Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-03-09, 03:52 PM   #1
Fios89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Default Need help configuring TV out Please

Hello! Im having a bit of a problem configuring my TV out for my linux rig.. im using Ubuntu 9.04 for my OS, an EVGA Geforce 8600GT card, altho linux mounts it as nvidia, and the most current prop drivers, 185.14.15 for my drivers.. whats wrong is when i have my computer hooked up to my TV via S Video, the display does not fit to screen no matter how much fidding i do with my xorg.conf.. also.. my display caps out at 1024x768 altho i was told i need to go through xrandr to add in more resolutions.. Can someone explain to me why my display does not fit to my screen? Heres my xorg.conf output:

# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings: version 1.0 (buildmeister@builder63) Wed May 27 03:16:54 PDT 2009

# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig: version 1.0 (buildmeister@builder63) Wed May 27 03:15:36 PDT 2009

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Layout0"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
Option "DontZap" "off"
Option "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
Identifier "Mouse0"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "auto"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
Identifier "Keyboard0"
Driver "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "TV-0"
HorizSync 30.0 - 50.0
VertRefresh 50.0
Option "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Device0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 8600 GT"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Device0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TVStandard" "NTSC-M"
Option "TVOutFormat" "SVIDEO"
Option "metamodes" "800x600 +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection
Fios89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-09, 05:19 PM   #2
botio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 14
Default Re: Need help configuring TV out Please

Hi, you won't get a better resolution than 1024x768 vith s-video.
by the way, the metamodes in your xorg.conf says 800x600, you should set it to 1024x768 there, or remove it, as you only have one screen.

you should also try nvidia-settings and change the tv overscan value to zoom the image to better fit the screen.
botio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-09, 05:28 PM   #3
Fios89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: Need help configuring TV out Please

Quote:
Originally Posted by botio View Post
Hi, you won't get a better resolution than 1024x768 vith s-video.
by the way, the metamodes in your xorg.conf says 800x600, you should set it to 1024x768 there, or remove it, as you only have one screen.

you should also try nvidia-settings and change the tv overscan value to zoom the image to better fit the screen.
WOW really? thats the solution? Holy freakin crap ive been going nuts.. well heres a question.. if I ran it using RCA (Yellow red white cables) for video instead of S Video would I get a better resolution? And If so can I adapt VGA DVI or SVideo to The Yellow Composite?
Fios89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-09, 06:03 PM   #4
Fios89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: Need help configuring TV out Please

How do I change that overscan zoom thing you mentioned?
Fios89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-09, 08:30 PM   #5
tadawson
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 44
Default Re: Need help configuring TV out Please

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fios89 View Post
WOW really? thats the solution? Holy freakin crap ive been going nuts.. well heres a question.. if I ran it using RCA (Yellow red white cables) for video instead of S Video would I get a better resolution? And If so can I adapt VGA DVI or SVideo to The Yellow Composite?
Nope - composite (the RCA yellow) is the worst.
S-Video is better
Component is better yet
DVI-D or HDMI is the best

Keep in mind that S-Video was still NTSC and based on 480 lines . . . .

- Tim
tadawson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-09, 11:33 PM   #6
Fios89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: Need help configuring TV out Please

Oh ok.. dang figures my TV doesnt have DVI or HDMI on it.. well thats cool.. now what about this overscan mode thing? I tried adding it in to my xorg.conf as Option TvOverScan.. whatever the option name is with values but it didnt change a thing.. is it like with resolutions that I have to go through xrandr?
Fios89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-09, 12:08 PM   #7
Vorgus
Registered User
 
Vorgus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 107
Default Re: Need help configuring TV out Please

Code:
HorizSync 30.0 - 50.0
VertRefresh 50.0

Option "TVStandard" "NTSC-M"
You are calling for NTSC yet you are saying the monitor vertical refresh is to be only 50. That is PAL, not NTSC.

Also, the Horizontal sync at 30-50kz but NTSC is 15.734KHz, Although my TV worked fine with the 15.91Khz provided by the Nexus-s RGB out. What am I missing here? I have been trying to get my tv to work on the VGA port using RGBHV and am havng problems with not syncing. Also, with metamodes If I send a res to the other monitor port that is larger then what goes to the TV, I also get a zoomed image on the TV.
Vorgus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-09, 04:33 PM   #8
Fios89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: Need help configuring TV out Please

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vorgus View Post
Code:
HorizSync 30.0 - 50.0
VertRefresh 50.0

Option "TVStandard" "NTSC-M"
You are calling for NTSC yet you are saying the monitor vertical refresh is to be only 50. That is PAL, not NTSC.

Also, the Horizontal sync at 30-50kz but NTSC is 15.734KHz, Although my TV worked fine with the 15.91Khz provided by the Nexus-s RGB out. What am I missing here? I have been trying to get my tv to work on the VGA port using RGBHV and am havng problems with not syncing. Also, with metamodes If I send a res to the other monitor port that is larger then what goes to the TV, I also get a zoomed image on the TV.
Ok well i dont know what im supposed to put.. Those are default values and I like to see them instead of them being assumed.. it helps me work stuff better.. I cant get the numbers i need since ddcprobe and xresprobe wont output anything.. my TV is NTSC-M though.. but does no one know how to employ overscan?
Fios89 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-04-09, 10:49 PM   #9
Fios89
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: Need help configuring TV out Please

Nvm.. i hooked my pc to my moms TV via VGA and it works perfectly using the Ubuntu repo 180 driver for nvidia and 1024x768 works perfectly.. gonna buy myself a tv with DVI.. it was that darn S video
Fios89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.