Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-27-09, 07:36 PM   #13
Tuork
Official pain in the ass
 
Tuork's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,197
Send a message via MSN to Tuork
Default Re: Windows Vista SP2 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1 View Post
Nothing REALLY that big from what I can tell. Must be a lot of under-the-hood tweaking.

Oh well. If it makes it better, I can't complain.
__________________
My avatar: "An obscure and non sensical pattern made to get people to post what they think it is" - Vamp

Dimitri:
Dell XPS M1530
Core2Duo T5550 1.86Ghz | 3GB DDR2 | 8600M GT 256MB | 250GB Hdd | BenQ FP202W 20" LCD | MX1000 mouse | Inspire T5400 5.1
Tuork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-09, 09:23 PM   #14
v3rninater
Blowin up since 1969
 
v3rninater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,095
Default Re: Windows Vista SP2 Released

meh...Mass Effect is buggier now....wtg Vista!!!
__________________
Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 3.4ghz 1600fsb || Gigabyte P45 EP45-UD3R stable as a rooock! || 4gb G-Skill DDR2 PC8500 5-5-5-15 || EVGA 580-GTX 1.5gb || Creative Fatal1ty Xram Sound Card 7.1 ||G-Skill Phoenix Pro SSD 120gb|| WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || 2x Samsung DVD burner 16x DVD+\- || Corsair 620watt PSU
Win 7 Ultimate 64bit (640gb hd)

AMD Phenom II X6 T1090 || Gigabyte GA880 || 4gb G-skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600 || MSI 8800 Ultra o/c || WD BLACK 32mb cache 640gb HD || ASUS DVD Burner || XFX 750 watt PSU

LG 60" 1080p 600Hz Plasma HDTV 60PS11
Xbox 360
v3rninater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-09, 11:14 PM   #15
Shamrock
Royalty gone awry
 
Shamrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,612
Default Re: Windows Vista SP2 Released

Isn't this suppose to fix the hard drive thrashing? I know my laptop does it, ALOT!
__________________
They're after me Lucky Charms!

AMD Phenom II 955BE
16GB G.Skill Sniper DDR3 1333Mhz
Sapphire Radeon HD 7850
Logitech Z-5300 5.1 THX surround sound
HANNS-G 28" LCD
ZBoard Merc Gaming Keyboard
CoolerMaster HAF-932 Full Tower Case
Windows 7 Pro x64
Shamrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-09, 09:09 AM   #16
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Windows Vista SP2 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuork View Post
Nothing REALLY that big from what I can tell. Must be a lot of under-the-hood tweaking.

Oh well. If it makes it better, I can't complain.
I just recently installed the retail slipstreamed and am extremely happy with it, very snappy.

Shamrock -No hdd thrashing

boot up only about 15 seconds longer than win 7

transfer speeds seem fine at the moment, although I'll keep testing that as that was my main gripe earlier.

Only game installed now is L4D, but it's just fine so far.

No bugs to report yet.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-09, 12:16 PM   #17
Retrolock
 
Retrolock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: Windows Vista SP2 Released

I had a bit of a problem installing sp2 for vista x64. After the pc rebooted, it was updating the system files when it stopped with this error:

!! 0xc0190036 !! 1164/76494 (oobefldr.dll)

I was stumped. I tried auto repairing it with the vista dvd, but it was to no avail. After googling for answers on my win 7 hdd, I learned by just using the command prompt on the vista installation disk, I was able to go to the directory of the oobefldr.dll and delete it. It was probably corrupted. After that the sp2 installation went through and voila, I'm using vista x64 sp2 now . Hope this helps if anyone out here encounters the same problem.
__________________
i7-2600k, Xspc rs240, Asus Maximus IV Gene-z, 8gb G.Skill DDR3 1866 RIPJAWSX CL7, PoV GTX 670, Corsair HX1000W, 128GB Vertex 4, WD 1tb Caviar Black, 500 & 320gb Seagate
Retrolock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-09, 08:35 PM   #18
trivium nate
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4,023
Default Re: Windows Vista SP2 Released

