Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-14-09, 06:58 PM   #49
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: Nvidia + Matrox TripleHead2Go with resolution 5040x1050!

Quote:
Originally Posted by chall View Post
Built a new machine using Vista 64, Core i7, MSI Nvidia 260, etc, and all monitors are showing 50 Hz and 48 Hz refresh rates.
In posting #31 in this thread, portwolf mentioned that he is also using Vista 64, and his
LCDs show 48Hz, too. Maybe you can post a screenshot of the nvidia control panel
showing the timings for the 5040x1050 mode? Maybe the GTX 260 is also affected by
the reduced maximum DVI output clock of the Vista nvidia driver as portwolf described
for his GTX 285 in posting #46? I suggest filing a bug report to Matrox and/or Nvidia.

My GTX 260 is working just fine with Linux :-)

regards

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-09, 10:17 PM   #50
chall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Nvidia + Matrox TripleHead2Go with resolution 5040x1050!

Here it is...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	nvidia.jpg
Views:	536
Size:	66.4 KB
ID:	36484  
chall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-09, 05:17 AM   #51
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: Nvidia + Matrox TripleHead2Go with resolution 5040x1050!

Quote:
Originally Posted by chall View Post
Here it is...
The pixel clock says 273.45 MHz where it should be 327.27MHz (5376*1068*57).
Means: you are facing the same situation as portwolf described in posting #46.

regards

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-09, 06:59 PM   #52
RoboWrangler
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Nvidia + Matrox TripleHead2Go with resolution 5040x1050!

Thanks for the great thread. I know that this is old, but I just wanted to report that using the xorg.conf originally posted in this thread, I was able to get 3 1440x900 monitors working perfectly on my dual eVGA 8800GTS cards (Ubuntu Hardy Heron 64-bit with latest drivers from the NVIDIA web site).

Then I just needed to move over my keyboard layout and mouse configurations and I'm a happy TH2G user again.

Thanks so much for your help! If I ever get two TH2Gs and the corresponding sets of monitors, I know where to go.
RoboWrangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-09, 08:26 PM   #53
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: Nvidia + Matrox TripleHead2Go with resolution 5040x1050!

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoboWrangler View Post
I just wanted to report that using the xorg.conf originally posted in this thread, I was able to get 3 1440x900 monitors working
Feedback is always welcome, of course :-)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RoboWrangler View Post
on my dual eVGA 8800GTS cards
So i guess you are currently running the two cards in SLI mode?

regards

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-09, 09:15 PM   #54
RoboWrangler
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Nvidia + Matrox TripleHead2Go with resolution 5040x1050!

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaXXoN View Post
So i guess you are currently running the two cards in SLI mode?
At the moment, yes, I have SLI set to "Auto". However, when I first got it working, I used your xorg.conf without modifications (e.g. no SLI) and that was fine as well.
RoboWrangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-09, 01:23 PM   #55
ijameni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: Nvidia + Matrox TripleHead2Go with resolution 5040x1050!

Has anyone seen this one?
http://www.instructables.com/id/How-...tors-in-linux/

It sort of makes sense but I cant get it to work just right.

Fedora 11 / Gnome / 2 Dual cards (GeForce 8600 and GeForce 6200) 4 LCDs

3 days of scouring everything I can find about xorg.conf example configs I have been able to setup only either 2 Twinviews Spanned across 2 monitors each or 4 individual.

I am amazed to find through this thread and others that You cant have 1 desktop across 3 / 4 / ++ screens? I am embarrassed for linux!

