Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows 7

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-02-09, 11:03 PM   #25
Elvin Presler
Registered User
 
Elvin Presler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 633
Default Re: Windows 7 ~ Windows Vista

I think the 59 hertz thing is only on digital monitors, not CRT's. Maybe only if using a DVI/digital cable even? Anyway, yeah, set it to 60 and it resets to 59. I hear there are ways to force 60, but they cause other problems like Media Player crashing.

If they fix that, I will probably go with Windows 7 and find ways around all the other annoyances, as with any Windows version. And yeah, Vista is just bad. Sluggish, stuborn, buggy, etc. Vista is Windows 7 beta™©. People should be able to show their Vista sales receipts and get Windows 7 free....seriously. It reminds me of Windows ME! I actually fell for that one...bought it, installed it, went back to Windows 98 2 days later....it was AWFUL.
Elvin Presler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-09, 11:26 PM   #26
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Windows 7 ~ Windows Vista

I'm using an LCD monitor with a digital DVI connection and 60hz works just fine here.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-09, 01:04 AM   #27
Elvin Presler
Registered User
 
Elvin Presler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 633
Default Re: Windows 7 ~ Windows Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by betterdan View Post
I'm using an LCD monitor with a digital DVI connection and 60hz works just fine here.
What version of Windows 7? And are you SURE it's working fine? It goes to 60 hertz and stays there if you check it again? Mine has the 60 hertz option, switches to it, asks if I want to keep the new settings, etc....then it just goes right back to 59 anyway.
Elvin Presler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-09, 06:14 AM   #28
j0j081
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,789
Default Re: Windows 7 ~ Windows Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Bigman View Post
Im with Bearshank on this one.

Vista is fine and dandy well before sp3 once you spent a thousand trips to google for tips and tricks cuz your that good at it.

7 is a wakeup call to those who forgot about what xp was or what Vista should of been, yea Longhorn right.

I enjoy the new 7 but i love that vista bar alot more.
I don't get how people compare 7 to XP at all.
j0j081 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-09, 06:29 AM   #29
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Windows 7 ~ Windows Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elvin Presler View Post
What version of Windows 7? And are you SURE it's working fine? It goes to 60 hertz and stays there if you check it again? Mine has the 60 hertz option, switches to it, asks if I want to keep the new settings, etc....then it just goes right back to 59 anyway.
Using RC build 7100 and yes I am sure it's working fine. The only thing I can suggest is to maybe go into the services and try disabling NVIDIA Display Driver Service (nvsvc). I always do that and Seeker like he said was having a problem until he disabled it also. I have never found a use for that service and it works fine with it disabled.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-09, 09:01 AM   #30
mullet
 
mullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8,062
Default Re: Windows 7 ~ Windows Vista

http://www.tweakguides.com/NVFORCE_4.html

Quote:
# Nvidia Display Driver Service - This service generally doesn't have an essential function. In my experience, most people can safely disable it and not run into any difficulties or reduced functionality whatsoever. In fact disabling this service can improve Windows startup and shutdown times and general performance. However, some people report potential issues with temperature monitoring on their graphics cards if this service is disabled. In general if you feel you are experiencing any other strange behavior due to the disabling of this service, set it back to Automatic and restart it. Note: In Vista, the Nvidia Display Driver Service may be a startup item (as opposed to an actual service) called NvSvc in some versions of the Forceware drivers, but the same description applies. Note further that in more recent Forceware releases you may need to keep this service enabled in Vista or Windows 7 for Antialiasing and/or Anisotropic Filtering to work properly. Again, start off by disabling it and then only re-enable it if you find specific problems or certain functionality is unavailable or not working properly.
__________________
• LIAN-LI PC-A70B • ASUS MAXIMUS V FORMULA (0701) • i7-3770k + NOCTUA|NH-D14 • Intel 520 240GB SSD • G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB DDR3 1600 •
• EVGA GeForce GTX 680 • PCP&C 750 Quad • ASUS BD-ROM • DELL U2711 H-IPS + DELL 2209WA e-IPS• Windows 7 Pro x64 SP1 • Logitech Z5500 5.1 •
mullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-09, 11:15 AM   #31
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Windows 7 ~ Windows Vista

So is anyone with the 59hz problem going to try disabling that service and see if it helps? If it doesn't then just reenable it if you like, no harm done.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-09, 11:22 AM   #32
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Windows 7 ~ Windows Vista

If you go back to post #21, you will see that just the opposite was necessary for me. The service has to be enabled to change the resolution and disabled afterward.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-04-09, 02:55 PM   #33
betterdan
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Windows 7 ~ Windows Vista

Hmm weird, I guess I've just been one of the lucky ones where it just works.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-09, 04:44 PM   #34
Sazar
Sayonara !!!
 
