI+Crucial 256g-SSD+1-3Gig Seagate+2- Samsung 1-TB+3-WesternDigtial 640g+LG-12x Blu-Ray Burner+850watt XFX+Antec-P280 case+50" Plasma PM6700+Logitech Mouse+Keyboard+Pioneer VSX-1020+Polk Audio Speakers
john19055 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-09, 08:21 AM   #11
sammy sung
 
sammy sung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 2,316
Default Re: New machine or just a new graphics card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by XDanger View Post
Freelance? Small dev?

I'd have thought you'd get hardware as part of your job for free considering how much money is involved in production.
Might differ between office and home computer perhaps ?
__________________
-=[Q9650@3.6GHZ | Thermalright ultra 120 extreme | Antec 1200 |ASUS P5Q-PREMIUM|MSI N580GTX Twin Frozr II| Kingston Hyper X DDR2 1066 4GB]=-
sammy sung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-09, 09:33 AM   #12
XDanger
Whaaat?
 
XDanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,728
Default Re: New machine or just a new graphics card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sammy sung View Post
Might differ between office and home computer perhaps ?
It would still be an expense though right? You can claim it back.
__________________
2500K 4.7ghz,P8P67Pro,120gb Force3, 8gb Vengeance,R9290,TX850v2,W7HP,LaCie Blue 22" crt COMMODORE 64 Silver Label 1Mhz/128D 4Mhz(Z80)
XDanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thoughts from console owners on NVIDIA's GEFORCE GRID MikeC Console World 11 05-27-12 09:43 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.