Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Gaming Central

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-17-09, 08:31 PM   #49
Retrolock
 
Retrolock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,298
Default Re: Americas Army 3 Announced

Really? The installer wont work with vista64? Damn I have that OS. What's the point of downloading this now?

On other news, my saitek eclipse II keyboard has the WSAD keys ****ed up. Those keys are buried in the keyboard, from too much pressure by my fingers and too much FPS I guess. I can't pry them out and it sucks!!!!
__________________
i7-2600k, Xspc rs240, Asus Maximus IV Gene-z, 8gb G.Skill DDR3 1866 RIPJAWSX CL7, PoV GTX 670, Corsair HX1000W, 128GB Vertex 4, WD 1tb Caviar Black, 500 & 320gb Seagate
Retrolock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-09, 08:38 PM   #50
Apollo 13
The Man
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 324
Default Re: Americas Army 3 Announced

can't get fraps to work and when I use the built in FPS meter it shows 16ms...WTF is that?
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6600@ 3.4Ghz
300Gb Harddrive
EVGA 8800GT not overclocked
2GB G.skill DDR2 800
19'' Benq FP91G+
Logitech Z-5500 5.1
Operating System: Vista Ultimate
Apollo 13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-09, 08:40 PM   #51
Bigbuck
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 316
Send a message via MSN to Bigbuck
Default Re: Americas Army 3 Announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by Apollo 13 View Post
can't get fraps to work and when I use the built in FPS meter it shows 16ms...WTF is that?
Kind of a bug that was in the beta. It shows the time between frames instead of the actual FPS. Divide whatever number it shows into 1000 to get your FPS so for you it would be 1000/16 = 62.5FPS.
I'm still chugging along at 135KB/s with the release updates on my 10MB connection .
Bigbuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-09, 08:44 PM   #52
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Americas Army 3 Announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
Did you read my post before? It tries to run DXSetup (a 16 bit program) and it won't let me start the game until it runs.

If you still don't understand, x64 Windows won't run 16-bit programs.
edit the install script in steam folder, and remove the dx and other bs etc...., done it before then steam tries to install old junk

after "decryption" there should be a file

installscript.vdf

in the file towards bottom should be something along these lines.

Quote:
{
"DXSetup"
{
"HasRunKey" "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\\Software\\Valve\\Steam\\Apps\\ 15100"
"process 1" "%INSTALLDIR%\\DirectX\\DXSETUP.exe"
"command 1" "/silent"
"NoCleanUp" "1"
}
"DetectionTool"
{
"HasRunKey" "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\\Software\\Valve\\Steam\\Apps\\ 15100"
"process 1" "%INSTALLDIR%\\Detection\\Detection.exe"
"ignoreexitcode" "1"
"NoCleanUp" "1"
}
"RegistrationReminder"
{
"HasRunKey" "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\\Software\\Valve\\Steam\\Apps\\ 15100"
"process 1" "%INSTALLDIR%\\Register\\RegistrationReminder. exe"
"ignoreexitcode" "1"
"NoCleanUp" "1"
}
}
when removing it, make sure you keep the proper closing tags }
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-09, 08:58 PM   #53
Atomizer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 379
Default Re: Americas Army 3 Announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
Is there a way to get Steam to show my download speed? All I can see is the percentage in the games list.
If theres no speed, it usually means its not doing jack, I found sometimes it just pauses, maybe try restarting steam if it doesnt continue
Atomizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-09, 09:05 PM   #54
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Americas Army 3 Announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atomizer View Post
If theres no speed, it usually means its not doing jack, I found sometimes it just pauses, maybe try restarting steam if it doesnt continue
No, I mean the only thing I see is the percentage in the games list.

How do I get a download status window?
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-09, 09:14 PM   #55
ATi
RooR
 
ATi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,500
Default Re: Americas Army 3 Announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
Did you read my post before? It tries to run DXSetup (a 16 bit program) and it won't let me start the game until it runs.