i got this but i dont notice any changes...
__________________
CM-HAF-932//AMD Phenom-II-X4-965-BE-Deneb-3.4 GHz-Quad Core//CorsairH50
ASRock 770 EXTREME3 Mobo//EVGA GTX-480(1536MB GDDR5)-Arctic Cooling Accelero Xtreme+cooler
180GB SSD//3TB//G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB//DVD-RW//blu-Ray//1000 Watt Corsair PSU
42"Vizio TV-1920x1080-1080P-120Hertz//Win 7 Ultimate(64)//XBox360-pc controller
Saitek Eclipse 2 keyboard//Razer DeathAdder Mouse//250gb-Xbox 360//160gb-PS3
trivium nate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-09, 10:39 AM   #19
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Windows Vista SP2 Released

Too many "the application has stopped responding" errors for me. Just installed on a PC Im working on the SP2 integrated and every few mins something craps out. I have the same issue on mine upgraded from SP1. Glad Windows 7 works properly.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-09, 11:51 AM   #20
Q
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 7,808
Default Re: Windows Vista SP2 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by mailman2 View Post
Too many "the application has stopped responding" errors for me. Just installed on a PC Im working on the SP2 integrated and every few mins something craps out. I have the same issue on mine upgraded from SP1. Glad Windows 7 works properly.
Same here. Firefox is the worst, or at least the most noticeable. I'm glad to hear that W7 really has addressed whatever issues there were....
Q is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 05-31-09, 01:12 PM   #21
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,959
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Re: Windows Vista SP2 Released

Why are vaerious apps doing this in sp2?

Even Pictomio a picture app always crashes but haven't had issue with FF yet.

This sp2 must be buggy or ms is doing this on purpose to lear people to 7 which they shouldn't even try since 7 rules anyway.

Wow.
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-09, 01:23 PM   #22
Tuork
Official pain in the ass
 
Tuork's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,197
Send a message via MSN to Tuork
Default Re: Windows Vista SP2 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Bigman View Post
This sp2 must be buggy or ms is doing this on purpose to lear people to 7 which they shouldn't even try since 7 rules anyway.
Right. It's a big conspiracy against you, you twat.

On a side not, I wish someone would "lear" you off a cliff.
__________________
My avatar: "An obscure and non sensical pattern made to get people to post what they think it is" - Vamp

Dimitri:
Dell XPS M1530
Core2Duo T5550 1.86Ghz | 3GB DDR2 | 8600M GT 256MB | 250GB Hdd | BenQ FP202W 20" LCD | MX1000 mouse | Inspire T5400 5.1
Tuork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-09, 01:41 PM   #23
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,959
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Re: Windows Vista SP2 Released

Hay go to hell buddy.

Sp2 is buggy.
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-09, 02:11 PM   #24
mailman2
Ducking & Dodging
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3,948
Default Re: Windows Vista SP2 Released

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuork View Post
Right. It's a big conspiracy against you, you twat.

On a side not, I wish someone would "lear" you off a cliff.
fell off my chair LOLing! Well played Sir.
__________________
i7-2600k @ 4.6Ghz, Zotac GTX 680 (1310/7000), 16GB DDR3 1600, 2 x 1TB Samsung F3 RAID 0, Windows 7 x64, CPU and GPU custom watercooled

Quote:
Originally Posted by General Lee View Post
Oh, if the whole world had only one neck for me to squeeze in my hands...
mailman2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why Windows 8 could be the next Vista News Archived News Items 0 06-15-12 10:30 AM
Like XP or Vista: how will businesses treat Windows 8? News Archived News Items 0 06-06-12 09:10 AM
NVIDIA Brings 18 Years of Experience to Windows 8 News Archived News Items 0 06-03-12 06:20 AM
Sync it up: Hands on with the preview of Windows 8's cloud sync service News Archived News Items 0 06-02-12 08:30 PM
$15 Windows 8 upgrades available from Microsoft through January 2013 News Archived News Items 0 06-01-12 11:50 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.