Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows XP And Vista

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-15-09, 06:38 PM   #13
hokeyplyr48
hooah
 
hokeyplyr48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina
Posts: 755
Send a message via AIM to hokeyplyr48
Default Re: Weather Sidebar Gadgets?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar View Post
http://blueonionsoftware.com/blog.as...c-581a73827650

Thats what I use.




It looks like that screenie when slightly modified plus 60% opacity but has many modes
what gadget is that on the top?
__________________
Main Rig:
CPU:Q6600 @ 3.5 w/ Ultra 120 extreme|| RAM: 4x2GB G. Skill || Motherboard: ABIT IP35 Pro || VideoCard: eVGA 260GTX & 7200GS for triple monitoring || Sound Card: Creative X-FI xtremegamer || Hard Drive: 2 x 150GB Raptor in RAID 0 (OS and Program Files) | 1 x 150GB Raptor (User Drive) | 1 x WD 2TB HD SATA II | 1 x 1TB Seagate | 1 x WD 500 GB HD SATA II | 1 x Seagate 400 GB HD SATA II | 1 x WD 160 GB HD IDE (slow, only for storage) || Monitor: Dell 30" 3007WFP LCD, Acer 22" widescreen, & Gateway 17" || Case: Antec 900 || PSU: 1 KW athenatech or force or something PSU || Keyboard: Logitech G15 || Mouse: Logitech MX 518 || OS: Windows 7 Build 7201 x64

Secondary Rig: FX-60, 7900GTX, 2 x 1BG OCZ Platinum, A8N32-SLI Deluxe, Antec 180, XP x32
hokeyplyr48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-09, 07:05 PM   #14
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: Weather Sidebar Gadgets?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hokeyplyr48 View Post
what gadget is that on the top?
multimeter
http://thehobbylounge.com/forum/index.php?topic=5267.0

it is customizable
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-09, 10:32 PM   #15
Serrasalmus
Red Belly Piranha
 
Serrasalmus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 384
Send a message via MSN to Serrasalmus
Default Re: Weather Sidebar Gadgets?

i use weatherman

http://www.greycastle.com/gadgets/we...index.html#FAQ
__________________
||MaryJane||
||EVGA x58 3Xsli||i7 920@4.3 turbo HT enabled 1.46v||6 Gig Corsair 1600 8-8-8-19 1T||EVGA GTX285 TRI-SLI Vanilla@720/1566/1350 ||500gb seagate 7200.11 32mb cache raid 0 ||1 TB WD Black||LG Super Multi Blue DVD ||Antec 1200||Corsair HX1000||custom built water setup, Koolance cpu-350ac Koolance rp-1000bk, Koolance mvr40 w/95mm plate, Koolance MB-EVX58, Feser one 3/8 UV orange tubing, black ice pro 2 rad, Feser extreme performance 240||HANNSpree 28" HF289H LCD||G15 gen 2 keyboard

EvilInside (sons rig)
||Asus Maximus Formula SE||Q9450@3.2 Stock Voltage||4 Gig ocz Reaper 8500 @1100 5-5-5-15 2T||Sapphire HD4870 512mb Crossfire 790/1100 Stock Cooler||2x 500gb Raid 0 seagate 7200.11 32mb cache 500gb wd carvier||Asus 20xdl dvd-rw + -||Antec 900||mushkin 650||19" extreme flat crt|| X-Fi Extreme Gamer||some cheap keyboard




Life's journey is not to arrive at the grave safely in a well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, totally worn out, shouting "...holy crapola ...what a ride!"
Serrasalmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-09, 01:03 AM   #16
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Weather Sidebar Gadgets?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
Yep.

The Hobby Lounge forums have a lot of custom configs.
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-09, 07:47 AM   #17
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Weather Sidebar Gadgets?

Weird, I just joined The Hobby Lounge last night and downloaded that Multi Meter gadget. Got it all setup the way I like it but it took a little while.

  Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-09, 01:02 PM   #18
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Weather Sidebar Gadgets?

I just added ObjectDock and decided to use it's weather docklet which is pretty cool. I like how it flys out and gives you the 5 day forecast when you click on it.






As a side note, has anyone noticed excessive memory use in the task manager for sidebar.exe when it is enabled? My computer has been up today for almost 12 hours and it has slowly climbed to 70mb used.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-09, 01:45 PM   #19
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Weather Sidebar Gadgets?

Nope.

My sidebar mem usage typically does not exceed 22MB and that is after a day or two of usage non-stop and I am only using the 2 gadgets in my screenshots
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-09, 06:08 PM   #20
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Weather Sidebar Gadgets?

Which version of Windows 7 are you running? I'm on the 7100 RC.

I rebooted the computer and after 2 hours of uptime the sidebar is up to 29mb. I just closed all gadgets except multimeter and the speedfan one I got both off of The Hobby Lounge. We'll see how it goes.

I've seen a few articles saying that Microsoft was having trouble with memory leaks in the sidebar.exe
  Reply With Quote

Old 07-19-09, 12:14 AM   #21
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Weather Sidebar Gadgets?

Ok it looks like the speedfan sidebar gadget was causing problems. With just multimeter running it stays at about 23-25 mb and then running the gas prices sidebar program it stays about 27mb.
I'll just use RealTemp in the taskbar and screw the Speedfan gadget. RealTemp is better ayways cause it only takes up a little over 1mb of resources and it can show a history of min and max temps on the cpu and gpu while Speedfan took up a little over 5mb and couldn't show min and max temps.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.