If you still don't understand, x64 Windows won't run 16-bit programs.
no I did not read your last post hope you get it working
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K @4.3
ASUS P8P67 (REV 3.0)
msi GTX295
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 2 x 4GB 1648
HD1.5tb
Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium
corsair620HX
Windows7 64 home premium
Dell LED G2210
ATi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-09, 09:25 PM   #56
Atomizer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 379
Default Re: Americas Army 3 Announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
No, I mean the only thing I see is the percentage in the games list.

How do I get a download status window?
Ah, yeah they used to have one when you double clicked on a game still downloading/updating, now i no longer get it so i think they removed it, the other way to see download speed is on the taskbar icon, hover over while its downloading and it should display the speed and percentage

Edit: oh wait, just tried it and got the status screen, no details on it other then a bar(which was empty when i just did it) and who your download provider is
Atomizer is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 06-17-09, 09:38 PM   #57
CaptNKILL
CUBE
 
CaptNKILL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 18,844
Default Re: Americas Army 3 Announced

Heh, my download stopped.

I'll ease the server load a bit and log off of Steam.

The last time I played America's Army was back when the beta was released in 2002, and I mostly just wanted to play that because it was the first Unreal Engine 2 game. So I'm in no rush.
__________________
---- Primary Rig ---- CoolerMaster 690 II Advance - Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.0Ghz + Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
6GB DDR2 @ 942Mhz 5-5-5-20 1.9v (2x1Gb Wintec AMPX PC2-8500 & 2x2Gb G.Skill PC2-6400) - EVGA Geforce GTX 470 @ 750/1500/1850 (1.050v)
Sparkle Geforce GTS 250 1Gb Low-Profile (Physx) - Crucial RealSSD C300 64Gb SSD - Seagate 7200.12 500Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA
ASUS VW266H 25.5" LCD - OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU - ASUS Xonar DX - Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Surround - Windows 7 Professional x64
---- HTPC ---- Asus M3A78-EM 780G - AMD Athlon X2 5050e 45W @ 2.6Ghz - 2x2GB Kingston PC2-6400 DDR2 - Sparkle 350W PSU
Seagate 7200.10 320Gb SATA - Seagate 7200.10 250Gb SATA - Athenatech A100BB.350 MicroATX Desktop - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
CaptNKILL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-09, 10:10 PM   #58
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Americas Army 3 Announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
edit the install script in steam folder, and remove the dx and other bs etc...., done it before then steam tries to install old junk

after "decryption" there should be a file

installscript.vdf

in the file towards bottom should be something along these lines.



when removing it, make sure you keep the proper closing tags }
Thanks nekro. I will try it.
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-09, 10:15 PM   #59
Atomizer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 379
Default Re: Americas Army 3 Announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptNKILL View Post
Heh, my download stopped.

I'll ease the server load a bit and log off of Steam.

The last time I played America's Army was back when the beta was released in 2002, and I mostly just wanted to play that because it was the first Unreal Engine 2 game. So I'm in no rush.
Told you :P

I actually never tried AA, so I decided to give it a go since its easy to get from steam, its free, and now its graphics dont suck as bad as they did before(remember, this is coming from someone who never played the original)
Atomizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-09, 10:44 PM   #60
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Americas Army 3 Announced

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
Thanks nekro. I will try it.
btw the file is located in G:\Gamez\Steam\SteamApps\common\america's army 3\DirectX
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Czech Cashed: Arma II Getting Czech Army DLC News Archived News Items 0 06-04-12 03:24 PM
New GPU from Nvidia Announced Today, the GeForce GTX 670 News Archived News Items 0 05-10-12 02:50 PM
America's Army is really, really... malachi1313 Gaming Central 15 07-02-08 11:18 AM
UT2003 demo impressions Crake Gaming Central 241 09-28-02 08:37 AM
Americas Army sniper patch is out! malachi1313 Gaming Central 10 08-08-02 08:42 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.