Heres my xorg.conf that supports 2 Twinviews, which is really stupid, everytime you open something on the secondary Twinview it opens on the main Twinview, making the second Twinview USELESS

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout0"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
Screen 1 "Screen1" RightOf "Screen0"
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/default/Type1"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from data in "/etc/sysconfig/keyboard"
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "DELL E198FP"
HorizSync 31.0 - 80.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 75.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "DELL E198FP"
HorizSync 31.0 - 80.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 75.0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor2"
VendorName "UNKNOWN"
ModelName "DELL E/etc/X11/xorg.conf/etc/X11/xorg.conf198FP"
HorizSync 31.0 - 80.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 75.0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor3"
VendorName "UNKNOWN"
ModelName "DELL E198FP"
HorizSync 31.0 - 80.0
VertRefresh 56.0 - 75.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 8300"
BusID "PCI:2:0:0"

# /*Added by Jamen
Option "TwinView" "true"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "31-81"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "55-85"
Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024,1280x1024;
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT,CRT"
# */ Added by Jamen

EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device1"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 6200"
BusID "PCI:1:7:0"

# /*Added by Jamen
Option "TwinView" "true"
Option "TwinViewOrientation" "RightOf"
Option "SecondMonitorHorizSync" "31-81"
Option "SecondMonitorVertRefresh" "55-85"
Option "MetaModes" "1280x1024,1280x1024;
Option "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT,CRT"
# */ Added by Jamen

EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "1"
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
Option "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select +0+0, DFP: nvidia-auto-select +1280+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen1"
Device "Device1"
Monitor "Monitor1"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "1"
Option "metamodes" "CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0, CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +1280+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection
ijameni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-09, 07:21 PM   #56
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: Nvidia + Matrox TripleHead2Go with resolution 5040x1050!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ijameni View Post
This How-to seems to be about 10 years old (tnt2, riva and voodoo3) and describes
a "traditional" multi-card multi-head setup. Please check posting #2 in the following
thread for details on the disadvantages of such configurations (nvidia only):
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=133740

Quote:
Originally Posted by ijameni View Post
I am amazed to find through this thread and others that You cant have 1 desktop across 3 / 4 / ++ screens? I am embarrassed for linux!

[...]

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection
Please try "Xinerama" "1"?

BTW., in this context: does somebody know how well gnome can today scope
with multiple X screens (rather than using twinview, TH2G or a mix of both) in
the sense of moving windows across X screen boundaries? Last time I tried
a couple of years ago (I prefer fvmw2), it was not possible to move windows
across screen boundaries without enabling xinerama. Just curious ...

regards

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-11-09, 08:41 PM   #57
xianthax
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 38
Default Re: Nvidia + Matrox TripleHead2Go with resolution 5040x1050!

jaxxon: as you have basically the same setup i do now i think wondering if you've seen these issues at all, for reference:

GTX260
2 x TH2G, each @ 5040x1050 twin view to 6 x 22" screens
ubuntu 9.04 with compiz.

1) VM's, either under virtualbox or vmware, KILL 2d performance, if there are a couple 3d apps running and a VM it enters slide show land with little to no cpu or disk load. closing a VM seems to leave residue poor performance, some times causing weird failures, such as vdpau output failing in mplayer or a compiz crash requiring an xorg restart. basic 2d apps + vm's seem ok.

2) creeping xorg memory, restarted X yesterday and Xorg is sitting at 550mb ram usage. seems to be tied to 3d app / VM usage, the more i use such apps the faster the usage grows. eventually it gets to 600-700mb and i am forced to restart X to get my memory back

neither issue is critical but it does require me to restart X every couple days or so.
xianthax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-09, 09:27 PM   #58
ijameni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: Nvidia + Matrox TripleHead2Go with resolution 5040x1050!

Thanks for the reply. When I enable xinerama all 4 monitors flash in and out of power saving mode until I hard reboot and update xorg.conf
ijameni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-09, 06:00 PM   #59
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: Nvidia + Matrox TripleHead2Go with resolution 5040x1050!

Quote:
Originally Posted by xianthax View Post
jaxxon: as you have basically the same setup i do now i think wondering if you've seen these issues at all, for reference:

GTX260
2 x TH2G, each @ 5040x1050 twin view to 6 x 22" screens
ubuntu 9.04 with compiz.

