Go Back   nV News Forums > Linux Support Forums > NVIDIA Linux

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-09-09, 11:25 AM   #1
Voltage
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Default NVidia 185.xx installation on Ubunto 9.04 Error, please help

I have tried this a few different ways but have not come right, please if someone could help ... the nvidia-installer.log is as follows:

how do i add a file?
Voltage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-09, 12:59 AM   #2
Voltage
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: NVidia 185.xx installation on Ubunto 9.04 Error, please help

Here is my Xorg log file as well.
Attached Files
File Type: log nvidia-installer.log (51.9 KB, 83 views)
File Type: log Xorg.0.log (5.0 KB, 89 views)
Voltage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-09, 01:19 AM   #3
Voltage
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: NVidia 185.xx installation on Ubunto 9.04 Error, please help

Each time i have tried to install this, the GUI doesn't load and iam always left at the TTY. Other times it will boot and i am left with a blank screen and must Ctr-Alt-F1 to get to TTY. I am using 2 x Nvidia GeForce 7900 GS on a Asus Striker Extreme MB i386 Ubuntu.
Voltage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-09, 07:20 AM   #4
tzp
Registered User
 
tzp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hungary
Posts: 92
Default Re: NVidia 185.xx installation on Ubunto 9.04 Error, please help

How do you start your X server ? Via startx or with some graphical session manager (gdm, kdm, ...)
Try with startx...

Also, try to rename the /etc/X11/xorg.conf to see if the server starts up with the defaults.
tzp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-09, 08:32 AM   #5
Voltage
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5
Default Re: NVidia 185.xx installation on Ubunto 9.04 Error, please help

ok that was my problem. It couldn't determin which was my primary device. Using the PCI# from

sudo lshw -businfo | grep -i display

I inserted the following lines in the xorg.conf file under the device section

Busid "PCI:1:0:0"
option "sli" "auto"

and rebooted ... everything works fine now ... thanks
Voltage is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.