Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows 7

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-13-09, 07:47 PM   #61
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Some bad news, About Win7 Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by betterdan View Post
So if I back it up, how do I restore if I don't have windows?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-09, 07:52 PM   #62
OrangeBlast
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 394
Default Re: Some bad news, About Win7 Upgrade

anyone answer the question?

Vista Ultimate can only be upgraded to W7 Ultimate? Why can't I do pro?

So I can do W7 Beta to W7 Professional....cool....what happens if I have to reinstall in the future? W7 Beta keys won't work and so on....so what's the plan? Microsoft has to understand that, not everyone will know how to image and do this or that. Doesn't seem very marketable from this standpoint, not sure why such a business move would be made.
OrangeBlast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-09, 07:58 PM   #63
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Some bad news, About Win7 Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by betterdan View Post
I am saying when you get your upgrade disc just upgrade your Win 7 RC install. Ok now boot into Win 7 and make a backup image of your disc with the built in backup image tools included with Win 7. Now whenever you need to do a reinstall just restore the image to your hard drive instead of having to install Xp or Vista then upgrade it.
Ok, I made an image of my Hard Drive... now what?


Last edited by |MaguS|; 07-15-11 at 04:54 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-09, 08:00 PM   #64
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Some bad news, About Win7 Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
So if I back it up, how do I restore if I don't have windows?
For the answer to your question, If you have Win 7 RC installed just go to the System Tools/Maintenance folder in the start menu and click on Backup and restore. Now click on the "create a system image" link on the top left. Now click on the "How do I restore my computer from a system image" link. Now read of the different options on how to restore the system image you made.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-09, 08:01 PM   #65
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Some bad news, About Win7 Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
Ok, I made an image of my Hard Drive... now what?

Ok now send me the original drive you made the image of.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-09, 08:08 PM   #66
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Some bad news, About Win7 Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by betterdan View Post
Ok now send me the original drive you made the image of.
Sorry, Was just too fun. I'll stop now.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-09, 08:10 PM   #67
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Some bad news, About Win7 Upgrade

Thanks but it's too late. I'm now bald from tearing my hair out.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-09, 08:20 PM   #68
|MaguS|
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Some bad news, About Win7 Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by betterdan View Post
Thanks but it's too late. I'm now bald from tearing my hair out.

Last edited by |MaguS|; 07-15-11 at 04:54 PM.
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-13-09, 08:35 PM   #69
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,058
Default Re: Some bad news, About Win7 Upgrade

nvm
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-09, 08:49 PM   #70
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Some bad news, About Win7 Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by |MaguS| View Post
I didn't mean that hair... or that head...
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-09, 04:14 AM   #71
glObalist
working as intended
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 935
Default Re: Some bad news, About Win7 Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
my vista install is from around May 2007, updated to SP1, and SP2. Runs perfectly and error free.
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=119327
__________________
Intel E8400 C2D 3Ghz @ 3.6Ghz ---> ASUS P5Q Pro <--- 2x2GB PATRIOT DDR2 800Mhz
PALIT Sonic HD4850 1GB DDR3 <---> BENQ FP241W 24" LCD
M-AUDIO FireWire 410 <---> Logitech Z-5400 5.1 THX
Quote:
All MMO's are now baby-school weak. The only good MMO's make your eyes bleed and force you to eat glass. In my day we had to walk uphill in the snow 5 miles *JUST* to log in.
glObalist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-09, 09:33 AM   #72
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Some bad news, About Win7 Upgrade

Quote:
Originally Posted by glObalist View Post
read the first sentence

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
right now doing a back-up just in case, re-install doesn't fix the problem, i will just restore it back.
when I found what was causing it (SPTD), i restored the backup, and uninstalled daemon tool.

what esle you gonna go on whinnin about
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.