Go Back   nV News Forums > Software Forums > Networking And Security

Newegg Daily Deals

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-20-09, 08:25 AM   #1
milla
Registered User
 
milla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ontario, NY
Posts: 33
Default PC loses internet connection overnight

I just replaced my old PC with this new one (XP Pro) and for whatever reason the computer loses its internet connection overnight. I never had this problem with the old PC and none of my other devices on the network (PCs or gaming consoles) are affected by this so I doubt it is an ISP issue. I don't think it is a lease time issue, because I use static IPs. I checked every power management and auto off setting and they all checked out, so I thought it must have been the onboard NIC. I replaced it with a Linksys NIC card and I still have the problem. Any and all help would be appreciated!
__________________
If you want something done, ask someone who's busy.
milla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-09, 09:56 AM   #2
Runningman
Registered User
 
Runningman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 925
Default Re: PC loses internet connection overnight

can you ping from the pc to the router?
Runningman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-09, 10:17 AM   #3
lduguay
Un-Ripped
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Montreal, Canaduh!
Posts: 1,968
Default Re: PC loses internet connection overnight

You can try forcing the NIC speed/duplex negociation. Use 100 Full or whatever your router is able to accept. Make sure both ports (NIC and Router) are set at the same value.
__________________

Evga X58|I7 965 3.8GHz|Ultra 120 Extreme|Evga GTX 480 SC|2 x Intel X25-M 80GB RAID 0|Intel 520 - 240 GB|WD Black Caviar 1TB|6GB Corsair XMS3 1600C8 |Corsair 1000W PSU|Antec Twelve-Hundred|DELL U3011|Logitech G500|Logitech G19
lduguay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-09, 04:26 PM   #4
milla
Registered User
 
milla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ontario, NY
Posts: 33
Default Re: PC loses internet connection overnight

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runningman View Post
can you ping from the pc to the router?
Thanks, i'll try this next time it goes down.
__________________
If you want something done, ask someone who's busy.
milla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-09, 09:15 PM   #5
milla
Registered User
 
milla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ontario, NY
Posts: 33
Default Re: PC loses internet connection overnight

Quote:
Originally Posted by lduguay View Post
You can try forcing the NIC speed/duplex negociation. Use 100 Full or whatever your router is able to accept. Make sure both ports (NIC and Router) are set at the same value.
Will this stop it from timing out?
__________________
If you want something done, ask someone who's busy.
milla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-09, 12:31 PM   #6
milla
Registered User
 
milla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ontario, NY
Posts: 33
Default Re: PC loses internet connection overnight

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runningman View Post
can you ping from the pc to the router?
OK, I can ping the router when this happens, I can also ping websites like google and it appears to ping back fine, but I have no actual connectivity with any utility or program.
__________________
If you want something done, ask someone who's busy.
milla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-09, 01:07 PM   #7
lduguay
Un-Ripped
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Montreal, Canaduh!
Posts: 1,968
Default Re: PC loses internet connection overnight

Socket leaking? try netstat -n and see how many connections you have.
__________________

Evga X58|I7 965 3.8GHz|Ultra 120 Extreme|Evga GTX 480 SC|2 x Intel X25-M 80GB RAID 0|Intel 520 - 240 GB|WD Black Caviar 1TB|6GB Corsair XMS3 1600C8 |Corsair 1000W PSU|Antec Twelve-Hundred|DELL U3011|Logitech G500|Logitech G19
lduguay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-09, 01:19 PM   #8
glObalist
working as intended
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 935
Default Re: PC loses internet connection overnight

Quote:
Originally Posted by milla View Post
but I have no actual connectivity with any utility or program.
What do you mean?

If you can do

telnet www.google.com 80

and you get a blacks screen as a result, then surely you must be able to at least see the website in your browser?
__________________
Intel E8400 C2D 3Ghz @ 3.6Ghz ---> ASUS P5Q Pro <--- 2x2GB PATRIOT DDR2 800Mhz
PALIT Sonic HD4850 1GB DDR3 <---> BENQ FP241W 24" LCD
M-AUDIO FireWire 410 <---> Logitech Z-5400 5.1 THX
Quote:
All MMO's are now baby-school weak. The only good MMO's make your eyes bleed and force you to eat glass. In my day we had to walk uphill in the snow 5 miles *JUST* to log in.
glObalist is offline   Reply With Quote

Old 08-22-09, 02:12 PM   #9
milla
Registered User
 
milla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ontario, NY
Posts: 33
Default Re: PC loses internet connection overnight

Quote:
Originally Posted by lduguay View Post
Socket leaking? try netstat -n and see how many connections you have.
14 connections. One is TIME_WAIT the rest are ESTABLISHED.
__________________
If you want something done, ask someone who's busy.
milla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-09, 10:12 AM   #10
milla
Registered User
 
milla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ontario, NY
Posts: 33
Default Re: PC loses internet connection overnight

OK, firstly, thank you all for your continuing support. I feel like I am getting somewhere with this.

I get an error from IE now when I lose my connection "winsock provider catalog". I'm looking into it and Hopefully this helps identify the issue. Thanks again guys.
__________________
If you want something done, ask someone who's busy.
milla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-09, 03:14 PM   #11
Runningman
Registered User
 
Runningman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 925
Default Re: PC loses internet connection overnight

try a spyware cleaner, like, spybot search and destroy...
Runningman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-09, 05:06 PM   #12
milla
Registered User
 
milla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ontario, NY
Posts: 33
Default Re: PC loses internet connection overnight

Quote:
Originally Posted by Runningman View Post
try a spyware cleaner, like, spybot search and destroy...
I ran Malwarebytes and came up clean. I'll try your suggestion or perhaps adaware.
__________________
If you want something done, ask someone who's busy.
milla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1998 - 2014, nV News.