Go Back   nV News Forums > Hardware Forums > Benchmarking And Overclocking

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-11-09, 12:55 PM   #13
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by [AK]Zip View Post
Use real temp. I don't think the Zalman 7700cu will keep up on higher clocks speeds due to temps.
what do you guys suggest? I dno't wnat to dump too much money into a system like this because it's not exactly cutting edge even though it still performs well... tuniq tower?... also considering lapping the heatsink since I heard the core 2 s and onward all the way up to the i7s have horribly concave or convex heatspreaders
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-09, 05:05 PM   #14
[AK]Zip
New Level Of Epic
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 780
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

I would suggest you first try and see the best you can do on what you have. If you feel that you are being limited due to temps then upgrade. Otherwise just stick with it.
[AK]Zip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-09, 07:00 PM   #15
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

yeh i'm in the process of doing that right now.

temps are

73/73/71/70

with max of

77/75/73/71

on all 4 cores (0-3) after about 30 min of "max heat" on prime 95...

... hta'ts at 3.2ghz 1.385v so yes... my heatsink appears to definetly falter here... I originally got it when I had a p4.. then got a dual core opteron... both cpus weren't nearly as hot as a quad core.

I'm thinking of lapping first and then seeing where that gets me... I'm not too interested in goin gwith more exotic cooling unless that involves water + CM cosmos s..... I've been wanting that case for a while but idk...
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-09, 08:26 PM   #16
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

Try running a higher multiplier and lower FSB... will take less voltage and you will probably get a higher clock with ease. You will also lower your temps. Not sure how your motherboard works... but on mine 400Mhz FSB is the highest stress point... at which point 401Mhz goes into different timings and the NB becomes more stable. However, it runs faster below 400Mhz FSB unless I somehow manage to get it stable at a FSB above 420Mhz.
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-09, 08:34 PM   #17
Eliminator
The Man With Brisk
 
Eliminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by $n][pErMan View Post
Try running a higher multiplier and lower FSB... will take less voltage and you will probably get a higher clock with ease. You will also lower your temps. Not sure how your motherboard works... but on mine 400Mhz FSB is the highest stress point... at which point 401Mhz goes into different timings and the NB becomes more stable. However, it runs faster below 400Mhz FSB unless I somehow manage to get it stable at a FSB above 420Mhz.
interesting how you can even boot between 350-400.... there's a nice fsb hole there and mine won't even boot in that range... i run 401x9 24/7 at 1.5V (actual) on an ocz vendetta 2 cooler
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHZ
Asus P5B Deluxe
4GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 EL
BFG GTX 280 OC2 1GB @ 729/1512/2538
Dell 2405FPW 24"
3DMark: Vantage - P15397 | 06 - 18734
Eliminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-09, 10:32 PM   #18
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eliminator View Post
interesting how you can even boot between 350-400.... there's a nice fsb hole there and mine won't even boot in that range... i run 401x9 24/7 at 1.5V (actual) on an ocz vendetta 2 cooler
Mine boots without issue... although between 391-400Mhz it takes quite a bit more voltage. 100% stable at 390Mhz on the FSB for me though. I was also surprised because I read about that FSB hole on this motherboard The system is faster and more stable for me at my current setting that when I was running 3.6Ghz and above 401Mhz on the FSB. Go figure? lol. I am only running the NB voltage at 1.25V too!!! Maybe I just got lucky...
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-09, 11:33 PM   #19
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by $n][pErMan View Post
Try running a higher multiplier and lower FSB... will take less voltage and you will probably get a higher clock with ease. You will also lower your temps. Not sure how your motherboard works... but on mine 400Mhz FSB is the highest stress point... at which point 401Mhz goes into different timings and the NB becomes more stable. However, it runs faster below 400Mhz FSB unless I somehow manage to get it stable at a FSB above 420Mhz.
+1
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-09, 12:03 PM   #20
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

Thanks for all the comments. I'll definetly keep them in mind when I start to explore other overclocks. I didn't know some boards had a hard time at the 400mhz mark.

I guess the whole reasoninig behind that was to get the memory running 1:1 and try and get it stable at that fsb and hopefully step up to a 9x multipler without having too much issue. I'm probably going to try what you guys said though and start backing off on the fsb and go back to a 9x multipler... thinking I might back off on the voltage too.

I started a stress-test on prime95 this morning before I left for work.... it's been on 5 hours so far and I haven't had a chance to see if it's still alive. I did notice the core temps were peaking very high so more than likely a lapping or new heatsink is in order.

