Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows 7

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-11-09, 01:20 PM   #25
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: windows update borked

Quote:
Originally Posted by methimpikehoses View Post
That's enough, Tonto. Windows update still borked here----->
have you tried using a different DNS server?

go to network options and change your preferred DNS server.

here are my comcast DNS servers

Primary DNS Server : 68.87.72.134 .


Secondary DNS Server : 68.87.77.134


windows updates works fine with these.
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-09, 01:21 PM   #26
Zelda_fan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 10,299
Default Re: windows update borked

Quote:
Originally Posted by methimpikehoses View Post
No, it's the 7100 build from the microsoft site. I don't use pirated software.
the RTM version's out. Get that one instead.
Zelda_fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-09, 01:49 PM   #27
Mr Bigman
Strongest Man On Earth
 
Mr Bigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chicago IL
Posts: 4,959
Send a message via AIM to Mr Bigman Send a message via MSN to Mr Bigman Send a message via Yahoo to Mr Bigman
Default Re: windows update borked

Anywhere besides technet can i get the RTM?

I asked MC but they don't know when they will get it yet.

I love shaws quiz, it askes alot of good questions regarding the very landscape of this forum.
__________________
EVGA X58 Tri SLI
Core I 7 3.7Ghz
12 gb corsair DDR3 1600
Three EVGA 285 SLI
Antec 1200
Corsiar 1000 HX Power Supply
2 OCZ SSD Hard Drives
4 wd black edition raid 2 setups for 4TB


_____________________________
having good looks and a good body is hard work.
Mr Bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-09, 02:10 PM   #28
DiscipleDOC
 
DiscipleDOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama, Planet Earth
Posts: 5,993
Default Re: windows update borked

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelda_fan View Post
the RTM version's out. Get that one instead.
This.
DiscipleDOC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-09, 03:05 PM   #29
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: windows update borked

where is it??

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
have you tried using a different DNS server?

go to network options and change your preferred DNS server.

here are my comcast DNS servers

Primary DNS Server : 68.87.72.134 .

Secondary DNS Server : 68.87.77.134

windows updates works fine with these.
No effect.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-09, 03:44 PM   #30
qube
Bored sins birth
 
qube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: GBG Sweden
Posts: 1,090
Default Re: windows update borked

its here


__________________
qube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-09, 03:47 PM   #31
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: windows update borked

Oh, I'm not a pirate.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-09, 04:16 PM   #32
nekrosoft13
I'm Geralt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicagoland, once a year in Poland
Posts: 24,366
Default Re: windows update borked

Quote:
Originally Posted by methimpikehoses View Post
where is it??



No effect.
so that didn't help?

then your windows is borked
__________________
Windows 8 the next big failure, right after Windows ME
nekrosoft13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-11-09, 04:40 PM   #33
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: windows update borked

Quote:
Originally Posted by nekrosoft13 View Post
so that didn't help?

then your windows is borked
Indeed. If I reinstall from the iso, will I have the same problem? Part of this might be that when I installed Win7, it asked me to look for updates the first time. It didn't work, so I then installed w/o updates.

Also, I'm routing through a mac airport...
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-09, 10:34 AM   #34
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: windows update borked

Anyone know how to clear the proxy cache in win7? Trying to use proxycfg -d, but no go. This method helped some people with my update error.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-09, 01:50 PM   #35
methimpikehoses
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: windows update borked

Reinstalled Win7, still having the same issue. I'm this close to calling Microsoft, but I bet they tell me there is no Win7 support. Maybe I can lie and say I'm running Vista...
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-09, 03:24 PM   #36
hokeyplyr48
hooah
 
hokeyplyr48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina
Posts: 755
Send a message via AIM to hokeyplyr48
Default Re: windows update borked

just say you're running vista. I mean they're supposedly the same. Have you tried using a different iso? Or dl'ing it from somewhere else? (it's still legal as long as you have your own key)
__________________
Main Rig:
CPU:Q6600 @ 3.5 w/ Ultra 120 extreme|| RAM: 4x2GB G. Skill || Motherboard: ABIT IP35 Pro || VideoCard: eVGA 260GTX & 7200GS for triple monitoring || Sound Card: Creative X-FI xtremegamer || Hard Drive: 2 x 150GB Raptor in RAID 0 (OS and Program Files) | 1 x 150GB Raptor (User Drive) | 1 x WD 2TB HD SATA II | 1 x 1TB Seagate | 1 x WD 500 GB HD SATA II | 1 x Seagate 400 GB HD SATA II | 1 x WD 160 GB HD IDE (slow, only for storage) || Monitor: Dell 30" 3007WFP LCD, Acer 22" widescreen, & Gateway 17" || Case: Antec 900 || PSU: 1 KW athenatech or force or something PSU || Keyboard: Logitech G15 || Mouse: Logitech MX 518 || OS: Windows 7 Build 7201 x64

Secondary Rig: FX-60, 7900GTX, 2 x 1BG OCZ Platinum, A8N32-SLI Deluxe, Antec 180, XP x32
hokeyplyr48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.