Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-09-09, 12:48 PM   #1
RaidenWoW
ಠ_ಠ
 
RaidenWoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 737
Default OMG! Vista 32-bit key = 64-bit key?

Some guy on the forums said,
Quote:
Besides, with Vista the CD key could be used for 32-bit or 64-bit installations. The keys weren't separate like in XP.
Can I technically change my 32-bit Windows Vista OEM machine into a 64-bit one without having to buy a Windows Vista 64-bit copy?

I've always thought that I would have to buy another Windows version to get myself into 64-bit (just like in winXP).

Edit: after googling (which I should have done in the first place), the aforementioned is true! HUZZAH!! HERE I COME 4GB OF RAM!
__________________
ヽ(`Д)ノ
[/eVGA 8800GTS 640mb OC630mhz eVGA 8800GTS G92 eVGA 9800GTX G92] Gigabyte Radeon 6870 | Q6600 @ 2.92ghz Zalman 9700 45c-55c | Crucial M4 64g | eVga 790i Ultra [/Asus Striker Extreme]
RaidenWoW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-09, 01:12 PM   #2
LurkerLito
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,550
Default Re: OMG! Vista 32-bit key = 64-bit key?

I am not sure you can after you have activated the installation. I am not 100% sure but I remember reading about some kind of limitation to it.
__________________

Main PC: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe ; Intel i7-3770k ; GSkill Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 2133 (2x8GB) ; Seasonic X Series X-1050 PSU ; Corsair H100 ; EVGA GTX-670 ; Mushkin 240GB SSD system drive
Old PC: ABIT IP35 Pro ; Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 ; Patriot 6GB (3x2GB) DDR2 800 RAM ; EVGA GTX480 SC ; Antec P190 Case ; EnzoTech Ultra120 CPU Cooler
LurkerLito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-09, 01:32 PM   #3
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: OMG! Vista 32-bit key = 64-bit key?

I have some experience with that. The key becomes bound to the installation you use the first time. That's irrelevant to the hardware. Which means (like I did) if you try to activate 64-bit Vista on the exact same system that you activated a 32-bit Vista installation, you won't be able to. In that case, I had to contact Microsoft and after about half an hour on the phone(they even connected me to a US technician because nothing worked) they deleted the installation data completely from their servers. So, I was able to reactivate my 64-bit Windows, which is now bound to my key...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-09, 01:35 PM   #4
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: OMG! Vista 32-bit key = 64-bit key?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RaidenWoW View Post
Some guy on the forums said,


Can I technically change my 32-bit Windows Vista OEM machine into a 64-bit one without having to buy a Windows Vista 64-bit copy?

I've always thought that I would have to buy another Windows version to get myself into 64-bit (just like in winXP).

Edit: after googling (which I should have done in the first place), the aforementioned is true! HUZZAH!! HERE I COME 4GB OF RAM!
Yea, all you had to do is read through this subforum and you would have found that out about 2 years ago now...

LOL

Be careful with OEM installs though. Did you buy the OEM or was it given to you by a company (ie Dell or HP or whoever built the system). With XP I remember there were vendor specific OEM keys that didn't work with regular XP install discs.

I don't think this is the case with Vista. Won't know until you try it out though...
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-09, 02:37 PM   #5
RaidenWoW
ಠ_ಠ
 
RaidenWoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 737
Default Re: OMG! Vista 32-bit key = 64-bit key?

I bought my copy of Windows Vista through microsoft's digital locker thing.

I have changed my hardware a few times before and I had to call microsoft and enter in a few numbers to activate my installation again. I assume the same will be true if I just switch to 64-bit (Just say that "this is the only windows copy using this key" and get a code to enter).
__________________
ヽ(`Д)ノ
[/eVGA 8800GTS 640mb OC630mhz eVGA 8800GTS G92 eVGA 9800GTX G92] Gigabyte Radeon 6870 | Q6600 @ 2.92ghz Zalman 9700 45c-55c | Crucial M4 64g | eVga 790i Ultra [/Asus Striker Extreme]
RaidenWoW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-09, 02:46 PM   #6
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: OMG! Vista 32-bit key = 64-bit key?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RaidenWoW View Post
I bought my copy of Windows Vista through microsoft's digital locker thing.

I have changed my hardware a few times before and I had to call microsoft and enter in a few numbers to activate my installation again. I assume the same will be true if I just switch to 64-bit (Just say that "this is the only windows copy using this key" and get a code to enter).
Yea you just need to get your hands on a 64-bit version of Vista that matches your type (ie Basic, Home Preimum, Ultimate, etc.)
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-09, 03:15 PM   #7
Zelda_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,299
Default Re: OMG! Vista 32-bit key = 64-bit key?

You just now figured this out?
Zelda_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-09, 03:43 PM   #8
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: OMG! Vista 32-bit key = 64-bit key?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RaidenWoW View Post
I've always thought that I would have to buy another Windows version to get myself into 64-bit (just like in winXP).
Problem with XP was that 32bit and 64bit was not based on the same code.

XP 32bit was NT 5.1 while XP 64bit was NT 5.2 based on Server 2003 platform.

Plus XP was one huge mess when it came to CD-Keys and Install media. Home, Pro, Corp, OEMs all needed seperate media.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 07-09-09, 11:53 PM   #9
RaidenWoW
ಠ_ಠ
 
RaidenWoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 737
Default Re: OMG! Vista 32-bit key = 64-bit key?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelda_fan View Post
You just now figured this out?
You're actually asking me that question? Of course I just figured it out and I am happy that I did.

It's not like it's common knowledge. It may be for those who've gone through the ordeal before but I sure as hell believed that a 32-bit key <> a 64-bit key simply because I had already tried it in windows XP in the past.
__________________
ヽ(`Д)ノ
[/eVGA 8800GTS 640mb OC630mhz eVGA 8800GTS G92 eVGA 9800GTX G92] Gigabyte Radeon 6870 | Q6600 @ 2.92ghz Zalman 9700 45c-55c | Crucial M4 64g | eVga 790i Ultra [/Asus Striker Extreme]
RaidenWoW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-09, 12:00 AM   #10
hell_of_doom227
Registered User
 
hell_of_doom227's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,387
Default Re: OMG! Vista 32-bit key = 64-bit key?

Same key can be used on 32bit or 64bit copy of Windows Vista. I know cause i did it.
__________________
System: eVGA x58SLI x16 4Way Classified, Intel Six Core i7 X980@4.00Ghz, 6Gb GSkill DDR3-1600, Tri Crossfire 3xATI Radeon 5870 1Gb, Raid1 - 2xSSD Intel 80Gb X-25M, Raid0 - 2xHDD Samsung 2Tb, Raid1 - 2xHDD Samsung 1Tb, LG Blue-Ray/HD-DVD Player, Silverstone 1100W PSU, Intel Stock Cooler (New One), Thermaltake Xaser VI, LG 27" LCD, Logitech Keyboard G15, G5 Logitech Mouse
OS: Windows 7 x64

35708 - 3DMark Vantage
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dmv=2109601
hell_of_doom227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-09, 08:26 AM   #11
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: OMG! Vista 32-bit key = 64-bit key?

Quote:
Originally Posted by RaidenWoW View Post
You're actually asking me that question? Of course I just figured it out and I am happy that I did.

It's not like it's common knowledge. It may be for those who've gone through the ordeal before but I sure as hell believed that a 32-bit key <> a 64-bit key simply because I had already tried it in windows XP in the past.
Well, not to be a total douche, but it is pretty much common knowledge at this point. It's plastered all over this subforum
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.