I really appreciate the comments though! I'll report back when I get home if it's stable or not. (3200, 400x8 @ 1.385v)
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-12-09, 04:35 PM   #21
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

You might gain more speed running at 1:1 ratio at a lower FSB with a higher Multiplier anyway as your memory timings will tighten
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-09, 08:29 PM   #22
snowmanwithahat
Snowy
 
snowmanwithahat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Michigan
Posts: 974
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

Good point... I've never had good luck with my memory but i've been on KVR DDR400 for the past 2 builds which really really held me back alot.

So far I'm 13 hours prime95 stable at these settings (400x8 1.385v).... but I don't think this is where I want to stay anyway... ultimately the goal is 400x9 @ whatever voltage is comfortable but I'll try what some of you suggested here.

Probably dropping down to 377 fsb and 9x multipler for 3.4 and try that out next.

btw, 1.2 is my current NB voltage (i think) does that sound about appropriate?
__________________
---Gaming Rig---
Q6600 3.4ghz (378x9) - 1.5v
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
8gb (4x2gb) OCZ Gold DDR2-800 (5-4-4-12)
MSI+ASUS GTX 470 SLI
Dell u3011 IPS Display
HP 22" Auxiliary Monitor
256gb Western Digital Silicon Edge Blue SSD
5x2tb RAID-5 Array
750W PC P&C PSU
Windows 7 Pro 64-Bit & Ubuntu 10.04 64-bit

---Gaming Laptop---
ASUS G53JW
Core i7 740QM
16gb DDR3
Nvidia GTX 460m
1tb WD HDD
120gb Corsair SSD

Join the NvNews Folding @ Home Team
snowmanwithahat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-09, 11:30 PM   #23
$n][pErMan
III%
 
$n][pErMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,726
Send a message via AIM to $n][pErMan
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by snowmanwithahat View Post
Good point... I've never had good luck with my memory but i've been on KVR DDR400 for the past 2 builds which really really held me back alot.

So far I'm 13 hours prime95 stable at these settings (400x8 1.385v).... but I don't think this is where I want to stay anyway... ultimately the goal is 400x9 @ whatever voltage is comfortable but I'll try what some of you suggested here.

Probably dropping down to 377 fsb and 9x multipler for 3.4 and try that out next.

btw, 1.2 is my current NB voltage (i think) does that sound about appropriate?
1.2 is pretty low for that FSB... then again you are P45 vs. my P65 so maybe it runs on less voltage that high and its normal. Maybe someone else could answer that one I happen to be running my FSB really high on only 1.25V but most on my mobo this high run 1.35V or 1.45V.
__________________
Intel® Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.51GHz (390 x 9 / 1.39v) | ASUS P5B Deluxe/WiFi-AP LGA 775 Intel P965 (1236 BIOS) | OCZ GOLD 8GB (2GB x 4) DDR2 PC2-8500 Dual Channel (4-4-4-12 780Mhz/1.95V 1:1 Ratio) | EVGA GeForce GTX 770 DUAL SuperClocked 4GB (Currently @ 1240MHz Core / 7112MHz Memory) | Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS | Zalman CNPS9700 LED Ultra Quiet CPU Cooler | Samsung SSD 840 Series 256GB | ASUS ProArt 24in Widescreen LED 1920 x 1200 | Samsung DVD-RW-DL 18x Burner w/ lightscribe| SILVERSTONE OP650 ATX12V / EPS12V 650W Power Supply | AOpen 5.1 Surround sound system | Windows 7 Pro x64
100% Orthos Stable!
$n][pErMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-09, 03:23 PM   #24
Eliminator
The Man With Brisk
 
Eliminator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,673
Default Re: G0 Q6600 overclocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by $n][pErMan View Post
Mine boots without issue... although between 391-400Mhz it takes quite a bit more voltage. 100% stable at 390Mhz on the FSB for me though. I was also surprised because I read about that FSB hole on this motherboard The system is faster and more stable for me at my current setting that when I was running 3.6Ghz and above 401Mhz on the FSB. Go figure? lol. I am only running the NB voltage at 1.25V too!!! Maybe I just got lucky...
nice... my NB voltage is 1.45V... it's been like this for more than 2.5 years since I bought it
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3.6GHZ
Asus P5B Deluxe
4GB OCZ Platinum PC8000 EL
BFG GTX 280 OC2 1GB @ 729/1512/2538
Dell 2405FPW 24"
3DMark: Vantage - P15397 | 06 - 18734
Eliminator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.