Go Back   nV News Forums > Graphics Card Forums > NVIDIA GeForce 200 Series

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-15-09, 07:58 AM   #13
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Has anyone tried a Tri-Sli with 3 GTX 295's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muppet View Post
You don't need to use the bridge for SLI. It will result in lower performance though.
This is actually untrue. For 3 Way SLI. A bridge is required. And for 6 way it would be even more mandated. The reason being is PCIE bandwith may be enough ((albeit slower)) to drive 2 cards in AFR mode. The more GPUS will greatly increase the latency required for SLI operation and would end up causing a serious performance deficit.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-09, 11:53 AM   #14
LabShark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 277
Default Re: Has anyone tried a Tri-Sli with 3 GTX 295's?

Nah - 2 is enough for me.
__________________
EVGA X58
Intel i7 965
Quad GTX 295
1200W Thermaltake PS
6GB G. Skill RAM
X-Fi Fatality
Intel X25-M SSD
300GB Raptor
640GB WD Cavair 16MB
LG BluRayDisc
LG SuperDisc
Lian Li PC80 Armorsuit
W7 64 bit
LabShark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-09, 08:11 PM   #15
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Has anyone tried a Tri-Sli with 3 GTX 295's?

People have used 3 or more it for folding and even "home supercomputing"

But that's not SLI...
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-09, 11:24 PM   #16
hemmy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kansas
Posts: 760
Default Re: Has anyone tried a Tri-Sli with 3 GTX 295's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dazz View Post
Working for Cyberpower System we have experimented with it, 3 way SLI will not work and folding on a 3 way SLI board will also mean much much lower performance. We found on a X48 board or a Crossfire board Folding performance is almost doubled. one of the cards dual GPU's will refuse to work correctly on SLI motherboards. Just a word of advice, as we build high end gaming systems and folding systems for medial research and data centres.
Folding performance is definitely not lower with 6 gpus if you use them correctly.
__________________
P6T Deluxe V2 ||| Core i7 920 D0 4.0Ghz||| 3x2Gb DDR3-1800 ||| 2x EVGA GTX 260 SLI ||| Corsair HX850w ||| 2x640gb HD
hemmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-09, 01:23 AM   #17
Muppet
Registered User
 
Muppet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 3,130
Default Re: Has anyone tried a Tri-Sli with 3 GTX 295's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisRay View Post
This is actually untrue. For 3 Way SLI. A bridge is required. And for 6 way it would be even more mandated. The reason being is PCIE bandwith may be enough ((albeit slower)) to drive 2 cards in AFR mode. The more GPUS will greatly increase the latency required for SLI operation and would end up causing a serious performance deficit.
I was actually only replying to a post above that said SLI was not possible without the Bridge. That is wrong in that SLI will function without the Bridge. Sorry, I was only talking about 2 way SLI.
__________________
Asus Rampage IV Extreme Black Edition | Intel 4930k | SS Phasechange | 16GB Corsair Platinum DDR3 1866 | Asus GTX680 x2 SLI | Corsair AX1200 Watt PSU | Lian-Li PC-8NWX | Intel 520 120Gb SSD x2 | Samsung S27A950D 27" 120Hz | HP ZR24w 24" S-IPS x3 Nvidia Surround @6000x1200 | Xonar Essence STX
Muppet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-09, 08:45 PM   #18
JasonPC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,103
Default Re: Has anyone tried a Tri-Sli with 3 GTX 295's?

Well I assumed you'd use an SLI bridge on a high end card like that. I never really put it to the test but I thought not using an SLI bridge was more of a thing for lower end cards.
JasonPC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-09, 10:44 PM   #19
ChrisRay
Registered User
 
ChrisRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 5,101
Default Re: Has anyone tried a Tri-Sli with 3 GTX 295's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muppet View Post
I was actually only replying to a post above that said SLI was not possible without the Bridge. That is wrong in that SLI will function without the Bridge. Sorry, I was only talking about 2 way SLI.
Understood. Just thought Id clear up any misconceptions incase someone else misunderstood.
__________________
|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.0 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-09, 07:41 AM   #20
JackOfAll
Registered User
 
JackOfAll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 9
Default Re: Has anyone tried a Tri-Sli with 3 GTX 295's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sazar View Post
Who cares about the delay. Imagine the folding horsepower
70K PPD. These are Palit single PCB GTX295's with EK FC-295 water blocks, clocked to 684/1476/1080, same as FTW spec.



JackOfAll is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-16-09, 08:34 AM   #21
Bman212121
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,726
Default Re: Has anyone tried a Tri-Sli with 3 GTX 295's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JackOfAll View Post
70K PPD. These are Palit single PCB GTX295's with EK FC-295 water blocks, clocked to 684/1476/1080, same as FTW spec.



All I have to say is WOW.


EDIT: Alright I have to say more. I'm really impressed by the build. I've seen a lot of folders who only go halfway to build their F@H rigs. Nice you see you go with the water setup to make sure the heat stays down versus throwing 4 gpus stacked in there with an underpowered PSU. How much power does that setup draw when loaded?
Bman212121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-09, 09:12 AM   #22
JackOfAll
Registered User
 
JackOfAll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 9
Default Re: Has anyone tried a Tri-Sli with 3 GTX 295's?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bman212121 View Post
I'm really impressed by the build. I've seen a lot of folders who only go halfway to build their F@H rigs. Nice you see you go with the water setup to make sure the heat stays down versus throwing 4 gpus stacked in there with an underpowered PSU. How much power does that setup draw when loaded?
The build has changed a little since those pictures were taken - mostly power supplies, wiring and tubing routing.

Main power supply is an Enermax Revolution 1250W. Secondary power supply is a Thermaltake W0158 650W Toughpower Power Express VGA PSU. The Tt powers 2x GTX295, Enermax everything else. Total power draw from the wall (both supplies) is just over 1200W.
JackOfAll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.