Sazar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9,297
Default Re: Windows 7 ~ Windows Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elvin Presler View Post
I thought I was going to like Windows 7. Tried out the RTM though and found it is just Vista with a few small, insignificant improvements, like better options in the Defragmenter, and just as many new annoyances, like not remembering window size/position, and being stuck at 59 hertz (not 60) refresh rate no matter what you do. These 2 alone would prevent me from ever using Win7 if not fixed. Some games REQUIRE 60 hertz or they simply will not run. Battlefield series? Halo FFS! I'm not sure if it's Vista or Nvidia but the Nvidia Control Panel is a total mess in WIN7 with many broken or stuck settings.
Window size and position is remembered. All my folders and windows and applications open the way I want them to. If you have shortcut launches from your taskbar, you likely have to adjust launch behavior if you need it to open some specific way (i.e. maximized).

The refresh setting is reading directly from the monitors so it is not entirely Microsoft's fault there. I personally have no run into any situations where my games won't run but then I also don't play the games you are having issues with. I am sure there is a workaround, i.e. editing the game .cfg or something along those lines.

Re: Nvidia's control panel, I have no issues at all on my HTPC with the control panel. It renders as it did under Vista and the settings all work and the links all function.

Quote:
I did not find it any faster though it may be on a lower end PC. It comes with no email client but half the old Windows Mail program's files are still sitting there...WTF? I don't care if they remove it, but....well REMOVE it, don't just break it.
I agree about Windows Mail, but I have a lot of storage space so I have never cared about this.

With regards to speed, I love it It is a lot more efficient in many areas than Vista, especially when it comes to the WMC and indexing. A lot of other areas are also improved in my overall usage and, I no longer have a dedicated Sidebar application running

Quote:
Homegroups? The new more cumbersome taskbar with zero advantage over the old one? The new "shake the window" feature that drops everything else to minimized? Yeah, you'll need it now that all windows will pile up on top of each other.
Homegroups is fantastic, honestly.

If you have a home network and share apps or files across it, homegroups makes your life a lot easier. It is simple and doesn't have the variety of issues that XP and Vista have. Plus, it is faster and more intuitive. Further, the videos/audio/programs and other folders with their indexing are a huge boon. I can access and control all my media from one folder (where it can pool from other folders and drives in my system or network) instead of navigating to individual drives and folders or network attached devices. HUGE efficiency plus.

The new gui features such as the smart taskbar actually reduces clutter and the aero-peek is now fully functional (i.e. you can mouse-over, click on the application or preview it and so forth). A lot more functionality than just a thumbnail preview

The fact that I can preview my tabs within the taskbar (currently only works with IE8) is awesome and the thumbnails are a lot easier for me to navigate through than a multitude of apps on the taskbar. I guess there is a learning curve involved but it is a LOT more efficient. The dock-like functionality is leaps and bounds better than anything on XP or Vista (standard installation, no 3'rd party apps).

I used to use docks back in the day with XP. I gave it up under Vista due to the smart-search box within the start menu. Now, I have the smart taskbar and the search box. Best of both worlds.

The shake function and other extensions of the aero feature set make it a lot easier for people to hide/show files, folders, applications. You don't have to use them but if you are a big multi-tasker, it's just one of those small things that makes a big difference

Boot and shut-down times are also massively improved (for me at least, on both my systems with Windows 7).
Sazar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-09, 11:35 PM   #35
Tuork
Official pain in the ass
 
Tuork's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,197
Send a message via MSN to Tuork
Default Re: Windows 7 ~ Windows Vista

Sazar hit the nail on the head.

+1 to everything he said.
__________________
My avatar: "An obscure and non sensical pattern made to get people to post what they think it is" - Vamp

Dimitri:
Dell XPS M1530
Core2Duo T5550 1.86Ghz | 3GB DDR2 | 8600M GT 256MB | 250GB Hdd | BenQ FP202W 20" LCD | MX1000 mouse | Inspire T5400 5.1
Tuork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-09, 12:49 AM   #36
henrybravo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 109
Default Re: Windows 7 ~ Windows Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by betterdan View Post
So is anyone with the 59hz problem going to try disabling that service and see if it helps? If it doesn't then just reenable it if you like, no harm done.
The 59hz "problem" is just Windows 7 conforming better to the EDID standard. Most monitors really run at 59.94hz. Windows 7 doesn't round to the nearest hz the way previous versions did. If you look in your monitor's OSD you'll see your display still says 60hz even though the control panel says 59hz because your monitor is still rounding up like it always has. So in essence nothing has really changed. The problem is there are a few games (it seems like very few) that are hard coded to run at 60hz, and since Windows 7 is reporting 59hz instead of 60 it is causing the game to break, even though the refresh rate hasn't really changed.

More info here:

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=301860
__________________
Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.7 GHz (47x100 @ 1.375v) cooled by XIGMATEK Aegir SD128264 Mega Killer | ASUS P8Z68-V PRO | G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) PC3 12800
eVGA GTX 580 @ 851/1702/2097 | Corsair M4 64GB SSD (for OS drive) | Seagate 7200.12 1TB x2, WD Green 1TB x2 in RAID1 | Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer
Antec TPQ-850 power supply | Antec Twelve Hundred case | HP LP2475w monitor | Windows 7 Professional x64
henrybravo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1998 - 2014, nV News.