Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-15-09, 03:10 AM   #1
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Um, HOW do I get the 64-bit variant of Vista?

I have Home Premium retail for one PC, and an MSDN key and disc for Ultimate for the other (I still work per diem for a software company)... both are 32 bit.

I apologize if this is a retread question but I never paid any mind to 64 bit Vista.

I'd like to give it a go on at least one machine, namely my new Phenom build.

How do I get the 64-bit variants? For the MSDN version, I should probably be able to use my legit MSDN key on a 64 bit Vista Ultimate disc image, no?
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-09, 03:27 AM   #2
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Um, HOW do I get the 64-bit variant of Vista?

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsvist...a/default.mspx

or you could torrent it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-09, 09:13 AM   #3
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Um, HOW do I get the 64-bit variant of Vista?

Right on...

Is now the time to do that? Is going 64 bit gonna be worth it in some way? I've stayed away from this particular subject for quite some time now...

Newer games, Hulu, Blu-Ray content, and some web page design and use of some larger images in Paint.NET (Photoshop alternative)... that's my basic task list for both of my PC's...

So is it time?
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-09, 09:37 AM   #4
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,066
Default Re: Um, HOW do I get the 64-bit variant of Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by grey_1 View Post
That's what I did and I got it in the mail. Worked like a champ.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-09, 09:53 AM   #5
ragejg
nV News Alumni
 
ragejg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Finger Lakes of Hell, NY
Posts: 5,399
Send a message via AIM to ragejg
Default Re: Um, HOW do I get the 64-bit variant of Vista?

My MSDN key doesn't work with this. I guess I need to get to the stack of MSDN discs @ the office and trade my 32-bit Ultimate for the 64 bit version.

As I said earlier though, is it time to do this?

The only advantage I see at the moment is the fact that 64 bit recognizes 4gb RAM...

Or can I get 32 bit to recognize 4gb in any way? Doesn't it have something to do with Physical Address Extension?
__________________

2010-2011 Reviews: GTX 570 | GTX 580 | GTS 450 | GTX 460 | GTX 465
Pre-2010 Reviews: 6600 GT | XMS 4400 DDR | SilenX Cooler | 6800 | 5900 XT | Personal Cinema | 5900 NU


______________________________________________
Phenom II x6 1090t @ 4.0 ghz | Asus M498TD-EVO Am3 SLI nForce 980a | 2x EVGA GTX 560 SLI | 2x4gb DDR3-1333 | Antec EarthWatts EA650 PSU | 60gb Mushkin Calisto Enhanced Sandforce SSD | 2x WD2500KS RAID 0 | Sunbeam Tuniq 3 case | 24" Asus 19x10 LED LCD | 26" Panasonic 720p TV | Sidewinder X5 mouse | Logitech MX5500 & Revolution mouse | Altec Lansing 5.1 THX-Certified audio | Win 7 Ultimate | desk | couch


ragejg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-09, 10:44 AM   #6
grey_1
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Um, HOW do I get the 64-bit variant of Vista?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragejg View Post
My MSDN key doesn't work with this. I guess I need to get to the stack of MSDN discs @ the office and trade my 32-bit Ultimate for the 64 bit version.

As I said earlier though, is it time to do this?

The only advantage I see at the moment is the fact that 64 bit recognizes 4gb RAM...

Or can I get 32 bit to recognize 4gb in any way? Doesn't it have something to do with Physical Address Extension?
My 32 bit rig recognizes 3.25Gb. Practically speaking, there's not any noticeable difference in performance other than the differences between 32 and 64 bit performance anyway.

Getting the 64bit version has shown a heck of a nice stability and performance advantage though, especially after the 2 service packs. imho it's having the available ram + the 64 bit that will give you the increased benefits, not necessarily sweating the .75Gb that 32 bit doesn't 'see'.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.