Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Microsoft Windows 7

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-15-09, 08:41 AM   #1
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Start Menu Tweaks

I just noticed that using this function on the Start menu, which says that it searches for both programs and files, doesn't. I tried to find a couple of Windows files that I knew the location of, and the search couldn't find them. I have the system set to show all files and folders (hidden and protected), so it appears that this search feature is not as comprehensive as it has been in past OSs. Is there another search function that I haven't found?
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE

Last edited by seeker; 08-16-09 at 10:00 AM.
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-09, 09:33 AM   #2
Lfctony
Registered User
 
Lfctony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Larnaca, Cyprus
Posts: 4,152
Default Re: Start Menu Search

Start windows explorer, go to my computer and search using the upper right thingie...
__________________
Fafnir: Intel Core 2 Quad 6600@3.2Ghz|eVGA 780i SLI|PNY GTX480 |Kingston DDR667 4096MB|WD Black Caviar 500GB|Seagate SATA 250GB|Seagate SATA 200GB| Seagate SATA 160GB|OptiArc AD-7173S DVDRW|Nec 3351 DVDRW|Creative X-FI XM|LG Flatron W2261V|Logitech X-530|Thermaltake Armor|Amptac 850W SLI PSU|Logitech G9 Mouse|Xigmatek HDT S-1283 CPU Cooler|Windows 7/FW 257.21

PS2 - Wii - Xbox - Xbox360 - PSP - GC - PS3 Owner

Boycott Starforce...

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes?
Lfctony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-09, 11:05 AM   #3
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Start Menu Search

Also, I don't know if the Start Menu Search only searches indexed files or not.

I know that the Explorer search in the upper right will find non-indexed files, it just takes a little longer to do so. (not so long that it warrants indexing all your files imo).
ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-09, 11:41 AM   #4
sniggle
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 209
Default Re: Start Menu Search

If you type "indexing" into that box and go into the Indexing Options you can add more locations. I'm not actually sure if this affects the start menu search but I would imagine it does.
__________________
Gaming Box
Asus P6T Deluxe V2 | i7 920 @ 4.25ghz 1.38v | Thermalright TRUE | 3x 2GB Corsair XMS2 PC12800 @ 811mhz (2:8) 9-9-9-24 | eVGA GTX 580 SC | 2x Intel SSD G2 80GB RAID 0 | Audigy X-Fi XtremeMusic | Corsair 750HX | Antec P-183 | Dell 3007WFP | NEC 20WMGX2

Home Server
DFI P35 T2R | Q6600 @ 3.0ghz 1.3v | OCZ Reaper 640 | GeForce 8600GTS | 2x 150GB WD VelociRaptor raid 1 (os), Synology DiskStation DS410 with 4x 2TB Hitachi | Corsair HX750
sniggle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-09, 02:02 PM   #5
Buio
Registered User
 
Buio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,092
Default Re: Start Menu Search

As sniggle says, you has to set additional search location with the indexing options (also available in the control panel). Default is your user documents folder and start menu and possible mail.
Buio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-09, 02:09 PM   #6
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Start Menu Search

Quote:
Originally Posted by sniggle View Post
If you type "indexing" into that box and go into the Indexing Options you can add more locations. I'm not actually sure if this affects the start menu search but I would imagine it does.
Yes, the location selected by default did not include the majority of the files on the W7 partition, so I added that, but it didn't appear to make the Start Menu Search any more effective than before. I'm wondering if that indexing option didn't include this, what it did include?
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-09, 02:12 PM   #7
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Start Menu Search

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lfctony View Post
Start windows explorer, go to my computer and search using the upper right thingie...
I hope that I can find a better option than this, because I never use Windows Explorer, because I prefer another file manager that I have installed. If I have to break out W.E. everytime that I want to run a search, it would be very inconvenient.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-09, 11:59 PM   #8
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Start Menu Search

After letting this rebuild the index, it now appears that the Start Menu Search is working properly.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-16-09, 09:21 AM   #9
ViN86
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 15,486
Default Re: Start Menu Search

What kind of files are you searching for and where are they?

If they're in your Documents folder then it should have no problem finding them. If they're system files, then it won't show them because they don't want regular users finding those files and FUBAR'ing their systems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by seeker View Post
After letting this rebuild the index, it now appears that the Start Menu Search is working properly.
*Looks at this post*

*Looks at my post from yesterday*

ViN86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-09, 09:46 AM   #10
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Start Menu Search

Quote:
Originally Posted by ViN86 View Post
What kind of files are you searching for and where are they?

If they're in your Documents folder then it should have no problem finding them. If they're system files, then it won't show them because they don't want regular users finding those files and FUBAR'ing their systems.



*Looks at this post*

*Looks at my post from yesterday*

I'm not sure what you want me to look at in these posts, because it appears that the Start Menu Search is finding system files, now that I added the C: drive to the index and rebuilt it...although it did list some excludes. I'm not yet sure exactly what it did exclude, because each search that I have tried so far has found what I searched for.

For me, that someone else might "fubar" something is not an issue, because I'm the sole operator of this system.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-09, 09:50 AM   #11
seeker
AKA seekermeister
 
seeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: At home
Posts: 1,442
Default Re: Start Menu Search

Another Start Menu issue that I'm looking for a solution to, is to totally disable the recent programs menu. I already have it disabled in the sense that programs don't appear on it, but I want to eliminate that part of the Start Menu entirely. As is, when I select the Start Menu, the recent program menu still appears as a blank, requiring me to select the All Program menu to see anything. I would prefer it to automatically show the All Programs menu from the start.
__________________
Rig 1: HAF 922, X2 4400+, Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe , 4x1GB DDR400, 2x500GB, 1x80GB & 1x250GB + ESATCASE2 w/2x1TB HDs, LG CH10LS20 & GH22LS50, Samsung SH-S202N, Asus Xonar D2X,Creative 5.1, GTX460 SC, FusionHDTV7 Gold RT, Acer X233H, Arris TM520G, Cisco E3000, Scythe Kama, CM RS600 PS,HP 5510v,APC BX1000, XP x64, W7 & Kubuntu 9.10

Rig 2: Antec SX1040BII, A8N-SLI, 2x1GB DDR400, 8800GTS, 1x500GB & 1x1TB HDs, Liteon LH-20AIL and Pioneer DVR-111, Audigy 2 ZS, Creative T20 2.1, Antec 500SP, W7 x64 & XP MCE
seeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-09, 04:26 PM   #12
Buio
Registered User
 
Buio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,092
Default Re: Start Menu Search

Not possible with default UI afaik. If someone finds a way, I'd be happy too know it too.
Buio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.