1) VM's, either under virtualbox or vmware, KILL 2d performance, if there are a couple 3d apps running and a VM it enters slide show land with little to no cpu or disk load. closing a VM seems to leave residue poor performance, some times causing weird failures, such as vdpau output failing in mplayer or a compiz crash requiring an xorg restart. basic 2d apps + vm's seem ok.

2) creeping xorg memory, restarted X yesterday and Xorg is sitting at 550mb ram usage. seems to be tied to 3d app / VM usage, the more i use such apps the faster the usage grows. eventually it gets to 600-700mb and i am forced to restart X to get my memory back

neither issue is critical but it does require me to restart X every couple days or so.
Hi xianthax!

I didn't yet observed any performance losses while running VMware Server 2.
Also, I didn't recognized X server memory leaks, but I poweroff my computer
when I don't need it (typically over night), so it might be that I just didn't yet
affected me.

Do these problem persist when using a single screen rather than using
the six head dual TH2G setup? Please note that I needed to increase
the 2D memory clock for proper operation: with the default 100MHz for
the memory, the screen blanked for some graphical operations.

Some brief maths in this context:
width*height*bpp*vertrefresh = 5040*1050*4*57 = 2.23 GB/sec.
100MHz*buswidth_in_bits/8 = 100Mhz*448/8 = 5.16 GB/sec.

Means: at 100MHz the memory bandwidth of 5.16GB/sec should
be good enough for displaying the 5040x2100 mode (2.23GB/sec needed),
but memory refresh cycles and DMA operations are reducing the practically
available bandwidth to the point where the display blanks (at least
that's my theory)

Can you please try out a higher memory speed? (I'm using 333MHz for 2D)

Do these problem persist when not using compiz? (I'm using fvwm2)

regards

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-09, 05:38 AM   #60
JaXXoN
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Munich
Posts: 910
Default Re: Nvidia + Matrox TripleHead2Go with resolution 5040x1050!

Hi!

Just for those who are curious, here are some corrections, observations
and additional information:

1. The maths in my previous mail has been wrong: since there are two
DVI outputs running at 5040x1050, the required bandwidth is 2*2.23GB/sec,
resulting in 4.46 GB/sec, which is pretty close to the theoretical maximum
of 5.16GB/sec at 100MHz memory clock. So it's actually no wonder that there
is screen blanking at that speed with a 5040x2100 resolution. In this context:
I needed to set the memory clock to 500MHz in order to get rid of any blanking.

2. I switched from VMWare to VirtualBox: with the guest tools installed, the
latest release includes experimental DirectX 9 support and I successfully
tried out UT2004 on a virtual Windows XP installation. With the DeathMatch
"Antalus" map, there are only 15-25 FPS (@800x600) - not really well playable,
yet, but at least that's a beginning :-) BTW: the "Onslaught" game mode
doesn't work: VirtualBox crashes when the match is about to begin.
BTW: the guest tools of VirtualBox allows dynamic resizing, means: when
maximizing the VirtualBox window, then the guest OS inside will auto-resize
it's desktop, too. In my case, that means the virtual Windows XP can easily
run at a resolution of 5032x2022 pixels.

3. For those who might need it, here's the modeline for 3x1024x768 (3072x768):
Code:
ModeLine  "3072x768"  195.00 3072 3144 3384 4032  768  771  780  806 +HSync +VSync
4. Matrox now officially supports Linux "for tested versions of leading Linux
distributions". See "Specifications" at
http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/products/gxm/th2go/
However, there is still only one TH2G per PC supported.

regards

Bernhard
JaXXoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Help Installing NVIDIA Tesla M2070Q in Linux RHEL5 Ferianto85 NVIDIA Linux 0 05-18-12 08:35 PM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 brings Kepler on a $399 budget (SlashGear) News GeForce GTX 670 Reviews 0 05-10-12 08:40 AM
Rumor regarding lack of 680 availability ViN86 Rumor Mill 6 05-09-12 04:48 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.